We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Decent Italian Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mulberry Street Restaurant

Mulberry Street Restaurant
739 Rahway Avenue, Woodbridge, NJ 07095
732-634-4699
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 73 Restaurants in Woodbridge
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Plainfield, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Pretty Decent Italian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I went to Mulberry Street for New Year's Eve with a party of 8. It was really crowded, yet the service was amazing. One of our friends was late, but the hostess seated us without making any objection. Our waitress was simply amazing and she made our night remarkable; she really engaged with us and went out of her way to help us to have a great NYE.

Our drinks and appetizers came shortly after we ordered them; our entrees took a little longer but that is totally understandable, considering it was New Year's Eve. The menu has a great variety and our table ordered literally a sample of everything on the menu. We had chicken, seafood, steak, veal and pasta. Everything was absolutely delicious.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    11
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
nj
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“way overpriced for what you get”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Had a recent week night dinner with a small group, service was VERY slow (and the place was not busy). Seems small groups (with an advanced reservation) means a LONG wait regardless. Also, I would have to agree with most of the others here, the prices are too high for what you're getting. Entrees do not come with salad, and the salad prices are as overpriced as everything else. I ordered the grilled salmon in a bland sauce, with spinach, mushrooms and potatos,not worth $23 at all. This place is nothing special, in an area full of restaurants. Won't be returning any time soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nothing special at all, completely disappointed.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Scallops were undercooked. Calamari was overcooked. Service was absent. Place needs a complete remodel and that includes the owner and waitresses.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“good food, good service, a owner that cares !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went to Mulberry street for my wifes birthday . It was very busy , but I had made reservations. We were sat at our table very quickly. Our waitress was nice and food came out hot and tastfull. Even though one dish was not to my liking , the owner made things right and out came another dish to me right away that was great ! Desert was very good and everyone left with a full and happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Prices are on the high end here but a must if you are in the area. Went for dinner and the food was excellent. Fresh and a few specials presented, the service was top notch, very cozy inside. Don't let the outside look keep you from trying it, the dining room and bar share the same room so tends to get a bit loud, choose a table on the far end, I believe you would not be disappointed. A very nice place to dine, the pace was just right.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mulberry Street Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mulberry Street Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mulberry Street Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.