We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place in Tzaneen scenery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Granny Dot's Country Spot

Granny Dot's Country Spot
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tzaneen
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Granny Dot's Country Spot
Save
You added Granny Dot's Country Spot to your Saves list
Farm Pigeonhole, AB29 I, Old Coach Road | Agatha District, Tzaneen, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Tzaneen B&B and Inns
Johannesburg
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Awesome place in Tzaneen scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Located approx 15km outside of Tzaneen with a wonderful view over the landscape. The owners (Richard and Joyce) are very friendly and hospitable. Dinner and breakfast excellent, nice little bar with good selection of drinks 2.5km to drive from the tar-road, on a downhill soil street. Not a problem for ordinary cars with normal ground clearance, but motorbikes must be careful, especially after rains (slippery) - we struggled with heavy bikes.

All in all in a wonderful experience and highly recommended.

.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mijdrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

This is a really nice place to stay on your way to Kruger Park. It is a little bit far from Tzaneen, in terms of road conditions, but totally worth it. The owners Richard and Joyce are so friendly and they immidiately make you feel at home. For a very nice price you can have diner there and listen to the stories in Richards own and cosy bar.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathrow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Granny Dot's is a charming house well away from the main road. Be prepared to go through a sand road with lots of potholes, but once there, Richard and Judith were charming hosts. We had not realised that we would be so far away from other places and had not booked a meal, we arrived just after 6 and when we asked if we could change our mind about having a meal we were told it was too late. There is a pub on the premises so were able to get a drink at least. The rooms were very spacey and comfortable, peaceful too. Breakfast was served while we took in the stunning view and watched the birds being fed.

Room Tip: Every room has a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

we enjoyed our stay it was very relaxing and must say has beautiful views but I should warn you get prepared to drive for a while on a sand road with loads of potholes

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Thank you Joyce and Richard for making our 31st wedding anniversary such a memorable occasion. The hospitality, food and company was first class.
Mandy and Richard Pope

Room Tip: Mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

A tastefully furnished house set in beautiful country with stunning views. What really sets it apart is the warm hospitality and friendliness of the hosts, Joyce and Richard. Joyce' breakfasts and dinners were delicious. Our two-night stay was an an absolute pleasure. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We wanted somewhere to stay on our way to Jo'burg having had a week in the Kruger National Park and should have booked more than one night! The farm track was ok for our 4x4 but take it easy because it's worth the bumps. Joyce and Richard are very welcoming and the bar was the best, as all the guests got together there before the wonderful evening meal. Take a beer mat from home to add to Richard's collection. The mountain views are spectacular especially as the sun comes up. We will be back to explore the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granny Dot's Country Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granny Dot's Country Spot

Address: Farm Pigeonhole, AB29 I, Old Coach Road | Agatha District, Tzaneen, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Tzaneen
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Granny Dots Country Spot is your home-away-from-home, situated in the beautiful Agatha countryside, with majestic views of the Wolkberg Mountain Range. Here, you can relax and unwind in a rustic, tranquil and tropical environment, whilst enjoying our abundant and prolific bird and animal life. Or you could just relax and read at our cozy fireplace or private swimming pool. We provide farm-style breakfasts and delicious, home-cooked dinners - served in our quaint dining area, and we also have a fully stocked bar. We offer self-catering options for large and small groups, and we are the ideal family destination. Granny Dots is ideally situated, just 15 minutes from Tzaneen central in an area that boasts an abundance of outdoor activities: canopy tours, mountain biking; horse riding; hiking trails; boat rides; nature walks; birding ... There is so much to see and do in this area. Granny Dots Country Spot is a mere hour's drive from the famed Kruger National Park and a stone's throw from the ancient Modjadji Cycad Forests. We are children- & pet-friendly too! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granny Dot's Country Spot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.