We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Basse Provence

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Basse Provence to your Saves list
Basse Provence
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rustic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Rustic guest house on a farm, very peaceful, friendly service. Stayed in a room on the top floor, smell of thatched roof was not the most pleasant. Large room, cabin feel, very slippery floor in bathroom. Nice breakfast. A bit far (3 km) from main part of town where restaurants etc are located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
7
41
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I spent the weekend at Basse Provence in the beginning of May when i was there for a wedding. I booked into the Elizabeth Suite as a bit of an indulgence, and it was completely worth it. Even though I arrived well after what was supposed to be the check in time, the friendly staff waited around for me.
The room is gorgeous with a view of the mountains and fields. It's very peaceful there. Not too far to drive into town and surrounded by some nice wine farms and a great restaurant at Rickety Bridge. Breakfast at the Manor House was lovely and made to order, so it's fresh.

I'd highly recommend it for couple for a quiet weekend away, or even a solo traveller.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Basse Provence Bastille weekend 13-14 July 2013. The rooms are spacious and unique and very good value. The staff were friendly and helpful, the cottage was beautiful, and the breakfasts were lovely! I will definitely recommend you to friends visiting the area in future.

Room Tip: Any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent two nights here while visiting the wine country in and surrounding Franschhoek. It is a lovely setting, set well off the main road into town. Our room was large, very comfortable, and well appointed. We stayed in the County House, which is a smaller house next to the Manor House. We had originally booked a second floor room with a thatched roof, but were upgraded upon arrival since the second floor rooms were being renovated. Much appreciated, since our room was quieter and bug-free. The breakfast served was delicious, and cooked to order. All the employees were very helpful and friendly. Franschhoek is a lovely town, and we enjoyed walking the downtown area. For travelers looking for a great stay in the South African wine country, we would recommend Basse Provence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The guest house is located along the main road and gives you a great base to explore Franschhoek. The rooms are spacious and unique and very good value. The free breakfast was nice as well. This is an excellent choice if you want a lovely quiet stay right in the heart of Franschhoek - you can even walk to the nearest vineyards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perpignan, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I was there for a friend's wedding last november and it was my first time in SA Despite the weather the venue and the hotel were brilliant! The staff was always welcoming, the food was delicious and the rooms very comfy!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This is a charming little Cape Dutch guesthouse, directly off the main road as you drive into Franschoek. We arrived quite late, but were given a very friendly welcome by Heidi who greeted us by name. We stayed in the Guest House rather than the Manor House, which has four beautiful suites, with huge beds equipped with baths and showers. It's a little too far to walk into Franschoek at night for dinner, but the hotel recommends local restaurants which will collect you and drop you home - consult the guide in your room to see which these are - so that you can enjoy the local wines over dinner. Perhaps the breakfasts don't quite match the standard of the rooms, but the sheer beauty of the setting is unbeatable.

Room Tip: Visit the hotel's own website for pictures of the individual rooms. All the Guest House rooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Basse Provence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basse Provence

Address: P.O.Box 455, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Basse Provence 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Basse Provence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basse Provence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.