We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent venue and conclusion to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Coventry England
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“An excellent venue and conclusion to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2009

Annette and Barry welcomed us and we felt at home straight away. The house is beautifully set in lovely gardens with the stunning backdrop of the mountains. Breakfasts were splendid, with food of the highest quality and locally produced. The salmon trout was a refreshing change from the cooked brakfast we had experienced at most of our accomodation and the fresh fruit and berries gave a really healthy feel. Definitely the best breakfasts we had experienced in South Africa and the bar was already set very high! A lovely touch was sitting out and having a sundowner and a chat with our gregaroius and helpful hosts before heading off for another outstanding meal in Franschhoek

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
407
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was the last stop of our fantastic 3 week holiday in South Africa and, yes, it was the best!. We stayed for 5 nights and wished it could have been for longer. We were really sad to leave. Annette and Barry were so friendly and helpful and their beautiful cottage was really comfortable. The location was idyllic and peaceful and we'll always remember having breakfast on the terrace with stunning views of the nearby mountains. Annette was very kind and , on our first morning there, took me to the pharmacy in town to get some antibiotics for which I was profoundly grateful.

The doggies, Benjy and Noodle, were a joy, so friendly and cuddly as were the cats.
Annette does some sterling work for the the dogs and cats in the nearby township and I went with her one day with food and water and was very impressed by her dedication.

We hope to come back to Franschhoek one day and would definitely want to stay at the Garden House again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

Well what a find! Been to Franschhoek many times but the first time here. Annette is simply the hostess with the mostest : full of wit and useful hints. The trip to the local township area to feed and water the dogs and cats with her was a very humbling experience. Her compassion and enthusiasm is wonderfuly inspiring. The Garden House is beautiful, spacious and very very comfortable. The views from the stoop at breakfast and sundowners are staggering; incidentally Annette makes a mean G and T!
Wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABERDEEN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We stayed 3 nights and had a wonderful time at the Garden House in Franschhoek. The view of the mountains from the Garden House is amazing. Our wonderful hosts made us very welcome from the moment we arrived until our departure. We had so many great laughs and some fabulous conversations. The hosts provided good advice about places to visit, restaurants. wine estates and other local attractions. We will go back there on our return to Franschhoek as we would not want to be anywhere else !

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

What else can we add to all the previous glowing comments.
OUTSTANDING accommodation.
EXCELLENT hosts.
A very relaxing place to while away your days.
Annette & Barry are a fountain of local knowledge.
You will receive a great welcome from their dogs and cats.
Would we return - most certainly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spain
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2009

Annette and Barry are superb hosts and we would definitely stay with them again in their lovely house and garden. The attention to detail and decor are fantastic and we really enjoyed talking to them on the stoep over a glass or two of local wine. The animals add a lovely personal touch and it was so good to be taken to watch the feeding of the ducks! The pre-booked Jazz Evening was also much appreciated and very enjoyable.
Howard & Val Staniforth

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at Anette´s and Barry´s guesthouse! Personal, genuine and welcoming and the house with garden is beautiful. The feeding tour is a memory for life. The Jensen family

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.