We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal Location in the heart of the Winelands” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Franschhoek to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
CAPE TOWN, SOUTH AFRICA
1 review
“Ideal Location in the heart of the Winelands”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed at the Protea Hotel in Franschhoek for two (2) nights as we were attending a Wedding on Friday 1st November. Decided to make a Weekend of it and stayed till Sunday the 3rd. Weather unfortunately for the Wedding not great but didn't dampen the Bride and Groom's spirit and then Saturday and Sunday turned out to be glorious. Had a wonderful weekend and very reluctant to leave this delightful hotel. Location marvelous with loads of restaurants well within walking distance and lots of interesting shops. Staff went out of their way to be very helpful and loved the nice touch of still turning the beds down in the evening with a treat on your pillow. Breakfast out on the Verandah was great and the Garden area surrounding the Pool just glorious lying in the sun. Rooms very comfortable and clean with all the normal amenities, bar fridge, flat-screen TV etc. Would highly recommend and can't wait for our next trip back to Franschhoek and the Protea!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    85
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
117
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for 2 nights and had a very good time. Rooms are clean and spacious. Location is perfect when your staying in Franschhoek as you want to be trying different places to eat every time and this hotel is located ideally to walk to any restaurant the main street has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JeetFuria

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I'm glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a delightful hotel with rooms in a courtyard surround the pool, which was unfortunately too cold to go in when we were there. We spent 2 nights here on our tour of the Garden Route and we were very sorry to leave. Breakfast was super, fresh eggs cooked to order and lots of other choices as well. It was clean, quiet and the staff were very helpful. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the far side of the pool, opposite main building have best views and sun in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear bellamanning

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again one day in the future.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centurion, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I arrived at the Protea Hotel after a long day in the office, a rsuh flight to Cape Town and GPS that seemed to have amind of its own. Thie highlight of mybday certainky was the warm reception at the Protea Hotel, a room that was inviting and a true peaceful ambiance. The food was great, wine was superb and the hotelstaff staff friendly and professional. I would certainly recommend the fellow travellers. Amazing town to stay over in.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear TheoBensch

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay in Franschhoek.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourself.

We hope to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek again soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Recently stayed at the Protea. Location is on the high streets so you can walk to the many restaurants and bars without the need to drive inlcuding the station pub which has live music. Really impressed with our stay, the hotel staff are exceptional, it actually exceeded our expectations. This hotel is all about the little touches from flowers threaded through the plug holes in the bathroom, we had a lovely hand written postcard and amenity from the GM. Jackson on recpeption was exceptionally helpful. We didnt use the hotel restaurants but they looked very busy so I am sure they were good. I would reccomend this hotel for a short stay or for a longer break as there is a lovely pool and garden in the middle courtyard. We stayed in room 24 which was spacious and pleasantly decorated. Hotel is a fwe minutes drive from many of the wine farms so a great base and a great price. Highly reccomend.

Room Tip: Room 24 is lovely on the upper level of the hotel. All rooms seem to have a great view down to the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Charl-w

Thank you so much for posting such a nice review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am so pleased that you enjoyed yourself in our beautiful little town.

We hope to see you back again one day.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in June , the area is lovely and the hotel is in a good location at the start of the Main Street. The set up is around a central court yard with a nice pool area. The room was spacious with a comfortable bed. The breakfast in the morning was good with polite and friendly service, the hotel was very quite when stayed, which was nice. The hotel has a tourist information service which was really helpful for booking wine tours and trips. We did the horse riding and wine tour which was excellent, a good ride through the vineyards and forest. The Wifi in the hotel was ok. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear chrisjohncox

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed yourself in Franschhoek and we hope to one day welcome you back again.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had a great night here, but the guests staying next to us were smoking on the balcony and it smelled as if they were smoking in our room. Great location in city center. Rooms were comfortable with a large bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear CESVA

Thank you for writing a review of you recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and my most sincere apologies for the inconvenience experienced with regards to the smoke from next door.
It is certainly not very pleasant.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.