We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable always a great place to keep revisiting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bread and Wine

Bread and Wine
Happy Valley Road | Moreson Farm, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
+27 21 876 3692
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 62 Restaurants in Franschhoek
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Always reliable always a great place to keep revisiting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Set by the vineyards under a roof of grapes vines the setting is lovely. Service was good and the various courses explained. A menu that everyone should be able to choose from which is well cooked and presented and needless to say in a vineyard great wine

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    112
    30
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Consistently fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Bread and Wine is definitely my favourite restaurant in Cape Town. The food is always 5 star, and the menu items change frequently (so you can go back and back and never get tired!). Neil manages to create new and exciting dishes each time we visit.

I should also mention the wonderful venue: in summer you eat in a delightfully shaded courtyard, which has a wonderful atmosphere.
You won't be sorry if you eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY EXQUISITE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The venue is charming! The menu is simple, but delicious! I had the premium chardonnay and so far it has been the best wine that I had in South Africa! I tried the oysters, the fish and the dessert! At the beginning you can try several kinds of bread and they are all very tasty! You must visit this place for a wine tasting or lunch if you are travelling nearby! They also have a private garden with a beautiful greenhouse! I will definitely return one day! Highly recommended to book in advance!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a deli with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we have eaten in the deli and the restaurant and somehow it is always difficult for us to pass the deli by if we are in the area. to enjoy a light meal with ice cold glasses of their Soitaire MCC is just a gift :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We had a brilliant lunch here while on our wine tour stop at Moreson Winery. The food and the service were both excellent. I would recommend Bread and Wine to anyone.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Wine also viewed

Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 
Franschhoek, Western Cape
Franschhoek, Western Cape
 

Been to Bread and Wine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bread and Wine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.