We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Franschhoek to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Hertford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A little tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

My husband and I had a couple of nights here when doing the wine route. The room was spacious and clean but all rather tired. The service in the hotel was friendly rather vague. The breakfast was good but the night before we had sandwiches in the bar and my husband's was inedible. Location was excellent as you could walk to everything really easily.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear LindaD1961

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek, and thank you for the constructive feedback with regards to areas that need to be improved upon.
It is very much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    99
    31
    4
    1
See reviews for
32
132
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Often stay at the hotel and are never disappointed. When you are in the culinary capital of South Africa, you don't want to eat at the hotel. Staff were friendly, as always and the room was clean. The position is just excellent and within walking distance from all the attractions. What I also enjoy, is that it does not have the hotel feel...

Room Tip: Room 25, always a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear RicotheGreat

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear from another happy customer.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The service was very good and the room clean and functional. Quite a few fittings seemed fragile. There was no fridge. Lazily we chose to dine in and regretted it, as it was not cheap for pretty mediocre and disappointing food. Breakfast was significantly better. Good location for the town. If you're touring, it's a cheap ish hotel but there are better....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Dogberry 1258

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am please to see that you enjoyed your time in our little town, and that you found the hotel's location, value of money and breakfast offering beneficial.

We look forward to welcoming you back again one day.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

After visiting the hotel on the 6th of July, in order to reserve 2 rooms for our stay over Bastille weekend, upon our arrival on Saturday the 13th July, to our surprise our rooms were given away. The manager on duty had tried contacting me durng the week, by sending an email to an incorrect email adress 3 times. I was told that I was called as well, however I had no missed calls or voice messages from the hotel. I am appalled at the sheer incompetence of such a "well-established" hotel. After being preached to and told that ultimately I should have called in to secure by booking, we managed to find alternative accomodation at the Plum Wood Inn.
Thanks Plum Wood Inn for your excellent hospitality, I'll definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Despite the hotels good location, the hotel and its staff continue to disappoint. The service wasn't good. The food wasn't good. The price breaker special which was offered on the board outside the hotel wasn't offered to us as we'd made prior reservations, it annoyed us terribly. Won't return!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We regularly come back to Protea Hotel Franschoek, for its warm and cozy atmosphere. This time was no exception. The staff was friendly, the chef was great, he/she added that extra touch to make the dinner memorable. The room was spacious and clean. Quaint shops and galleries are within walking distance from the hotel, with vineyards on the slopes of the valley. A getaway with a touch of France.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Shafickh

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us. It was great to have you back again.

Thank you for the kind comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our 4th visit to the Winelands in 5 years ( yes, we love it !) On previous visits we stayed in Stellenbosch & outskirts. We arrived this time after the drive from Kynsna via Swellendam.

I cannot describe our pleasure on arrival. The rooms were great, the pool was lovely, breakfast perfectly fine ( if not a little noisy out on the front terrace). The staff were pleasant & helpful - although we had one 'cock-up' - having asked them to book us a table for lunch at a nearby winery, on arrival they had no record of the reservation. It may well have been their fault & not the Protea staff.

I will be back & will stay at the Protea again. I think people can be too judging of a hotel chain especially in a place like Franschhoek - the culinary capital of the Cape. A good tip - lunch at the Common Room at the Quartier Francais - you'll never get in for dinner. Next visit we will book 6months in advance !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Horseyjane

Thank for posting your review of your stay with us.
I am really pleased that you enjoyed yourself.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.