We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and rooms....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Save Saved
You added L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas
4.0 of 5 Villa   |   Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and rooms....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Wow....as you turn into the Chateau's estate, you realize you are in for a special treat!

Our room was just amazing....18 ft high ceilings, a bathroom the size of most bedrooms, and a huge dressing area. The room decorations were gorgeous (French Provincial in style) and had a private balcony overlooking a lovely lake and wine farms! Despite the chilly and rainy weather, we enjoyed the blazing fireplaces with hot coffee in the lobby.

Breakfast was included and was fine, though nothing really special. The dining area again overlooked the lake which was delightful.

The service staff was a bit disappointing....there was really no concierge and the receptionist was not well informed about even the few local restaurants. Moreover, when we called with issues regarding the lack of heat and TV troubles, no one came and there was no followup. When we went to the lobby at 11pm, it was deserted - there was no help until the morning.

The hotel was really beautiful and ideally situated (and we got a great price), but we thought the service ought to have been better considering the 5 star accommodations and reputation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    31
    16
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
47
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed in Franschoek after our long journey from New York. We had flown from Johannesburg to Cape Town and then rented a car to travel through Stellenbosch to this lovely retreat in Franschhoek. We had chosen the perfect location to recuperate from over 24 hours of travel (including layovers and transfers). The bed was incredibly comfortable, our balcony overlooked a pond that was at the foot of a vineyard, and sculpture dotted the surrounding landscape. The marble bathroom area with a large bath and 10+ foot shower was spacious and comfortable. The interior featured pale colors with lush fabrics and a regal wallpaper on one wall. The small kitchen area was equipt with a storage area for the bottles of wine you will surely purchase at the many nearby wine farms and glasses appropriate for the different varietals.

As some have stated, the service was not exceptional. The concierge was able to secure reservations at the superior Tasting Room for dinner and the wonderful Le Petit Fermier for lunch. Our bags were carried and the buffet breakfast attendance were prompt with our beverages and clean-up. However, we were not sufficiently helped when we were struggling with the heat. The weather was unseasonably cool with drizzle for two days, and we had to cling to the plush comforter throughout the night. We were told that the system was re-set, but no one was able to help further after 10pm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

This is heaven on earth. Spectacular views, great service and fantastic food. You will not find a better place in Franchoek! Set against the moutain range with wineries serounding the villas, you are spoilt for choice in the wine and dine department.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Nice rooms, great views, and good breakfast. However, the service is a bit lacking - I think the fact that these are timeshares and is not a full-time hotel is part of the problem. Not that one won't enjoy it, but for the prices on offer, one would expect more of a 5* service... not a glorified self-catered operation. Outside of breakfast, the food was subpar... and the spa is a meeting room where they've just put up some drapes and lit candles. Not a grande dame hotel, if that's what you're expecting.

Room Tip: Don't go for the cheapest rooms - you get what you pay for at this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I went up to Franschhoek with a friend to attend the Bastille festival. We decided late, and expected room prices to be off the charts. We found L'ermitage online, at a very reasonable price, and immediately booked. We were gobsmacked when we say the rooms. Spacious, each having our own bedroom, excellent linen and furnishings. Amazing, considering what we had paid for the room, and at a time when Franschhoek was having a festival. A little drive outside the main drag of Franschhoek, but this was no problem for us. Will definitely return, and stay longer.

However, we had a couple we know staying over the same time as us, and they did not have such a pleasant experience. Their shower leaked, making a noise, and they were extremely irate by the time they checked out. I can, however, only rate this from my personal experience which was wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

L'ermitage is one of the very first places we have been back to. I have thoroughly enjoyed staying in their villas as it becomes your home away from home.

The hotel has gone from a 5* to a 4* establishment since we have been back, although it isn't noticable why. Only a few things I do remember like they no longer offer bathrobes or slippers.

Dinner at the restaurant is excellent and the staff friendly. The breakfast buffet is ok, nothing special though.

We stayed in Villa 17 with the jacuzzi. Because of a massive storm on the Friday evening, the roof started leaking really badly and the phone in the room never worked. We asked to be moved and they gave us the honeymoon suite in the hotel to make up for it. Definitely a plus.

I'd recommend it to anyone that wants to stay and relax in Franschhoek as the Villas are like little apartments, which makes a break from hotel rooms with just a bed and en-suite bathroom.

Room Tip: Villa 17 has a jacuzzi which is a plus, although not much natural light gets into the rooms. Other t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Staying at L'ermitage was one of the highlights of our holiday. We stayed in the villas with 7 of our friends. The scenery is spectacular and the villas beautiful. The staff gave 110% of themselves. Nothing was too difficult for them, the service was truly amazing and the staff were fun to have around. Dino and Kenny could not be more helpful and are an asset to L'ermitage. We got married in the chapel there and it will hold many special memories for us. We have only been back in W.A. a couple of weeks but are already planning our trip back to L'ermitage. Di and Colin Hendrie

Room Tip: Villa 16 superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas

Address: Lambrechts Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 36 Specialty lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This lavish and luxurious accommodation in Franschhoek is ideal for both winter and summer visits as it is 100% equipped to offer the comfort that is required. Ideal for engagements, weekend getaways, special events as well as business trips, the beauty that the area beholds, and the luxury that the accommodation offers, makes it one of the very best experiences in the valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau And Villas
l`Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ermitage Franschhoek Chateau & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.