We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet hotel in beautiful Franschhoek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Franschhoek to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Franschhoek
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Quiet hotel in beautiful Franschhoek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

We were given the end ground floor room which was tastefully decorated in the most calming colours. Large comfortable bed in a large comfortable room with excellent coffee station, toiletries and fluffy towels. The small but adequate pool area was only a few steps from our room. The hotel's setting made for superb views of the mountains. Overall atmosphere was of calm and tranquility although it was only a short walk for the ever charming Franschhoek with its wonderful eating places and up market shops. It was our first stay at a chain hotel but if the Protea at Franschhoek is an example, we would have no hesitation in trying others.

Angela C Bridgend South Wales

Room Tip: All rooms look to be excellent and have views of either the pool set in gardens or mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, April 10, 2012
Dear AngelaC

Thanks so much for posting your comments on TripAdvisor.
I am really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Franschhoek.

Should you ever need a recommendation for a Protea Hotel in another town feel free to give me a call.

Kind regards,
Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    85
    23
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
117
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Our tour group from Australia has just stayed at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek and rated it as our favourite accommodation on tour. Its location is tops, just a stroll down the street to all that Franschhoek has to offer. But on top of that we found the staff at reception and elsewhere in the hotel so friendly. Will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Jonoadelaide

Thank you for posting your feedback of your recent stay with us on TripAdvisor.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Franschhoek.

We hope that we will be able to welcome you back to Protea Hotel Franschhoek one day soon.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Bend, Canada
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We had a super room on the balcony level. the hotel is small and intimate and the staff very warm and friendly. The food is exceptioonally good and reasonably priced. We would highly recommend it to anyone wishing a relaxing and luxurious place to stay after sightseeing and wine tasting in this area.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the pool and garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Balls99

Thank you so much for your feedback of our recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.

I am really glad to hear that you had a great time in Franschhoek and at our hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at this hotel on 10 occasions and have booked a return visit during July. We visit Franschhoek frequently and are familiar with many of the other hotels and guest houses in the vicinity so feel well qualified to recommend this Protea Hotel.

The four key reasons why we have visited the hotel so often are:
Staff are always very friendly and accommodating
The hotel does offer good room rate deals (although the rack rate can be pricey)
We always tend to get our preferred room
The hotel is very conveniently located within easy walking distance of restaurants, bars and other attractions.

The pool area is well maintained and offers the ideal place to relax and the terrace overlooking the main street (outside the bar) is a good spot for a glass of wine. In addition, there is plenty of secure parking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, April 1, 2012
Dear RobinCapeTown

Thank you so much for your review of Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
It is always so nice to hear from our regular GUESTS.

Thank you as always for your kind feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back once again in July.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I have just spent a most enjoyable time at the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. The hotel is so conveniently situated! It has numerous shops, restaurants and places of interest practically on its doorstep. It boasts first class facilities and friendly staff who are eager to please. A leisurely breakfast on the verandah was the cherry on the top! PH Franschhoek comes highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room that faces the pool and your stay will be perfect in every way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Vicedi

Thank you for posting a review of your recent stay at Protea Hotel Franschhoek.
I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back one day soon.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Spend a quick night at the Protea last weekend, efficient service, friendly staff and clean. Yet, booked a suite for the extra space and to make it a bit more of a luxury break and was disappointed in that the suite is a large, dimly it, sparsely furnished two rooms tucked into the back corner of the hotel, next to a stairwell and without any natural light, so no views, no luxury and really no fun. For the price I paid for the suite in an hotel I would have been better off staying in a guest house in Franschhoek me thinks.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on town side wing of the hotel - do not book the suite (room 25) - not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, March 29, 2012
Dear Laurentius_Human

Thank you for your recent review posted on TripAdvisor.

Thank you for your constructive comments about the Suite. The natural light issue is indeed something that we are looking into for ways to solve.
Thanks also for the comments about our STAFF friendliness, etc. It is much appreciated.

Kind regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTE FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and efficient. Sun-loungers by the pool had cushions and towels on them and staff were on hand to bring a nice cold drink while we were basking in the sun. Really great breakfast. The only reason I didn't give an 'excellent' is because of the price. Quite expensive compared to other hotels in the region.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas021, General Manager at Protea Hotel Franschhoek, responded to this review, March 14, 2012
Dear Anne F

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor. It sounds like you had a fabulous stay in Franschhoek. I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel and the STAFF looked after you.

We hope to welcome you back to Franschhoek one day in the not too distant future.

Regards,

Douglas Morrison
General Manager
PROTEA HOTEL FRANSCHHOEK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Franschhoek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Franschhoek

Address: 33 Huguenot Road, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Franschhoek 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek, which overlooks the majestic mountains and vineyards of the historic village of Franschhoek, some 80 km east of Cape Town, prides itself on its charming ambiance, gracious style and attentive service. Indeed, if you are seeking a hotel which exudes tranquility and beauty, look no further than the Protea Hotel Franschhoek. With so much to do in this quaint town, Protea Hotel Franschhoek provides the perfect base for your holiday. With a renowned restaurant, conference facilities, luxury accommodation, a sparkling swimming pool and, being in the heart of wine country, a well-stocked vinotique; coming home is always a pleasure. Take advantage of our convenient location and explore Franschhoek's wide array of culinary establishments, art galleries, cheese factories and some 25 world famous wine estates. Franschhoek is one of South Africa's leading culinary and wine-tasting destinations. Various outdoor activities, such as horse-riding, golf, backpacking and trout-fishing, can also be arranged. The luxurious accommodation offered by the 4-Star Protea Hotel Franschhoek is a welcoming retreat at the end of a long day spent exploring this splendid town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Protea Hotel Franschhoek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Franschhoek, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.