We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem in Augrabies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dundi Lodge

Dundi Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Augrabies Falls National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dundi Lodge
Save
You added Dundi Lodge to your Saves list
No.4 Airport Boulevard, Augrabies Falls National Park 8874, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Bucks
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A Gem in Augrabies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised when we arrived as the photos on the website do not do this hotel justice. We had a lovely room which was very spacious . The staff were very helpful and the food very good ! We thoroughly enjoyed out stay .
Very near to the Augrabies Falls and some lovely vineyards where delicious table grapes are grown and exported to The UK .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Our family of four spent a night here during Dec 2012 and it was wonderful. We booked the family room and it was spacious and beautifully decorated; the bathrooms were big and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful and the owner Bertho, indulged us with some fresh grapes from his neighbouring vineyards. The only reason I'm not giving this establishment an "Excellent" is because the food was not really that good - I would expect better from such a nice place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herent, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

a place with very nice modern rooms, a friendly staff and a good restaurant. Not far away from the Augrabies Falls National Park. You can visit it during one day and make there a walk. When you come back a good dinner is waiting.

Room Tip: nice family room overlooking the pool. Very quit. Very nice interior
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The suite was wonderful and well equipped as one would expect in a 5 star lodge. BUT the food was not up to the same standard. Schnitzels like big lumps of meat at dinner, and a very poor breakfast that looked as if it had been laid out for hours - brown fruit, hard scrambled eggs and a generally poor choice. But the coffee was good. The receptionist gae very poor directions to the falls and there were no maps pr pamphlets available. One expects more from 5 star establishments.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Dundi Lodge was lucky find on the part of one of my fellow travelers and we couldn't have been happier. The staff were really accommodating and friendly and the location/hotel itself/decor and food were all beautiful. As three single travelers we rented out the separate manor house for two nights and it was amazing - it slept up to 6 but was still a bargain find for the three of us! The hotel, located so close to the National park was just brilliant and I would recommend it for all!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

We stopped at Dundi Lodge en route from Johannesburg to Namibia and back again, staying fo 3 nights in all. As we were a family of 6 people, we were housed in The Manor House, which is the original farm house on the property. The Lodge and the Manor House are both very tastefully decorated. We were very comfortable in The Manor House with its 3 en suite bedrooms and central living area. We took all our meals at the Lodge, the food was mostly good, but the meal service was very slow. They have fixed times for meals, and if you arrive outside of those times, food is difficult to come by! That being said, when we arrived mid-afternoon after a long day in the car, Berto (owner / manager) was very obliging, asking the chef to come back early from her afternoon break to make us sandwiches, which we got more than an hour later. At dinner, the menu is quite limited, and they struggled to serve all 6 of us at the same time, some of us waited quite a while for our main course after others had been served. At breakfast, the same choice of food (fruit salad, scrambled eggs and bacon, toast) was served on all 3 days. All the staff were very pleasant, but the service was painfully slow.
Dundi Lodge is located very close to Augrabie Falls, which are a must see. The Orange River is very high at the moment and the falls are worth seeing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dundi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dundi Lodge

Address: No.4 Airport Boulevard, Augrabies Falls National Park 8874, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Northern Cape > Augrabies Falls National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Augrabies Falls National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dundi Lodge is conveniently situated 3km from the world famous Augrabies Falls (1 of the five biggest waterfalls in the world) in the Northern Cape Province, South Africa and offers the discerning visitor Africa in all its untamed magnificence, along with truly superb standards of hospitality. Superbly situated close to the Augrabies Falls and the best game viewing areas in the region. Our privately owned Game Reserve is only 54km from us. Our Game reserve hugs the banks of a scenic river, the Orange River, and has magnificent views of the overhanging cliffs, where the antics of the resident baboon troop entertain guests. Guests are assured of exceptional game viewing. Large variety of different antelope can be seen in our game reserve than in any other game reserve in the region. Rare game species includes Aardvark and Aardwolf, Eland, Gemsbok and Black Springbok. Night game drives give the visitor an insight into South African nocturnal wildlife. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dundi Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.