We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Hospitable home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Centre-Ville Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Centre-Ville Guest House to your Saves list
Centre-Ville Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Stockton on Tees
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly, Hospitable home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

Service was excellent nothing was too much trouble and someone was always on hand to assist. The room was tastefuly decorated with attention to detail, portable air con available and in the room on arrival. The location was superb and offered easy acces to restaurants, vineyards and shops. The patrons friendly service and local knowledge ensured we had the best possible experience of Franschhoek.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    43
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
22
127
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights before Christmas and had a wonderful time! Elsa and Jaco are extremely friendly helpful hosts, nothing is too much trouble and they seem to enjoy getting to know guests therefore making you feel even more at home. The rooms are very well appointed and extremely clean. Franschhoek is a lovely place to visit with the obvious attractions of the vineyards, however do not miss out the Huguenot Museum which is within walking distance of the town and gives an informative view of the settlers to this pretty town.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe Trotters - Plymouth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

My husband and I have just spent 2 wonderful nights in 'Room Abundant' at this very centrally located guest house in Franschhoek.
The guest house owners, Jaco and Elsa, are very helpful and gave us some wonderful tips for wineries and restaurants to visit - thank you!
The room, although quite dark, due to the wood panelling, was lovely and cool and offered well needed respite from the heat outside. The bed was very comfortable and all of the guest amenities of a very good standard.
The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and was enjoyed in the shady pool courtyard, with the company of some colourful local birds.
The location of this guest house meant that the centre of Franschhoek was within approximately 150 metres, with it's many gourmet and international standard restaurants.
We would return again in a heatbeat - perhaps next time trying the 'Room Splendour', with it's own private balcony!
Thank you Elsa and Jaco for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2009

We didn't know what to expect and we were blown away. This is a wonderful house that's been moderated to be a fantastic B&B. The downstairs rooms are dripping with history and the upstairs are light and airy - we preferred the upstairs definitely. But the wooden floors do mean that there's not much privacy if you are having some romance...!

The attention to detail in this place is out of this world - the baths are amazing, the breakfast is delicious and the place settings are the best we've seen in a long time. Every level of detail is taken here to make this the perfect stay.

We recommend if you want to bike that you get them early as they run out fast at the local bike shop.

The place has a wonderful upper deck for a sun downer, a small pool which I'm not sure we'd swim in, huge living spaces and a great verandah. It's 100% worth the stay here in one of the beautifully appointed rooms. And get them to sort dinner for you - excellent recommendations.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire, england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

We have recently returned home following a most wonderful 3 night stay at the Centre-Ville with Elsa and Jako and what a fantastic time we had. Franschhoek is absolutely stunning and a wonderful place to stay but the Centre-Ville made our holiday here 100 per cent more special. The room was wonderful and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was superb but the hospitality was out of this world. Nothing was too much trouble for Elsa and Jako and by the end of our 3 night stay we really felt like part of the family. The location is fantastic being in a lovely peaceful location but only steps away from the heart of the village and Elsa and Jako recommended the most fantastic restaurants and made the reservations for us. They were always ready with cups of coffee or the odd glass of wine either when we had returned from a trip out or waiting to go out to dinner.
They even introduced us to some of their wonderful friends - one of whom was so kind in taking me to some other friends to see their ostriches!! Neither I nor my husband can recommend staying at Centre-ville highly enough. A DEFINITE MUST!! YOU WONT BE DISAPPOINTED!!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riccione
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2009

a big hug to Elsa and Jako! Their hotel is beautiful and they are perfect.
Thank you
Francesca and Tiziano

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

We arrived at Centre Ville straight from Cape Town airport and were immediately made welcome by Elsa and Jako. They recommended places for lunch and dinner which both turned out to be fantastic. I booked the honeymoon suite by accident (we are both in our 60s!), but it turned out to be a real bonus. A beautiful room with a private deck.
Before leaving Elsa showed us around the rest of the property and we were amazed at the quality of all the rooms.
Centre Ville was a great start to our stay in Africa.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Centre-Ville Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centre-Ville Guest House

Address: 9 Reservoir Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Centre-Ville Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centre-Ville is a 4-Star Guest House in the center of the village within 3min walking distance to all the shops, galleries and village restaurants.This gracious Victorian Beauty was build in 1905 and has been fully renovated without losing the old world charm with origin floors and high ceilings.We have eight tastefully decorated en-suite rooms each with its own theme. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Centre-Ville Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centre-Ville Bed And Breakfast
Centre-Ville Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Centre-Ville Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.