We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil, relaxing, and in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Tranquil, relaxing, and in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

Situated in a quiet location, within easy walking distance of the village restaurants, and enjoying some of the best views of Franschhoek Mountains. Stunning gardens surround the pool. Well appointed cozy, self contained accommodation, owned and run by a charming caring couple. A superb home cooked breakfast each morning. We would happily recommend, and have recommended, The Garden House to friends and relatives.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
367
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2009

Up until know I was pretty pleased with myself for having never given a place 5/5 before being able to always to pick holes somewhere or make a smart Alec point justifying my 4 or worse.

The Garden House however was as pretty much close to flawless. The room was perfect, the attention to detail, the breakfast and the injection of some good old fashioned eccentricity.

Help came in the form of restaurant bookings, winery recommendations, good CD's we had to listen too, Swedish novelists to read, that sort of thing. Nothing was too much trouble and Annette even also undertook some swearing on our behalf when we discovered it was raining again.

It's the perfect place to stay - if you want to retire into your room for total seclusion I am sure you might be allowed - but you would be missing out - on several levels.

Stay there if you must - choose the dates at which we hope to return though and we will be most annoyed.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

My wife and I have recently returned from South Africa and stayed at 'The Garden House' in Franschoek. The Garden House was a wonderful experience in every possible way, from the accomodation at the cottage, to the house of owner's Annette and Barry (both the cottage and house are stunning), to the breakfast served with the most amazing views of Franschoek....It really is an incredible place to stay.

In trying to sum up what makes this place special is not the accomodation and the location (which are fabulous in themselves, it is the people who own 'The Garden House' and go out of there way to make your stay there perfect. The atmosphere is so relaxed and they make you feel so welcome within their home it really is fantastic.

Nothing is too much trouble for the hosts either, they are fantastic at recommending places to eat, arranging reservations for dinner, wineries to visit, just going out of their way to make sure you have a wonderful stay in Franschoek.

NB: "le bon vivant franschhoek" is a must for dining.

I have tried to think long and hard at trying to sum up our stay at the Garden House and for my wife and I, it was the pleasure of meeting two incredible people who made us feel so welcome in their wonderful cottage. They not only give so much to their guests, and from what we experienced, they also give back to those less privileged in the surrounding areas of Franschoek and it really was a pleasure to stay with them.

In one sentence, I would say that we had a perfect stay at the Garden House and would recommend staying there to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

I great place to stay in fantastic franschoek.Annette and Barry are perfect hosts
and made us welcome in there beautiful home .We had a lovely breakfast on the front terrace over looking a beautiful garden.The garden house is located 10min walk from village in a safe area.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Annette and her partner were wonderful if not quirky hosts. I was taken off to feed the ducks, pat her rescued and very personable cats and dogs but yet they left us to relax by their beautiful pool when we wanted to chill out. This is a stunning colonial styled property, set in a beautiful country garden, tucked away from the main road. It is quite tricky to find so I would e mail Annette for specific directions before setting off! We had the best breakfast I have ever had in the veranda of their house: homemade marmalade, fresh bread, smoked salmon fresh fruit and cereals, yoghurt, yummmmm. Our room was lovely and looked out onto another lovely garden. WOuld recommend this charming place to anybody!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Can highly recommend The Garden House after a fabulous 2 night stay. Annette and Barry (+ menagerie of cats/dogs!!) are great hosts and made us feel totally spoiled. The room itself was gorgeous and the views from the garden when eating breakfast were spectacular. Annette gave us great advice on which wineries to visit, where to eat and even provided us with transport (two mountain bikes!) - we had the most perfect two days which we could never have planned on our own. Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine in their home which was a lovely touch. For us it was the perfect home from which to enjoy Franschoek.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Annette and Barry are the perfect hosts at this wonderful location.

Only a single garden cottage with everything you could need or want. Fantastic position overlooking the town and the valley. Knowledgable, friendly hosts....they looked after us really well...to the extent of having booked a restaurant for our first night on our arrival...and that was great too.
The cottage is just beside the main house, and apart from the lovely character of the building, its finished to a high standard. Very large room, with equally large, modern bathroom....large shower, large bath, double basins.

The gardens are beautiful - full of white roses. The pool is large, and since there is only one room - there won't be a fight for the poolside beds! The views from the pool are superb!

I couldn't recommend this more!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.