We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Big 5 viewing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Shiduli Private Game Lodge to your Saves list
Shiduli Private Game Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Big 5 viewing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

As part of our South Africa trip we were fortunate to spend 3 nights at the Shiduli Lodge. From arrival to departure we received personalized attention and an excellent service from all concerned. The lodge itself is charming and the rooms spacious and clean. However we were most impressed with our 6 game drives. Thanks to our driver and tracker we saw more wildlife than we had hope to see! Starting with Rhinos, Giraffes, Hippos and many different Antilopes, to a single Leopard and later a Cheeta mom with 2 babies, the family of Elephants walking by (approx. 25), Buffalos grazing, to a group of 7 Lions including a most beautiful male. Our driver Donald was very knowledgeable and always prepared to go the extra mile for us. What a success!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    21
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
24
63
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

As part of our tour package, we spent two nights at Shiduli, and looking back, this was our favorite part of the trip where we stayed in Johannesburg, here, Hazyview/Kruger Nat'l Park, and Cape Town. The lodge area has all the typical resort amenities and the service was quite good. Given that the property didn't seem all that big, it was nice to have the place (almost) all to our group. The real highlight here is the game drives, which Shiduli delivers in a way that seems more authentic than driving on paved roads in Kruger. True, the diversity of animals isn't as big given Karongwe Reserve's size, but they do an excellent job of giving you the safari experience you came to Africa to expect. In addition, the expertise and competence of the rangers and trackers were very impressive. Overall, high marks for a job well done to everyone who runs and works at the Shiduli lodge!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anzing
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The very best thing at Shiduli are the game drives which take place in the morning and in the late afternoon. Our ranger was Morris 2 and our tracker was Louis. They were great in finding the animals and explaining their habits. It was an extraordinary experience!!! Be sure to take some warm clothes as it is very cold at six in the morning!
Shiduli Lodge itself is very nice and welcoming, the rooms are small, but very nicely decorated, the bathrooms are very nice and big. Staff is very helpful and nice. The fireplace area, the garden with sitting places and the pool area are very nice. The only thing we did not like that much was the food. We are a little bit spoiled regarding meat and Shiduli does not serve fillets, but rather substantial dishes.
Overall we very much enjoyed our stay and take valuable memories.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Rooms nice size and clean with tea and coffee making; bathrooms very nice. Common space excellent with nice garden and pool and a troop of vervet monkeys to entertain us! Game drives were well organized and with lots of good animal sightings. Food mostly buffet style and generally good but not spectacular. Guide and tracker excellent and unfailingly helpful, tailoring the rides to find what individual clients wanted to see. Billed as having a waterhole which was a small concrete pool and I never saw an animal near it. Initially put off as the lodge is close to the road and one can hear traffic at night but really did not detract from the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have just returned from Shiduli after an 8 night stay and there is only one problem........coming home.

On arrival at the lodge we were met by Susanne and shown our rooms, the first part of being blown away, they are really good standard and if you find a problem report it and it is fixed pretty much within the hour.

I went as a package with SAGA but I have only just reached the age to delve into SAGA, I was there with like minded people who wanted to see and experience Game Drives, some have been before but for me this was the first time so I didn't really know what to expect. On the first game drive it is an early start, wake up call at 5.30am to leave at 6am and get into first light as soon as the wildlife starts to wander, the first day and we saw a close experience with Elephant, Rhino, Zebra and Impala. Our Ranger was a guy called Simon pronounced Simone, the tracker was Evans, we were given the ground rules about the drives and what to expect. As everyone does we all wanted to see the big Five but we understood that you can't make the animals appear on request and my advice would be to go with an open mind and aske to see everything that you can from the smallest to the biggest.

Simon is a mind full of information and not once was he asked a question that he couldn't reply to, he names any thing and everything and gives the history behind and the natures way of why life is like it is, he is passionate about what he does and every sighting that he gets is like his first.

During the week we saw over 30 animals including, Waterbuck, Buffalo, Wildebeest, Hyena, Civet, Leopard, Cheetah, Giraffe, Bushbaby, Black Backed Jakal, Pangolin, Lion to name a few.

We were able to walk with Cheetah, track Lions and Leopard to get good sightings and a great experience that you will never forget. Every spare monet we could we booked extra game drives and these were always available to us.

Consider the weather when you go as it can be cold in the early morning and last light in the months of May and June but you soon get warmed up.

Food is always varied but of good quality

Staff are very friendly and like to be a family, always with smiles on their face, at the end of each game drive you are welcomed back, there is plenty of time to relax during the day or optional excursions.

A breath taking experience that I can't wait to do again

Room Tip: www.shidulilodge.co.za book via agents
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Shidhuli Lodge was great! Our tracker Morris 1 was even better. When we went on our game drive we were able to get out of the jeep and track cheetahs on foot. I was scared at first, but it was worthwhile. Being a few feet way from the cheetahs was an experience I will never forget. My only complaint about Shidhuli was how cold the room was even after I turned on the room heater. I never want to experience that again. Brrrrr.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Stayed at Shiduli from 25 May 11 until 2 June 11. What a great holiday our Ranger Wessel and Tracker Evans were superb and made the holiday. All the staff were excellant and the ever smiling faces helped to make it a wonderful experiance. The food and service were top notch. The photography in Korongwe wes made all the better by Wessel and Evans. First morning out at 6am within 30 minutes we saw lions at a kill, I didn't think it could get any better, but it did. The only two pieces of advise I would give is (one) enjoy it and (two) if you go there in late April, May or June take some warm clothes. It is winter and early morning and late afternoon Game Drives can get a bit chilly, during the day it is very nice. All Best Wishes to all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shiduli Private Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shiduli Private Game Lodge

Address: Fringing the Big Five Karongwe Game Reserve, Tzaneen 1380, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Shiduli Private Game Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Shiduli Private Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shiduli Private Game Hotel Tzaneen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shiduli Private Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.