We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disastererous” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Corner House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Corner House to your Saves list
The Corner House
5 Unie Straat, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Disastererous”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

After an amazing few nights in Camps Bay we headed to Franschoek for a wine tasting experience. Arriving at the Corner House our thought where that the house was cute and old fashioned just like the rest of Franschoek.

We where greeted and shown to our room by Dick. The room was very cold and very dated, however it had all the requirements one needs. The fireplace was quickly lit and was pretty cool as we dont ever use a fireplace. It warmed us up nicely.

The house is situated just behind the main street which makes it easy to walk to all the cute shops and the ultimate restruant, The Common Room or the Tasting Room if you can afford!! When we got back to our room later that evening, Dick brought us some nice old school water bottles which was very kind of him.

In the morning, we packed up at 9am and we stood outside in the cold for half an hour as we where locked out of the main room where breakfast was to be served. We eventually knocked on a door up some stairs at the back of the house and Danielle came out. She was very embarrassed as she had over slept - however we had to hit the road and to start cooking breakfast would have taken too long. She apologised and then let us out the gate.

It was all very strange... However, Danielle did send me an email to apologise which I thank her for.

All in all, The Corner House is dated (1980's feel), cold and definately doesnt deserve 4 stars. I'm really not sure how it managed to ranked 4 star. Ive stayed in 3 star places that are much better.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a fireplace in Winter as there are no heaters or any extra warmth and its VERY col...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    55
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
100
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently returned to the Corner House where we were warmly received by Danielle and Dick. They couldn't have been more accommodating. The room was spacious, warm and inviting. We love the location - everything is within walking distance. Danielle went out of her way to ensure we had reservations at a great local restaurant. The best thing for us was that we were able to bring our small dog who quickly made friends with Dick and Danielle's pets. We will certainly return again!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

After being received by Dick, we arrived into a freezing room not prepared for our arrival. Even though the room had a small heater, it wasn't turned on and the curtains was still open, leaving a heat generated to escape. We started to shiver in a matter of seconds and in a desperate attempt to save the weekend, we went to buy a heater. The owners attempt at compassion for our predicament was quickly followed by a defense that "they are not priced for under floor heating". The irony the statement is that almost no home in SA has under flooring heating yet people still managed to warm their homes.

We visited The Corner House in the middle of a cold winter. South African rooms are known to be ill-equipped to able cold however, there are a number of things one can do to make a house more comfortable. We experienced that the owners were unwilling to afford us a more comfortable stay even after noticing that we were literally freezing. We would not have expected this from a four star graded establishment and the reason for our poor rating.

In the end, not willing to spend another evening in the cold, we cut our two night visit short.

Other than that the room needs a few tweaks or additions in order to make a stay there truly comfortable.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Danielle and Dick at the Garden House during a long trip in the Capetown area and our daughter took a break from working in a Township to join us. An extra bed was willingly added to the room. This lovely house in amazing natural gardens was delightful. Peaceful, clean, happy, relaxing, comfortable and "homely". We were made so welcome. The position is very good requiring just a short, quality walk to the Main Street of Franschhoek. We shall revisit.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Corner House was a beautiful house, with very nice owners. Greatly positioned with just a few minutes walk from the main street.

The rooms were pleasant and could be even better with just a few tweaks from the owners to make them warmer in winter e.g. hot water bottles, electric blankets. The common area was also very cold and the showers were blocking.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with a fireplace in winter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Daniele and Dick made our trip to Franschoek very special. Nothing was too much trouble and it was such a peaceful retreat to come back to after 'being tourist' for the day. The Corner House was a delight and although it is very centrally situated in Franschoek, it felt very relaxing and calm.
tot de volgende keer mensjes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We just had 2 nights at this B&B. Danielle and Dick were amazing. Danielle helped us make a reservation a The Tasting Room...a World's Top 100 restaurant...for my husband's 50th birthday. It was wonderful. Their B&B is very updated, fresh, clean and welcoming. We loved the garden area to sit and have a glass of wine. The have pets, which we loved, but some may not. We were two families and the rooms suited us perfectly. We had an en-suite with shower, our boys had 2 twins with a small toilet area. Our friends had a family room with a huge bathroom. There are two common rooms to "hang out." Breakfast was delicious with eggs and french toast to order. The staff were friendly and sweet. Definitely recommend this place. Only negative maybe that there is no a/c if you are there in a warm month. For us, it was perfect with the ceiling fans and the windows open. Ask Danielle for tips on the wineries. She has a wealth of information.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corner House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corner House

Address: 5 Unie Straat, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, 6 rooms, quiet guest house with a sparkling pool and veranda. Some rooms have private entrance. Kids are welcome. 5 minutes walk of the main street with its many award winning restaurants. Eat, sleep and drink in the food capital of South Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Corner House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corner House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.