We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mum and I” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Walden Garden Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tzaneen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kings Walden Garden Manor
Save
You added Kings Walden Garden Manor to your Saves list
Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 14 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mum and I”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Over the hill, down old Coach road, left at the sign and right, straight after the turn.
This is the route I jogged the morning I discovered Kings.
It was a Sunday.
I specifically remember this because the whole world was still asleep at 8 o’clock and the hills around the Letsitele valley were misty eyed.
The name plate is discreetly planted next to a big old tree and as curiosity got the better of me, I ran down the dirt avenue. It went on for a while and then I started seeing agapanthus. The dirt changed to cobbles and I still couldn’t make out the entrance to the estate... Little did I know, I was already in it.
A wooden door opened up this very secret home and it’s garden, and as I passed through it I was in awe. Being a very keen gardener myself, I had such appreciation and admiration for the hard work and sweat that had probably gone into landscaping this beautiful piece of land. After returning later and having breakfast there I decided this was definitely where I would like to get married one day.

A few months later I booked a weekend and took Mum there.
Just her and I.
To catch up.
She’s always saying we never get enough time to talk.
She loved it.
Even asked for seconds on the Saturday-evening pudding.
We got slightly tipsy on the great wine and finally got round to having that chat we always postpone.

Perhaps it was the fresh mountain air, perhaps it was the garden and all the lady-figures that live there or perhaps it was just the time we spent together, but the weekend at Kings is one the weekends I’ll remember with Mum long after she’s passed on.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    16
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
27
71
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Best, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Unfortunately we stayed only one night in this wonderful place. Tranquil, luxury, super service, more than delicious breakfast and dinner. The views and the garden! An amazing paradise in a most outstanding environment! We hope to come back someday and stay longer when we visit South Africa again.

Room Tip: We had a room with view on the garden and the swimmingpool. It was very spacious, clean, quiet and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Palma del Condado, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

If you like South Africa, nature, tranquility, luxery, fine cuisine, friendly people, super service, many details in every sence, gardens, most beautiful mountain views, nice climate, wonderful rooms and bathrooms AND at a very REASONABLE PRICE, than KINGS WALDEN is a must. Thank you so much Steven and Sophie Jacobs.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The best, food was excelent, the rooms with fire place overlooking the garden where the best. 10 out off 10. Breakfast and dinner was to die for.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms overlooking the garden or swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We made a detour to King's Walden, based on an article I had enjoyed in a gardening magazine many years ago. From the moment we entered the front courtyard, we were entranced; the iconic bleached petrified tree, the expanse of lawn all framing 'THAT VIEW! We were capably shown our accommodation by Derek . The rooms and facilities are elegant and clean. A meander round the garden was magical. The vistas created by both Creator and gardener are amazing. Nothing is too pruned - resulting in a glorious tumbling of azaleas, iboza etc etc. Then to dinner , which was a wonderful choice of elegant dishes - this after a lovely platter of snacks with pre-dinner drinks. Steven is a genial host as well as the chef- and it's a lovely touch that he comes to the table to describe all the dishes before one makes ones choice. Breakfast was equally splendid -those tiny croissants are wicked!! We would love to return someday!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ranst
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We've chosen this lodge to unwind before we started our Safari in South Africa and what a beautiful place! Breathtaking garden and landscape views, very personal hospitality, superb rooms with a fireplace and what a chef! The food is a real indulgence on every level and if you're lucky to stay there you should definitely try the breakfast of the house!
Steven and Sophie you've done a very good job and thank you very much for the nice attention for my wife's birthday!
Top!

Best regards,
Ellen, Jan, Annemie, Jef.
(Belgium)

Room Tip: All rooms do have a stunning view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Very rarely I book extra nights although my business is done. Overhere I did, with great pleasure. The location is very much unique and the beautifull rooms, the garden and the history of the family and tree and surely the culinairy skills of chef/owner Steven, will make you stay longer than you planned. Fire place in the rooms, awesome views,
Surely I will be back and take my wife!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Walden Garden Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Walden Garden Manor

Address: Old Coach Road | Agatha, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful mountain views and a romantic garden provide a charming backdrop for six luxury rooms at Kings Walden Garden Manor. Rooms that are made for romance and relaxation. Stretch out on extra-length, king size beds, relax in front of the fire with fine wine, good music and great company. Our decor is inspired by clean, elegant lines with modern European undertones - warm and earthy, velvet and leather, cream and black - and our bathrooms are spacious and sexy. The ideal 2-night stopover !!! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Walden Garden Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.