We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Chablis Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Chablis Guest House to your Saves list
Maison Chablis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   15 Berg Street | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 58 Franschhoek B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Stunning property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This B&B was beautiful. The owner was very helpful and made reservations for us at the local restaurant and had loads of suggestions for things to do.
The room was lovely, my only complaint is that I booked this B&B soley on the fact that it was advertised as having Tempur mattresses...this I would pay handsomely for....I was gutted when I didnt get to sleep on a tempur (it would have been home from home as that is what we have at home) the matress was infact too hard for me.
If its a firm matress you like then you couldnt fault this B&B

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Owner at Maison Chablis Guest House, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hi,
Thank you for your review. I would like to ask you though where we advertise that we use Tempur Mattresses, as to my knowledge , we don't advertise that anywhere. I know that we don't have Tempur mattresses and i know that I havn't advertised that kind of detail since my ownership of 19 months ago. Please can you get back to me. Is it possible that you are referring to an different guest house? Thank you.
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    40
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
189
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This little Inn is inviting and warm! It's quaint and close enough to walk into Franshhoek to enjoy a stroll down this fun town or hop on the Wine train for a tour of the many Wine estates. James is on-site and provides just the right amount of privacy yet around to help you if there is anything you need. The dog's name is Simba and he's a kick! The breakfast was delicious. The pool and the grounds are very inviting, just sitting around with a book listening to the breeze and birds chirping was pure heaven!

Room Tip: Any one of the rooms on the first floor with your own entrance were perfect! Excellent security.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

A beautiful B&B a few steps from the main road in Franshoek, we liked it so much that when our trip was unexpectedly extended (cancelled flight) it was the place we chose to go back to for our extra two nights. The property and the rooms themselves are very well presented and the hospitality and the staff are very warm and welcoming. I would not hesitate in recommending this place.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Great location - close walking distance to village and restaurants.
Hotel is beautifully decorated in a Fresh classic style. Room clean, comfortable and quite (no 5). Suburb breakfast with attentive staff.
James is a great host and on hand to offer advise on the best places to eat and what to see and do around the village.
Would highly recommend the Le Bon Vivant restaurant and a trip on the Wine Tram with lunch at Roca which has spectacular views across the valley.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We only spent one night at Maison Chablis - but my goodness, we should have stayed longer. Location is excellent - very central (right next to Le Quartier Francais) and ideal for visiting all of the best restaurants in town (i.e. all easily walkable within 2-5 mins). A lovely pool to relax in too after a day's sightseeing or wine tasting. Excellent breakfast. Just stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We originally stayed at this lovely B&B for one night with a group of friends and liked it so much my husband & I went back again the following week so we could dine at The Tasting Rooms at Le Quartier Francais.

They have rooms at LQF but we felt this place had everything we needed for a fraction of the price. The warmth, hospitality and helpfulness of the owner James and his manager Pat are just exceptional. Location is perfect, on a quiet side street with it's own secure parking, a few moments stroll from Franschhoeks main street and restaurants - ideal if you want to be able to eat and drink without anyone having to drive.

I'm really fussy about where I stay and I found this to be very tastefully done, the rooms are lovely with comfy beds, luxurious bathrooms, free wifi, mini-bar, tea & coffee making facilities (always a big plus!). All the downstairs rooms have their own patios with seating, and a pathway which leads to a very peaceful pool, deck and garden area to relax in. In the morning expect a generous continental breakfast and a very tasty cooked breakfast served by the lovely ladies in the breakfast room.

If you are mulling over where to stay, I thoroughly recommend this place.Thank you James, Pat and the lovely ladies who served our breakfast for making our stay so wonderful. We hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: Ground floor have patios. Superior room (No 5) corner room is the largest and is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenhithe
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed at Maison Chablis for 4 nights. Perfect location for the main street in Franschhoek and easy walking distance to some great places to eat and drink. James was a superb host, made us feel very welcome and was very knowledgeable about places to visit. The room was excellent and also thanks to Pat for the insight into life in Franschhoek.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Chablis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Chablis Guest House

Address: 15 Berg Street | Western Cape, Franschhoek 7690, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Franschhoek
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Franschhoek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Chablis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Maison Chablis, a stunning 4 star Georgian Guest House where you will be welcomed to charming Cape hospitality. Each of the rooms are tastefully decorated to the highest standards. Enjoy a scrumptious English breakfast with us and then relax by the sparkling pool. We can assist you, whether it be a dinner reservation, wine tours, horse rides or any other activity. We are only 2 minutes walk from the best restaurants in Franschhoek! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maison Chablis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Chablis Guest House Hotel Franschhoek

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Chablis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.