We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Protea Hotel Franschheok” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Save Saved
You added Protea Hotel Franschhoek to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Franschhoek
Stellenbosch, South Africa
1 review
“Protea Hotel Franschheok”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Very cosy clean room, well appointed , breakfast was excellent , reception service was very friendly & helpful . Hotel situated on the main street so very good location, room s were overlooking inner courtyard so no street noise

Room Tip: We upgraded to a larger room overlooking the pool & courtyard rather than the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Patricia F

So glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    78
    22
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
107
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in September at the Protea in Franschhoek. Very nice hotel with spacious, clean and comfortable rooms. Excellent service from the staff. Will definately stay here again on a visit to Franschhoek.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Douglas A

Thanks for posting a review of your recent stay with us.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

We hope to welcome you back again in the not too distant future.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Very cosy stay, excellent service, clean comfortable rooms. I would definitely return on my next visit to Franschoek and I would definitely recommend it as suitable holiday accommodation to friends and familywhi are thinking of holidaying in a franschoek.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Kearnschelsea

Thank you for posting your review on Trip advisor.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Franschhoek.

We hope to welcome you back again one day.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Looks much better in paper than in real life. But the disappointment is soon forgotten when you enter their clean rooms. Ideally situated to deplore the surrounding areas.

No proper disabled facilities which is peculiar to this group!

Wifi- you get a 100MB per room so use sparingly

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in the Protea for a couple of nights last week in one of the standard rooms. Our room was spacious, decorated nicely, the staff were welcoming and helpful and the location was perfect. We would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear Couple88

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay with us at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am really pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night as part of a school hockey and netball tour to South Africa. This is a really lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, warm, cosy, with very comfy beds and great food. We were all made to feel so very welcome here and would have loved to have stayed on for an extra night or two! Brilliant all round!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, September 2, 2012
Dear ellygirl34

Thank you so much for your review of your stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and I hope that your tour was a success.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back one day in the future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this lovely hotel for a well deserved break from the city. The stay was FANTASTIC, the staff went out of their way to make our stay a pleasant one.

Hotel offers a selection of services plus secure parking for your vehicle. Located in the middle of town, near great restaurants and deep in the Cape's famous wine region.

Thank you Douglas (GM) and team for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear SkipperZA

Thanks so much for posting a review of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
It is great to hear that you had a good time in Franschhoek, and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek soon.

Regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Protea Hotel Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Franschhoek 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.