We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House to your Saves list
Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Corner of Klapmuts-Simondium Rd and R45 | Simondium, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
“Wonderful, peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

This Inn is lovely for quiet , restful weekends away from the stress of daily life.
Comfortable rooms and very helpful friendly staff with lovely views of surrounding vineyards.
Breakfast gives you a good start to your day.
Must have a car to be able to explore the various wine farms and area.
Probably not so exciting for young kids, however there is a large pool to enjoy in the summer.
Will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    24
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
157
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Breakfast is outstanding serving amongst other items the best french toast I have ever tasted. Service is outstanding and the view wonderful. The rooms are spacious but not OTT. I would certainly recommend this to all those looking for tranquility, quality coupled to value.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

A lovely setting. The food was superb and we enjoyed the atmosphere in the dining room very much. A great location with many of the wine tours close by. The pretty town of Franchoek is close and well worth a visit. Great and attentive hosts

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We almost missed out on the best stay of our 3-week holiday by being a bit put off by the basic furnishings in our cottage - but it was very comfortable, especially the bed, so after a superb meal and a good night's sleep we settled in! I would definitely try to book a luxury suite as they are brighter and have views over the lake, but our 2-bed cottage would be great for a family. The pool is lovely and a good size; If you have dietary needs, Aubrey is most helpful in adjusting his menu - and the fruit bowl at breakfast has to be seen to be believed! Also, the visiting masseuse from nearby Franschoek is excellent. One warning: beware the speed bump/ditch on the bend!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Had a very relaxing stay with the most beautiful views in a stunning part of the country. Could not have asked for more... except a few more days!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Nothing to improve. We spent our first night og marriage at Cathbert and returned for our 6th anniversary. We found that there were some great enhancements to the rooms. The bathroom was fantastic and we also had a great sleep on the comfy bed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

An excellent place to base oneself for a tour of the winelands in the region.
The rooms were spacious and well furbished; the staff excellent as was the food, with extensive breakfasts (far too much to eat).
We ate in one evening and the quality of food and service was as good as we have had in South Africa.
We were given some very useful tips by the owners about which vineyards to visit and they were willing to recommend and book local restaurants.
Its location is a little way from the main area of Franschhoek but nicely situtated away from the main road on a vineyard.
Yet another place I would definately want to return to.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House

Address: Corner of Klapmuts-Simondium Rd and R45 | Simondium, Franschhoek 7670, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angala Boutique Hotel is where homely luxury blends with the pristine beauty of nature. Located in the heart of the Cape Winelands between magnificent mountains, Angala is a retreat for body, mind and spirit. Make it your base for exploring the winelands, or indulge in the harmony of our spacious suites and cottages. Whether you're drawn to the pure, natural surroundings, or you just need to get away from it all, you'll experience what you're looking for, right here. Our suites and cottages are spacious, fully equipped and private. We have paid special attention to decoration and finer details - clean lines and natural colours are paired with authentic touches throughout. Look out for carefully selected decoration items, sculptures and pieces in our rooms and on our premises, each with a unique origin and story. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Angala Boutique Hotel and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.