We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - will definitely return....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic - will definitely return....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2009

Can highly recommend The Garden House after a fabulous 2 night stay. Annette and Barry (+ menagerie of cats/dogs!!) are great hosts and made us feel totally spoiled. The room itself was gorgeous and the views from the garden when eating breakfast were spectacular. Annette gave us great advice on which wineries to visit, where to eat and even provided us with transport (two mountain bikes!) - we had the most perfect two days which we could never have planned on our own. Each evening we enjoyed a glass of wine in their home which was a lovely touch. For us it was the perfect home from which to enjoy Franschoek.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    419
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
367
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

Annette and Barry are the perfect hosts at this wonderful location.

Only a single garden cottage with everything you could need or want. Fantastic position overlooking the town and the valley. Knowledgable, friendly hosts....they looked after us really well...to the extent of having booked a restaurant for our first night on our arrival...and that was great too.
The cottage is just beside the main house, and apart from the lovely character of the building, its finished to a high standard. Very large room, with equally large, modern bathroom....large shower, large bath, double basins.

The gardens are beautiful - full of white roses. The pool is large, and since there is only one room - there won't be a fight for the poolside beds! The views from the pool are superb!

I couldn't recommend this more!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Annette and Barry are excellent hosts. The "guesthouse" is a separate building, ensuring privacy, and contains both a spacious bedroom (including a seating area) and bathroom (the under floor heating in the bathroom is a particular highlight). Annette was flexible with our breakfast times and location (in the guesthouse or on the stoop), and both Annette and Barry were generous with their time and knowledge regarding the area. We really enjoyed sharing pre-dinner drinks with them, and were impressed by their restaurant (and diamond store!) recommendations. A final mention must go to their fabulous cats and dogs, which will either stay away or gladly soak up attention, depending on your preferences.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catforth, Lancashire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We have recently returned from a holiday in South Africa. Whilst there we stayed for a few days in The Garden House run by Annette & Barry. The reviews and pictures do not do justice to this fabulous find as it has 4 star hotel standards in an intimate setting. The large bedroon was tastefully furnished leading to a well fitted modern bathroon which had underfloor heating. As it was the beginning of Spring breakfast was a simple selection of yoghurts,fruit,muffins and cereals. This could either be taken in the bedroon or if the weather was warm enough outside on the verandah. Whilst it was only a short walk to the centre of Franschhoek The Garden House still maintained its secluded location with stunning views. Annette and Barry are perfect hosts and extremely knowledgeable of the area which they shared over pre dinner drinks in the evening. This was either in their stunning lounge or on the verandah overlooking their beautiful garden. We can unreservedly recommend The Garden House to any couple and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

We booked our stay in The Garden House to be our base for the exploration of Franschhoek's restaurants and wineries. We initially planned to stay 4 nights, however, ended up staying there for more than a week. Why? Because we absolutely loved it.

We loved its location - a great place to make day trips to surrounding wineries in Franschhoek, Stellenbosch and even Hermanus and Harmel-en-Haarde.

We loved its owners - for the way they cared about us, suggested their favourite restaurants and even gave us tips on how to choose running routes.

We loved that special feeling about the place - where you feel completely at home even though thousands of miles away from your real home.

And I must say, I still remember the taste of that special bottle of Graham Beck's Blanc de Blancs 1993 presented to me by Anette on the morning of my birthday during our stay. Thank you, once again, Anette & Barry! We will definitely come back one day!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

Nothing I can say will do justice to The Garden House, but I'll try...

Facilities: The guest room at The Garden House is actually a guest HOUSE. If you stay here, you will be the only guests on the property. So in terms of privacy, this is IT! And the house itself is very lovely. The bedroom is very spacious and well furnished. There are beautiful hardwood floors and woodbeam ceilings. The bathroom is incredibly large, appears to have been recently remodeled, and is really superb. We were fortunate to have Annette and Barry invite us to their home for a drink on the second night of our stay, and their home is absolutely breathtaking as well. It was a privilege to experience the inside of that home.

Location: The Garden House is a short and flat walk to all of the shops and restaurants in Franschoek. We walked to dinner at night with no problems whatsoever. If you are touring the vineyards, you'll need a car or a tour company, but that would be true regardless of where you are staying, because most of the worthwhile vineyards are spread out.

Value: We stayed in September, which is considered off-season, so the rates were somewhat lower. However, we would have paid much more to stay at The Garden House. This was one of the best values on our entire trip.

If we ever return to Franschoek, we will be back to The Garden House.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We loved every minute of our stay. We felt so comfortable and welcome.and loved the accommodation. Annette booked memorable dinners for us (you're spoiled for choice in Franschhoeck!) and, after we'd left, miraculously recovered and restored to us a camera that had gone missing during an ATM crisis.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.