We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“logs, dogs and engagement!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hamilton Parks Country Lodge

Save Saved
You added Hamilton Parks Country Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hamilton Parks Country Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   On R40 to Kruger National Park from Nelspruit to Hazyview, Kiepersol, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“logs, dogs and engagement!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed during the African winter in July. Kurt and his staff were extremely lovely to our family during our stay of three nights. They cared about the small things important to my family of future in-laws such as talking to us at the bar whilst fixing our alcoholic beverages, letting us make a fuss of their friendly dogs and even laid on a bottle of complementary fizz when my partner and I broke the news one evening we had gotten engaged at God's Window nearby. Our room was comfortable and we loved the logs so we could make our own fire each evening to warm this further. My partner and I also enjoyed the home cooked food they provided. Our personal favourite was Kurt's love for his pet chicken that he disclosed during the Winter he gets a basket out for each night so it can sleep in the porch area in the warmth. It can be found there every night and enjoys to be stroked by guests. We were surprised by how much we enjoyed our stay and would definitely return again, as it will always be special for us as a couple. Many thanks for your kind hospitality!! (J&L, L's parents and sister)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Booked this for the night pre entering Kruger on safari via a popular bookings web-site and didn't have particularly high expectations - I should have! Wonderful food and a warm welcome added to a great family room. There isn't much to recommend Hazyview so staying here, 15km away, makes good sense. It is 2km off the road in a valley with a private road - drive carefully. Top tip - use the GPS Lat and Long co-ordinates to get there rather than asking the machine for the hotel by name. A tip from experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for one night before going to the Kruger National Park on a self-drive safari. The lodge has a convenient pre-safari location close to the town of Hazyview. Welcoming staff, big room with bathtub and excellent home made food. The lodge is 2km off the main road, be prepared to drive slowly and carefully to get there. Good value for money. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Numbi, Mpumalanga, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This lodge with a beautiful view is run by a small group of people who make you feel at home straight away! The food served at dinner as well as at breakfast is terrific and the rooms are spacious, bright and clean. In winter time you are provided with wood, so you can warm your room with a lit fire place, which I particularly loved! We stayed here now a couple of times and keep returning for the nice and relaxed atmosphere and it is a true retreat from the busy live :)

Room Tip: all rooms are good and have excellent view over the valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Well run family lodge, close to Kruger Park. Accommodation was clean, beds very comfortable and location at the edge of park gave an quiet atmosphere. The owners were very hands on, food was excellent and great value. Bar and pool area was a great to relax in no matter what the weather. Would definitely recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Kurt made us very welcome. Beautiful quiet remote location. Comfortable room. Excellent food, well stocked bar.
Certainly worth booking an evening meal, as quite a distance from "civilization".
Wish we had stayed longer than one night, as it would have been nice to relax and soak up the atmosphere of the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed at Hamilton Parks for 4 nights last November. The Lodge is in a remote location, about 45 minute’s drive from Kruger Park. Once you find the entrance, you have a long winding drive before you reach the Lodge itself. This does give you an opportunity to see some wildlife – we saw deer and a (apparently highly venomous) black snake. There is also apparently a hippo that makes an appearance now and then, but he didn’t cross our path!
Nola, Kurt and Karl are very welcoming hosts, the rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and are set in lovely extended grounds. Being remotely located, you need to eat at the Lodge in the evening, and breakfasts and dinners are very good, with generous portions. There is a nice cosy bar next to the dining room. Wi-fi is available in the main house.

Some advice – take care when driving in the nearby town of Graskop, and make sure you do not speed or break any driving laws. We were stopped by a single officer for not having come to a complete halt at a junction – we thought we had but couldn’t prove it. He tried to fine us 750 rand, but when we told him we only had about 300, he said “just give me what you have and you can go”. Being faced with a cop with a gun we decide to just pay up and get out of there. On getting back to the hotel we started to recount the tale to one of the staff who said “don’t tell me, you’ve been stopped by the infamous Graskop police!”. It turns out that two other residents were also stopped that day, one of them twice! You have been warned!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hamilton Parks Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamilton Parks Country Lodge

Address: On R40 to Kruger National Park from Nelspruit to Hazyview, Kiepersol, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Kiepersol
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Kiepersol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hamilton Parks Country Lodge 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Hamilton Parks Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hamilton Parks Country Lodge South Africa/Kiepersol

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamilton Parks Country Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.