We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Villas at Le Franschhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Villas at Le Franschhoek to your Saves list
The Villas at Le Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   Farm Keerweder | Minor road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We had such a nice stay at The Villas. Room was beautiful and very quiet. The hotel on the same property is beautiful and great to work around and explore. The restaurant also has an amazing view, didnt get to eat there though so will have to make sure I return soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    17
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a very lovely stay at The Villas at Le Franschoek when we were last there. We had initially booked a one bedroom Villa, but upon arrival and check in they upgraded us to a two bedroom Villa. This arrivals experience was excellent and made for a lovely weekend. Le Franschhoek is situated in a beautiful part of the Franschhoek Valley with wonderful views. The staff are friendly, professional and very welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will most definitely go back anytime without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

No complaints about this weekend break. From the ease of checking in, the efficient and friendly reception to the clean and adequately equipped villas. We stayed in the single villas and the kitchen was equiped with a stove/oven, microwave, fridge, kettle, toaster, iron and basic cutlery and crockery. Lovely covered balcony with seats and a table outside. Parking was available right outside the villa.

There was wi-fi available in the room but was a bit intermittent and slow.

The receptionist was very helpful and even offered to make our dinner reservations and arrange a shuttle with the restaurant. She made recommendations for dinner, breakfast and activities avaialable in Franschhoek and knew the area well.

I would not recommend eating at the on-site restaurant (previous experience was poor) and there are a number of other good restaurants to try in Franschhoek anyway.

Would definitely be back for another stay and I would recommend the Villas for a peaceful, comfortable, picturesque stay in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Amazing setting surrounded by the mountains. space to park your car loads of room inside the villas with two balconies a fully fitted kitchen bathroom en-suite and two bedrooms with a nice big lounge area. just a little outside the centre of town but you also have full use of the hotel which is great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

If you want a romantic get away this is the place to go to. Everything was just perfect. No words can describe how much I enjoyed my stay here. Fantastic staff and perfect location between the mountains.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We've stayed at The Villas twice and always recommend to all our friends (since my boyfriend now lives in Franscchoek, we won't be staying again soon :)) The first time around, we got one of the single villas right at the end, against the mountains. The service was warm, friendly and personalised and we felt so welcome. The second time around, we asked for the same villa and were upgraded to a double villa at no extra cost, since the other one was already booked. We were super comfortable and felt really special. Definitely worth booking if visiting Franschhoek!

Room Tip: We stayed in Villa 77 or 78; right at the end of the villas. It was private and our balcony looked o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We all met here for Christmas because Cape Town was booked out. We were all so glad we did. We had 3 villas and were very comfortable. We tended to eat out mostly or in the hotel part of the complex but it was good having our own kitchen as well.
The staff were friendly and efficient. The pool area was nice and the grounds and views were awesome.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Villas at Le Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas at Le Franschhoek

Address: Farm Keerweder | Minor road 16, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villas at Le Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas at Le Franschhoek offer magnificent views of the Franschhoek Mountains and are ideally situated for touring the famed Cape Wine routes. The villas consist of one and two bedroom units each with their own kitchenette and patio. The accommodation offering is perfect for families and long stay guests, offering serviced comforts of a world class hotel, yet having the flexibility and privacy within your own villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Villas at Le Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Villas at Le Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.