We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love Wegman's. So naturally I have expectations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wegmans Market Cafe

Wegmans Market Cafe
15 Woodbridge Center Drive, Woodbridge, NJ 07095
(732) 596-3200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 72 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Restaurant details
NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“I love Wegman's. So naturally I have expectations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I love my wife, kids and Wegman's. So naturally I do have expectations from the store. Higher expectations.

The food is excellent. Try their Market Cafe and you will love it. The nice atmosphere makes you spend more and more time there.

The prices were great in the past (I would say 2008 to 2012). I don't find great deals anymore. I am okay with it as I am already in a relationship with this store :) but better deals will help to retain customers.. there is shoprite nearby. The 'shopper club' reward hardly saves you $2 when you spend 100+ bucks.. I don't like that.

The pharmacy is good. Most of the time you get what you want. Pharmacists are good. There is a liquor department. There is a coffee bar. There is so much.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Supermarket Restaurant is OK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

When Wegman's Supermarket opened in Woodbridge more than a decade ago, it was the place to go for the unusual, the different, and the exclusive foods--with prices to match. It has since blunted the edge of its exclusiveness in order to attract more customers, and this is reflected in their Cafe. In the beginning, they had a huge hot food bar specializing in Indian and Chinese dishes, with lamb dishes, large shrimp, and other exotic foods. Now the hot food bar tends toward typical Chinese restaurant dishes together with some basic Indian foods. (Many local people are of Indian origin.) Dishes seldom change. The staff is pretty good about adding more to the hot trays when there is not much left. There is also a large cold food bar with unusual items including salads and vegetarian dishes. The price can be expensive, depending on what and how much you choose.
Next to these food bars are kiosks with fresh sushi, prepared meals in a refigerator case, and a station that will make up full meals for you, complete with sides. A huge case of sodas, juices, waters and other specialty drinks is nearby. The cafe has a large and comfortable seating area on the second floor, with a convenient elevator to get there.
Of all the components of this Cafe, I think that the weakest part now is the hot food bar. The best part is the station that makes up complete meals. Although the cafe is always open, the Asian food bar is not, nor is the station that makes up complete meals. Early in the day and in the late evening, these both close down.
I like the cafe, but I rarely eat there because I find it expensive.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnegat, New Jersey
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“It's Just Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

It's Not Bad , but they have so many displays , and people have a hard time
walking to get something from the Cafe, and It just does Not Have That
Nice Open Feeling in The Store Anymore.
Ever since they opened To Sell Beer, and Wine, The store Feels Over
Crowded,

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Love this for a quick bite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Food is made on premises and is excellent. Quite a selection and I can get in and out, or sit in the cafe and enjoy my meal. Try the salmon!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“grocery store +!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

great grocery store and much more with a market cafe, coffe bar, fresh bakery and more. would go again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wegmans Market Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Wegmans Market Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wegmans Market Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.