We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful garden cottage with pool - Franschhoek's best kept secret!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Franschhoek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Garden House
Save
You added The Garden House to your Saves list
29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful garden cottage with pool - Franschhoek's best kept secret!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

This is our 3rd time at the Garden House - we keep coming back and are never disappointed. The cottage is perfect and secluded, the pool sparkling, breakfast delicious and never-ending. Annette and Barry are fabulous entertainers who make one feel instantly at home. Couldn't recommend highly enough - and what excellent value!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
408
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

The Garden House is B&B perfection; we were left charmed the by Garden House and our perfect hosts.

Everything from the comfortable room, the beautiful garden, the tranquillity of the swimming pool, the best breakfast of our holiday to the truly splendid hosts was faultless.

The highlight of our trip, the Garden is miles ahead of the competition and we're already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the flat that Annette and Barry take care of along with the Garden House. The accommodations at the flat were excellent. It had a large, very comfortable bed upstairs with a beautiful arched window view of the mountains around Franschhoek. This was my first visit to South Africa and to Franschhoek and I could have booked my whole itinerary just from the wealth of information that Annette and Barry have of the Western Cape. It was an absolute pleasure being treated as long lost friends, enjoying glasses of wine and exchanging stories. Annette and Barry, you offer so much more than just a place to stay, you truly supply the whole package deal. I have been to several places overseas, and I can testify that I will never forget the time my wife and I spent in your company. Best regard from "the Colonials." :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We arrived in franschhuick and were welcomed by Annette and showed our room. The decor was stunning with a period touch and there were all the niceties one expects from a 5* accommodation. Annette offered to reserve a table for us at a restaurant which was a fab choice. Breakfast was lovely eating out on
the verandah overlooking the garden and pool. The breakfast was full of fresh scummy food. All in all a lovely memory to a wonderful holiday. See you again Annette.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Since we, as most guests, intend to come back again and stay longer in the beautiful cottage underneath a huge tree in Barry and Annette's garden, forget time during the enormous high-quality breakfast on the terrace surrounded by white roses, and talk to the friendly and interesting hosts, the Garden House should better be removed from tripadvisor, because otherwise it will be booked out over years.
Don't think that two nights are enough. It is a perfect place to explore the diverse area, the wineries and the relaxing village of Franschhoek.
A visit could also be recommended as a therapy for people who normally are afraid of dogs or cats, an unimaginable syndrome in this peaceful house.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My girlfriend had previously stayed at the Garden House and so i thought i had some idea of what to expect before i arrived, but i had no idea it would be as good as it was! Barry and Annette are lovely and make you feel like you're their friends visiting for the weekend rather than paying guests (although you do have to pay). The room, the garden, the pool, the breakfast, the impromptu music quizzes, champagne served up on a sunny afternoon (there was no wine that was cold enough) all add up to what is a unique experience and one that i'm extremely glad i had! Just wish we could have stayed for longer!!

A huge thanks to Barry and Annette for making my first visit to Franschhoek a memorable one! we'll be back...

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryd
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

We spend a night in this beautiful house just last week. I originally wanted to stay in the cottage but another couple already had it booked so we stayed in the room in the main house.
We only had one night here and from start to finish it was beautiful. The house, the garden, the location is everything you could wish for. The breakfast on the veranda was a lovely relaxed way to end our stay before our long drive to Wildernis. It was Annette however that made this a memorable experience for us, assisting with restaurant choices, vineyard tours etc, definately a very unique lady with a cracking sense of humour!
Believe all the reviews and stay here.
Thanks again Annette and Barry.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Garden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garden House

Address: 29 De Wet Street, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Garden House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.