We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and great value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Ballon Rouge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le Ballon Rouge to your Saves list
Le Ballon Rouge
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   7 Reservoir Street East, Franschhoek, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A beautifully presented ensuite room. Clean, pleasantly decorated and a good size for a couple. Le Ballon Rouge is centrally located, within 3min walking distance of the main strip - and yet reasonably priced (with a pool!). Our breakfast was included in the price of the room and was without a doubt, the best breakfast we had in South Africa. The staff were helpful and polite and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Le Ballon Rouge to our friends!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    50
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
73
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bay
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We've spent one night at Le Ballon Rouge. We had 2 rooms of different prices but both were great. Location is perfect, breakfast was good and rooms were clean and pretty. The reception closes at 6 pm and if you need anything you must call a number.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Rooms were lovely, comfortable, clean and well-maintained. Reception helped us with booking a wine tour and driver for the day, kept our bags safe until we could check-in, and brought a bottle of MCC to our room promptly after we requested it. This guesthouse is walking distance to great restaurants and also offers a very nice breakfast. Highly recommend as a homebase while you explore Franschhoek.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We were made to feel right at home and there was nothing that Jenny or David could not do for us. The setting of the guest house is just lovely, rooms spacious and breakfasts on the veranda are just idyllic. The short walk to the main high street gives you ample culinary delights to choose from without getting in a taxi. David turned out to be a great wine tour guide and took us to some lovely wine farms suited to our tastes. We got to hear some of the local history, while sampling the regions wines - making our rainy day most enjoyable!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

We spent a lovely little break in this little guest house. Comfy room, little pool to enjoy, good breakfast, great staff. We recommend it.

Franschhoek is greet with lots to enjoy in the area.

--------

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

really Nice hotel close to the main street where all restaurants, bars and shops are located. Moreover, really close to the White Tram which brings you to the differents wineyards. Big and nicely decorated room. Amazing breakfast! Only negative points: internet is not free of charge and the swimming pool is really small.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We have just spent the last five days of our trip to South Africa at Le Ballon Rouge - the second time we have stayed here. We loved it the first time but this time we had the owners suite. All we can say is BLISS ! Wonderful rooms and the bedroom opens out onto the roof with our own Jacuzzi,sun loungers etc. Jenni and David are great hosts, breakfasts are excellent served by a pleasant staff and the guest house is off the main street but handy for the restaurants and shops. Great memories ! Marian and Keith, Rossendale Lancs.

Room Tip: If you stay for five nights the owners suite is half price !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Ballon Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Ballon Rouge

Address: 7 Reservoir Street East, Franschhoek, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Ballon Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Le Ballon Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Ballon Rouge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.