We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memorable stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rickety Bridge Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rickety Bridge Country House to your Saves list
Rickety Bridge Country House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   R45 | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Memorable stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at Rickety bridge for two nights. We were the only guests so we had the house to ourselves.
Martha welcomed us and assisted us with all our queries. The setting of the estate is beautiful and the restaurant is definitely a good choice.

It made us feel at home and a great place to relax. Martha also helped my partner with all the arrangements, as he was planning to ask me the big question. It was above my expectations and I loved all the surprises.
I would highly recommend Rickety bridge if you are looking for a relaxed country life stay. It is not far from Franschoek so you are still close to all the restaurants if you are planning to go dining.

A very big thank you to Shani and Martha who helped with everything and made our stay extra special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
It is always great to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay with us, so thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

I have a wonderful complement of staff who support me and Martha is no exception. She was thrilled to hear your comments.

(You didn’t say what your answer was to “the big question”…. But perhaps we can be of assistance for the Big Day!?)

We hope to see you here with us again in the near future.
Warm regards, Shani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    10
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chilliwack, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Thanks to Klarisa and staff at the Rickety Bridge Manor House, Franschhoek in the Western Cape. We spent three nights in the old and charming manor house where the staff did everything they could to make us feel welcome. We appreciate everything you did for us on our special occasion, we had a wonderful time!
The Swedish and Canadian guests

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thank you Klarissa and your team at Rickety Bridge for helping to make our day so perfect.You took all the stress out of the organisation. Your staff were so well trained and friendly and the venue and accommodation absolutely stunning. We have had so many compliments from our guests about the whole weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
It was our pleasure to host such a special wedding, and we are delighted that all of the guests enjoyed their stay at Rickety Bridge. We hope to see you again soon.

The Rickety Bridge Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Booked via phone, showed up to find out that kids aren't welcome. Which is fine, not every place accommodates, but the manager was actually offended. So we had to pull up stakes and move out, which is a lousy way to start a vacation.
Went to Le Quartier Francais, which had no problem with kids or showing us a fantastic time. With all the great options in Franschhoek, there is no reason to bother with this one.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RicketyB, Manager at Rickety Bridge Country House, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
We are very concerned at this reviewer's experience at Rickety Bridge, and apologise unreservedly. Rickety Bridge Manor House comprises of three luxury suites, with shared lounges, dining rooms and a private pool area. It is not conducive to having small children, who generally need space to be active. This is not fair on other residents wanting to relax in a quiet environment. Our sister property Basse Provence (also 4 star) does cater for children, with a dedicated family unit, and our policy is to offer this property to families with children. This ought to have been done in the case of the reviewer, and we again apologise if this was not the case, and if the reviewer felt that the manager on duty treated him in an inappropriate manner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCMC
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

We chose the Rickety Bridge based on seeing an estate far away from the road on our drive to Cabriere Estate. It was secluded and at the foot of a hill, so it looked like it would be peaceful. And, it was.

The young staff who served us that day was working on her birthday - such dedication - and was attentive and friendly. She gave us useful knowledge of the surrounding area even though she was not from Franschhoek. The setting was lovely, our only gripe was something we encountered at most of the estates in Stellenbosch and Franschhoek, in that the restaurant and tasting tills were separated and thus we couldn't order al fresco and sit in the tasting area and unify the bill. The excellent olives provided were the best we had at any estate on our week long trip.

I loved the view and the weather on our visit was superb, thus, we had a lovely time here. Worth the stop and worth at least a couple of hours of sipping, snacking and buying.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Its not often I would openly recommend a hotel or estate house as a wedding venue, but Rickey Bridge in the Franschoek Valley more that met the expectations of the guests and ourselves when we stayed over to attend their wedding. Set in one of the most beautiful valleys and wine regions in the country, it was a wonderful day for the wedding. We snuck in early to see how the staff and management of Rickety Bridge would handle the large number of people and guests traveling in for the afternoon and night.

The staff were superlative, very helpful and assisted us with our needs and questions with a quiet yet energetic professionalism that would do any 5 star hotel proud. Our two friends were well looked after and the wedding went off without a problem. The dinner and dance afterwards was set next to the fantastic wine estate house, which is a national monument and well-looked after, its deep historic character a fantastic counter-point to a modern romantic themed wedding.

The wine list was impressive, along with the champagne and the main meal of the evening a lamb shank was brilliantly cooked and absolutely scrumptious. One of the best lamb shanks that I have had in years, especially in a country that prides itself on the quality of its lamb and lamb dishes. The second highlight was the setting, the broad beautiful views of the surrounding valley and vineyards with the backdrop of the imposing mountains added a sense of majesty to the day and the event we were there to enjoy.

The rooms and facilities were well-appointed, but we did not spend much time there, our friends and the wedding couple were the focus. Having said that, we are both planning to return to enjoy the great food, excellent service and the wonderful sense of calm and beauty of the estate and the estate house. The short drive (approximately an hour from Cape Town) makes it a easy short drive for long weekends and romantic breakaways and is well-worth the time and effort, even for a day visit to sample their cuisine, wines and to wonder in the beautiful valley.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The 25th of February 2012 we got married at Rickety Bridge Wine Estate. It couldn´t have been more beautiful.... The staff and the Manager Klarisa welcomed us with open arms and the service was excellent. The scenery is beautiful with the mountains behind the vineyards. The old manor house that you can rent for weddings, you can also stay in for a night. The manor house is amazing.

Thank you Rickety Bridge for making our wedding day and our stay so special! We will definitely come back and drink your lovely wine, enjoy your good food and your beautiful service again!!

We really recommend Rickety Bridge to everybody, for a wedding, to spend a night, or if you just want to enjoy the beautiful view over a lunch or dinner on the porch and have a sip of Rickety bridge wonderful wine.

/Mia and Sean

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rickety Bridge Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rickety Bridge Country House

Address: R45 | Main Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rickety Bridge Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Rickety Bridge Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rickety Bridge Country House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rickety Bridge Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.