We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new Favorite Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our new Favorite Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Garden House on our Honeymoon early this month, and we could not have been happier with our choice. The location is incredible- an easy walk into town, you can bike or walk to wineries, and the scenery is beautiful! But Barry and Annette are the real reason the stay is so enjoyable. Not only do they make you feel like family the moment you arrive, they are always available for restaurant or winery recommendations and know all of the off-the-beaten-path places to go. We had two incredible dinners both nights, thanks to reservations and recommendations by Annette, and all the places in town are quite affordable as well.

We had a few mishaps coming from the airport- everything from lost luggage to lost credit cards- and Barry and Annette eased our frustrations by filling our glasses and offering to wait for our luggage to be delivered so that we could enjoy our time there. They truly go above and beyond, and the rest of the staff is wonderful as well. Breakfast is absolutely delicious and served out in the gorgeous garden. A perfect start to the day!

We stayed in the guest house, which was just lovely and immaculately clean. You certainly have privacy, but I encourage you to go to breakfast and sundowners with the other guests, Barry, and Annette, as you will learn the best places and sites to visit over hysterical stories and cocktails. Do take the bikes out as well- it is a great way to really appreciate the scenery. Also, two nights are not enough!

Annette and Barry are incredible people who really want you to enjoy every moment of your time in Franschhoeck. They also adopt rescue cats and dogs, and the pets treat you like family as well. We were thinking this would be a once-in-a-lifetime trip since it is so far from the States, but now we can’t wait to go back. Thanks for everything, Barry and Annette, and Hi to Charlie, Marmaduke, Benji, Monster, and the new kitty!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
15
368
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Upon arrival at the Garden House we realised we had booked somewhere special. We loved the cottage, comfortable bed luxury bathroom and lots of thoughtful extras, teas and coffee, biscuits, toiletries. Annette and Barry are exceptional hosts who went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Annette was able to get us restaurant reservations when we had failed. She and Barry entertained us to sundowners on the stoep. A lovely way to start the evening. We look forward to a return visit soon

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in this charming B&B for 2 nights during our Honeymoon and wish so much that we could have stayed longer.

Not only is Franschhock an absolutely beautiful town with lots of great restaurants and vineyards, but the Garden House is a very special place to stay with warm and friendly hosts in Annette and Barry. They, with their lovely dog Benjie and cats Marmaduke, Charlie and Monster make you feel so comfortable and at home.

Annette and Barry also offer great advice on the Franschhock area ensuring that you get the most out of your stay here. Would highly recommend a stay in the Garden House - we loved it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hants
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful place to stay, with the personal touch then look no further than the Garden House.

From the warm welcome, to the lovely rooms, the restaraunt recommendations and the lovely pets - it's all there.

Annette and Barry could not have been more helpful and friendly.

The room (the annexe for us) is beautifully appointed and presented with nothing not thought off (from DVDs to borrow, to a fridge stocked with soft drinks),

Annette knows the area well and will provide advice and guidance on the local attractions.

The only thing I would say is if you are expecting/hoping for a cooked breakfast then this is not available here. It is quite clear on the web site and really was not an issue for us - we had lovely homemade cereal, bread, salmon, cheese and ham .. it was really good.

Room Tip: Both rooms are fine !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Annette and Barry were the perfect hosts on our recent weekend away. They provided warm, friendly and very personal service in the most beautiful setting. Even the pets provide friendly and attentive service! The breakfasts were delicious and I promise to leave some salmon for Marmaduke the cat next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I were on our first anniversary trip to SA, and we stayed in the Garden House. It was cold and wet outside, but that didn't make a difference to our trip thanks to Annette and Barry. We had a drink by their fire every night, and had a good chat while playing with Benjie and Marmaduke. Annette's restaurant recommendations were fantastic - don't bother going anywhere else! My husband wanted to go for a cycle ride, and Barry took him out one morning, and they were both happy to lend us any equipment or clothes we needed.

The room was also fabulous- detached from the main house, so there's just the right amount of privacy if you want it (though we were happy to chat with A&B as much as possible!). Beautiful bathroom, spacious bedroom - and excellent value. Breakfast was fruit, muesli, and yoghurt and REAL COFFEE! You definitely don't want more with all the great restaurants in the area for lunch and dinner. We had such a great time, we stayed on another night - and then went on to another place Annette recommended. Also wonderful.

I wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Franschoek, and we'd plan our next trip around when there is availability at the Gardenhouse. In fact, based on the success of Annette's recommendations, we'd probably ask her to plan our whole trip!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We went to The Garden House because of the good reviews on TA.
Even before we arrived, we were already happy with our choice. Annette sent us some tips about the area including a list of local restaurants so we knew a little bit about the area.

Upon arrival we were warmly greeted by Barry & Annette and Benji the dog and the cats. Within 10 minutes we had a cold beer and Annette showed us around the cottage and gave us a useful map of the Franschhoek wineries & restaurants.
The cottage is beautiful, with a comfortable large bed, beautiful wooden lamps, a giant bathroom with floor heating, etc. I particularly loved the Rooibos showergel & shampoo in the bathroom!

In our room we had nice home made muesli and fresh strawberries every day, as well as coffee, tea, chocolate chip cookies etc.

Every evening Annette & Barry invited us for a sun downer, where we sat down with a drink and some nibbles, having a laugh, cuddling with Benji the dog and Marmaduke the Cat (we miss him!) and having a conversation.
We felt very much at home and loved Annette and Barry's beautiful house full of interesting books and art. They also helped us with restaurant bookings and gave us useful tips about places to go to for dinner and wine tasting etc.

We loved that there are bikes to use, I'm pretty sure most places would charge a fee for that! Barry gave us a map and tips on where to go on our bikes and we had a wonderful time cycling around beautiful Franschhoek!

We feel that Annette & Barry are very kind and generous people, always ready to help out, and make sure we made the most of our stay! Annette even took us out for breakfast one morning to Cafe des Arts which was lovely.

We highly recommend this B&B, it was definitely the highlight of our trip to the Western Cape.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.