We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for tired families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coach House Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Coach House Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coach House Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tzaneen
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely for tired families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

After reading many reviews of this hotel we arrived with some apprehension. The stay was lovely. The hotel is in an amazing setting with lovely views. The rooms are not brand new and possibly not 5 star quality, but were very clean and all the beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean which for us is very important.

The staff at the hotel is what sets it apart, all from the cleaners through to the spa ladies are kind and helpful. Obviously very well trained! We were called by our names throughout our stay and made to feel very welcome and no burden whatsoever. Our children were made to feel welcome and at home.

We only had breakfast and enjoyed it very much! A wide variety to choose from all fresh and tasty!

We were very glad and thankful that we had decided to give the hotel a try and if ever we are back in Tzaneen we will most probably go back there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for your kind review, we at Coach House are very proud of our staff and are always appreciative of the kind words and compliments we receive from such wonderful people.

We are working hard on making our breakfast the best in Tzaneen, your comments show us that we are heading in the right direction.

Hope to see you soon at The Coach House.

Warmest regards,

The Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    7
    7
    7
    4
See reviews for
5
13
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I was at a loss for words when I read some of the unkind comments on the Coach House Hotel. Are we talking about the same place? When I was there in May I decided that I had one foot in heaven. All staff members are so polite, well-trained and kind. The hotel has a colonial feel and the bedrooms are of 5-star standard. What touched me were the small posies of garden flowers in the bathroom, bed and living rooms. Also the early morning coffee that was discreetly pushed through the hatch - on the minute every morning - always had fresh flowers on the tray. The attention to detail makes all the difference. The pub is cosy and the restaurant elegant and classy. Drinks are served in crystal glasses and the cutlery is old silver. Every dish that we ordered was of the highest culinary standards. Never ever before have I tasted a crème brulee like their Frangelico crème brulee. I would drive thousands of kilometres to have another one of them. And the finely grilled trout and poached egg that I had for breakfast was a feast in itself.

If you want to spoil yourself and your loved ones, don’t hesitate to make a reservation at Coach House - absolute value for money. And don't forget to spend some time in the spa!!! And no, I am not a shareholder ;-)

Irene Späth

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Irene,

Thank you so much for your compliments, we are always grateful for such wonderful feedback from our clients. I will pass on your compliments to the staff and we look forward to you coming back for some of our Crème Brule (hopefully you do not have to drive thousands of kilometres).

Hoping to see you back soon.

Warmest regards,

The Staff and Management of Coach House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at the Coach House 5 times over the last 8 years; it is typically our Wedding Anniversary venue because of the surroundings, tranquility and 5 Star service.
Our recent 4-day (3 night) trip suggest the former 2 have been retained, but we felt that perhaps the old lady is heading down to 3 stars. This could be as a result of the new owners focusing on this niche market and more of a corporate than family/local vibe pervading in the running of the place. Some of our comments:-

1. Check In: No problem. We were however, shown to a room with a swarm of bees on the balcony. We were given an alternative room next door (No 15) after raising this at reception. New occupants were shown into our old room without the problem being addressed though.

2. Room: Comfortable but not 5 Star. No Room Service menu. Lounge drapes dirty from many hands moving them aside. Ceiling paintwork in bathroom very dirty. No information booklet. Poor reception on some of TV Channels.

3. Food: Service has dropped; asked for a Full Coach House Breakfast and did not receive. Had to ask for coffee. Waiter bought me the Porcupine ridge red instead of the white. Supper was fair but overpriced. Very poor wine selection (I remember the halycon days when this was really top notch). We dined on the 3rd day at Picasso's in Haenertsberg... and wow, spot the difference !!!

4. Ambience: Still peaceful and quiet with wonderful birdlife in the gardens and a view that goes on forever. There was a wedding and birthday bash when we were there and some of the guests played rap music whilst walking around the garden in their vests. The gardens seemed to be in fair shape still.

So I would say that if Orion are pitching at 3 Stars, you're on your way (prices need to be lowered and you may not get the volumes you need). If you are still punting 5 Stars, you're way out and need to start injecting some cash and making the local staff proud of this former flagship.

We want to be faithful, but I think we will be looking for another anniversary venue next year. Will miss the view and Nougat factory.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

We thank you for taking the time to inform us of your personal experience at the Coach House. We are consistently looking for ways to improve and will use your and other valuable customers feedback as a route map to restoring Coach House to her former glory. Since your review we have already put Coach House on a path of recovery with new management, a comprehensive renovation and maintenance budget.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to win your support and confidence back in the near future.

Sincerely,

The Staff and Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We have been staying at the Coach House for the last 10 years and it is sad to see that this hotel is slowly but surely dilapidating.

The rooms are in desperate need of renovations, the quality of the food has dropped, the equipment in the Gym are in a bad state and the indoor pool area is not very clean. The quality of the food has dropped and they don't serve their famous breakfasts anymore! They used to serve the best breakfasts in South Africa with the best quality we ever new.

The problems cropped after one of the partners passed away and so it was taken over by another company and there have been a number of managers in a short period of time.

The Location is still unbeatable and the views are tremendous. The staff (some which have been there for years) are trying their best and are very friendly and helpful - they are the heart of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Sir, Madam,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor...We take this forum as a score card on our performance and as a valuable management tool in helping us to build and make positive progress on such a wonderful property. We have spent some time on getting the right management team in place to bring the Coach House back to the levels she so deserves. We are a new management team and are making positive progress on all fronts. The number of return guests is on the rise and our occupancies are increasing with us receiving positive guest experiences and feedback on a weekly basis. We look forward to making the Coach House star shine brightly.

We would love to see you back at the Coach House and hopefully sooner rather than later

Sincerely

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francistown, Botswana
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

The overall experience was very pleasant, the surrounds and rooms are fantastic. The food was not overly fantastic and the spa pool was not up to temperature. I would however recommend the Coach House to any traveller one cannot but relax. Most important the bar is superb.

Room Tip: Cant comment but we had room 15 which was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mike T

Thank you very much for your review of the Coach House, she is a superb property with a new and vitalised management team.We are proud to hear from our satisfied customers...While we know not ever customer will give us a such wonderful score card we do take incredible pains to ensure that we learn from each customers experience good or bad and make positive steps towards improving in every area.

Thank you once again and we sincerely look forward to seeing you back at Coach House

Sincerely

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I have been staying at the Coach House for over 20 years. On business mainly, but also for pleasure from time to time, as we loved it so much - this graceful "Grand Old Lady" up on Agatha - legendary and symbolic for the Tzaneen people and people like me, associated with fruit exports in this vast agricultural region. It was truly the best 5 Star Country Hotel in South Africa with unbelievable service from long standing staff members, superb food and all the trimmings that anyone could hope for and indeed expect. However, since it was taken over by this Orion crowd, it is nothing short of a complete and utter disaster. The prices have been hiked up HUGELY, but everything else has hit rock bottom. There is now no further support from the significant local base (and it should be noted the locals were essentially a key element of the turnover in the past) who have all become scathing in their opinions of how this wonderful hotel has been ripped apart. Prepare yourself for a total disaster in the dining room because they have put off most of their staff, the food is poor now, "prepared by a cook who cannot really cook" , a Manager who, when confronted by complaints tells you "you are entitled to think what you like" (unbelievable), early morning tea/coffee that doesn't arrive because they do not have enough cups (??!!!), a Spa that is also horribly understaffed and really canot accommodate guest bookings. (In the drive to cut costs they are now using Baby Oil ??!!) Sadly in all of this, the bottom line is that in the shorter term they will probably continue to secure bookings from unsuspecting foreign travellers, but as these visitors also become aware of the fact that this beautiful hotel is nothing like it was before, they will also disappear. With great, great sadness I have to say I will never return to this establishment. Glenda Backhouse Summerfield Exports (Pty) Ltd

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme S, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Dear Mrs Backhouse,

Thank you for your constructive criticisms of the Coach House Hotel.

Please also accept our apologies for the shortcomings you experienced, they are not the normal levels of service we aim to offer our guests. Standards are extremely important to us and you can be assured that efforts are ongoing to re-establish this beautiful property to it's former glory. Your feedback has been discussed in detail at management level and you will be pleased to know that strategies are in place to continually reticify and improve our organisational requirements.

May I take this opportunity to thank you having visited the hotel and for assisting us to achieve a top class hotel.

Sincerely,

Graeme Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011 via mobile

This isn't 5 star luxury as in big city Waldorf or Fairmont .... But it's wholesome country style 5 star comfort and hospitality. The rooms and facilities are lovely and the staff are charming. My wife and I spend 4 nights here while visiting family in Tzaneen and loved every minute of our stay. Our executive room (number 31) featured two full bathrooms with a spacious sitting area and wonderful view over the forest and mountains. The breakfast featured products of the region (nuts, avocado, fruits) as well as a wide selection of pastries and all the usual egg, bacon, sausage, etc. The pool and.spa are great. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else when we're next in the area.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coach H, Manager at Coach House Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Dear Mr Ruhrmund

Thank you very much for your positive review of Coach House, she is an iconic country property and we are very proud of her heritage and history. We are very grateful for your review and will continue to use your and other clients feedback as our yardstick to measure how our customers feel about the experience and services we offer.

Thank you once again and we sincerely look forward to seeing you and your family back at Coach House.

Sincerely

The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coach House Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coach House Hotel & Spa

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coach House Hotel & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Easily accessible from Gauteng, the Coach House Hotel & Spa offers world-class hospitality and luxurious comfort in one of South Africa’s most tranquil settings. Internationally known as one of Africa’s leading country hotels, this gracious estate is situated on 560 hectares in the lush sub-tropical Letaba district of Limpopo.Nestled atop a ridge, the retreat offers dramatic panoramic views of the Letsitele Valley, and Drakensberg Mountain Range. This historic country retreat offers guests old world service and charm, rejuvenating spa treatments, award winning cuisine, and its famed on-site nougat factory. Warm distinctive service and elegant upmarket colonial decor are the hallmarks of this heritage property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coach House Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coach Hotel Tzaneen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coach House Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.