We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !Xaus Lodge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of !Xaus Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added !Xaus Lodge to your Saves list
!Xaus Lodge
1.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Dune 91 | Off the Auob River Road, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park 8814, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing !Xaus Lodge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Do you appreciate the quietness, the beauty of the dunes, nature at its best ... and a beautiful style of comfort to go with it? This is the lodge to visit - we enjoyed our 2 night stay (and regretted not having booked 3 nights) - the drive over 91 dunes explains why the lodge is so special - out in no-where - away from everything! And this is worth the price - we couldn't believe how lovely the rooms were done - including comfortable linen, towels, water and a toilet - all this had to find its way through 91 dunes - and not to forget the plunge pool. We were welcomed and the same late afternoon we were taken on a evening drive after dinner! It was rather fresh but they provided us with lovely blankets, thanks. The next morning we went on an early morning walk - it was very cold and windy. Nevertheless, worth the getting up and exercise. Hannes and Kossie read us the latest news from the dunes and also explained how one would have a chance to survive in die desert. It was very interesting. Later we got spoilt with a lovely hot breakfast. Now we had time to chill - great! And later in the afternoon we were taken on a sundowner drive - stunning! The Kalahari, is is an interesting and different world, and well worth the experience. We will be back again after the rains! Thanks to all the staff at !Xaus Lodge. Keep it up!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your informative and interesting review. We too share your regret that you did not stay longer, and hope to welcome you back in the Kalahari one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    22
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
37
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
johannesburg
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. On the way to the lodge we saw a large male lion and then when we arrived at the lodge we had another male and two female lions on the pan!

We went on a walking safari as well as day and night game drives to the various pans and we saw gemsbok, eland, lions and African wild cats.

The service, food, and photo opportunities are superb. For landscape photography you have star trails, moon/sun-rise, sunsets and the pan as subjects.

It can get very hot so airconditioners in the rooms would be nice but they did supply us with 'Kalahari airconditioners' which we wore on our game drives and they worked very well in keeping us cool.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a good view of the pan and surrounding dunes. If the lodge is full and you want t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operators at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
we really appreciate the time you took to write this review. It was good to hear that you used the "Kalahari Air-conditioners" - they really do help us manage in the heat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon's Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Our third visit in 5 years. Still a very good room standard and the guides (Mier and San) knowledge of his environment and the parks animals was (as usual) outstanding. The sigths of lions were totally overshadowed by the very rare African Wild Cat and Aardwolf. The sunset drives and sunrise walks were pretty routine but nevertheless fascinating.

The five start rating is only 4 star due to the pretty boring food. No venison or spices used. The local people the Mier has certainly some more interesting dishes. Two dinners in three days with chicken is not commensurate with the price charged and the other qualities.

Room Tip: All rooms face the !xaus pan - but the outer ones have a better look to the waterhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in the lodge in the family unit. On the way to the lodge came across a lion kill which was fabulous. The lodge is located deep into the desert on a pan. The setting of the lodge is wonderful with incredible colours in the morning and at sunset. The management were stunning in making us feel at home and leaves no stone unturned to make your stay as special as possible. The guides were very knowledgable and showed us a number of interesting things you would never have seen on your own. We stayed during a cold spell but had the most incredible nights with hot water bottles and snugly made beds which meant we slept like babies. My kids had an abolute ball during or visit. We absolutely loved the food and when one realises everything in the lodge have to be brought in by 4x4 over the dunes you realise how special it is to be there and experience the Kalahari on that way. A truly special experience!

Room Tip: Did not get any idea of rooms being better or worse. Lodge is small enough for all rooms to be nicel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, Wyoming
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

!Xaus Lodge was absolutely magical! I was there in Summer of 2009 with a small study-abroad trip. This place was the big-spend of the trip, and, for students, was truly amazing. The staff was kind and taught us so much about the Kgalagadi: her people, ecology, history, etc. There is so much life in the desert. And now, my heart is there too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at !Xaus Lodge the 14 and 15 February 2012, what a disappointment! We wanted a romantic getaway (Valentines Day) and just to experience the peace and quiet of the beautifull Kgalagadi dunes. We got terrible food and a 8 year old up and down with her kick scooter and entertaining the guest in the splash pool! Not our idea of a quiet getaway. The food was terrilble; Valentines dinner started with potato & bacon balls, mains, dried and overdone chicken schnitzel with rice and vegetables - NO sauce! The meal ended with toffee pudding. Breakfast was ok, don't expect sunny side up eggs. Lunch was a small bowl of tuna quiche with a beetroot salad, suppose to serve 6 people, I was still hungry and I am definetly not overweight, but I do enjoy my food! The second dinner started with crumbed mushrooms then mains; meatballs, some sort of rice and vegetables and ended with coffee pudding. The meals were definetly not on par with the asking price. You don't need fine dining, but at least tasty food and healthy serving would be sufficient. The guides, John and Ousus were excellent and the visit to the Boesmans were fantastic, but what a dissappointment when we could not do our second morning walk, due to staff change over !!!! Really this should not be our problem and as the rate includes all the drives and walks and meals. Unfortunately we can't recommend the lodge to anyone, rather stay in the Khalari Tented Camp, Urikanius, Grootkolk or Kieliekrankie, the only difference is you make your own food and the settings and accommodation is exquisite!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EleanorMuller, Management Operator at !Xaus Lodge, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
We are really sorry that you did not have a happy time, and will be taking up the issues you have addressed with the Lodge management and through staff training.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed two nights at the lodge and enjoyed every minute! The staff are incredibly nice and took great care of us. We took part in the guided dune walk, sunset game drive and a visit to the small Bushman's craft village. All together the lodge is a once in a life time experience, where you can learn about the Kalahari. On our first night, we had an outstanding local dish prepared the old fashion way. As we enjoyed a nice camp fire, excellent wine and fantastic homemade cooking we felt both at home and living a special adventure.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to !Xaus Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about !Xaus Lodge

Address: Dune 91 | Off the Auob River Road, Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park 8814, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:1 star — !Xaus Lodge 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
!Xaus Lodge is a private Safari Lodge in the Kgalagadi Transfrontier Park. Set in an isolated corner of the Kalahari Desert, this eco-lodge is owned by the local Khomani San and Mier communities, and commercially managed. Guests stay on a full-board basis, with all meals, activities and game drives included in the tariff. Activities include wilderness walks with local Khomani San trackers, a visit to the craft village to meet local crafters, game drives and an opportunity to listen to the sunset. Night-sky star-gazing is a highlight of the evening.!Xaus Lodge is an isolated, desert destination where the emphasis is on experiencing this unique part of the world. Guests stay in chalets on the edge of a large salt-pan and can view game at the waterhole from their private viewing deck. Wilderness walks provide an opportunity to see the smaller details, and give an opportunity to learn about desert life.The local community owners, the Khomani San and Mier, make up the majority of the staff, and their influences dominate the aesthetics and culinary experience. !Xaus Lodge is a place to experience, and not just observe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your !Xaus Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage !Xaus Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.