We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DON'T GO THERE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel & Village

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairview Hotel & Village to your Saves list
Fairview Hotel & Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Gravelotte Rd, P.O.Box 329 | Manorvlei Farm ext 8, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa (Formerly Fairview River Lodge)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tzaneen
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“DON'T GO THERE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Our room was dusty, old, stinky and very dark; a blade of the ceiling fan was broken, tap was also broken, during nights we had some bugs visits.
Absolutely not worthy its cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sir

We can only apologise to this review , if you could just lodge the complain when you booked in , we could have tried to see if we could upgrade you to a better unit which would have been more acceptable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    3
    3
    6
See reviews for
2
12
Solo
0
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Taoyuan, Taiwan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

We experienced true hospitality and good service at Fairview River Lodge. We were expected on arrival and our rooms were clean and well prepared. The food and service at the restaurant were excellent and it was convenient to go there. They arranged for me to use one of their conference rooms for a meeting and my business friends and I could even play a round of golf in our free time. I will definitely stay there again on my next trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bensheim
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed for one night in the Lodge. The staff was helpful and efficient and we really had a good time. The room was clean and the bathroom as well. Although it was midweek and not season, everything was to our satisfaction! We learned that the surroundings of Tzaneen are also very interesting. So we will come back - next time hopefully without rain!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

We arived early, before check in time, and were worried that we were going to be stranded for 2 hours until we could book in, however, receiption was very friendly and immediately organised us a room to unpack and relax. Then you will meet Sipho, a driver / buttler who was probably one of the friendliest and most hard working man I have ever met. He would still transport guests in the early hours of the morning, but be ready again to pick other guests up at 7 in the morning. You will then arrive at your car, already washed by Sipho.
The room was clean, complete with a airconditioner, lounge area, king size bed, shower, jacuzzi type bath and satelite T.V. The only downside however was that the water was of for about a hour. Lovely place to stay in a nice, quiet location and highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for the kind review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

The unit was VERY cold!!The toilet seat was broken. The towels were in a terrible state. We didn't have enough hot water for a bath or shower.No glasses for water in room.Only one blanket on the one bed and none on the other bed.The breakfast was pathetic.We were in the diningroom at 8.45 and some of the dishes were empty.The staff never replaced it with fresh meat or cheese. This can not be a 4star hotel??

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Madam

We apologise if you had an unpleasant stay at Fairview , we had improved immensely over the last few years , and could promise you a much better stay if you would like to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robertson
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We stayed 2 nights in a luxury suite at Fairview River Lodge Village and the room was 5 star. Spacious, comfortable, clean, huge bathroom, aircon, all amenities one can imagine. Just perfect and great value for money (the winter rate was a bargain). The restaurant however was disappointing - we only had dinner there the first night and didn't mind driving 15 km out of Tzaneen the second night to find a better place to eat (The 5 star Coach House hotel, to be recommended). The Fairview restaurant remembered us of the sad old days in Eastern Europe state hotels; that says it all about the atmosphere (absent) and the food (just not good enough). Unfortunately the breakfast, continental as well as cooked English, was organized in the same unpersonal and cold restaurant area. A pitty! Sitting under a thatched roof the African bush vibe should not be far away.
Tzaneen is a beautiful, green and probably still undiscovered part of the Limpopo province but it lacks the highlight activities of the Greater Kruger Park region, only 100 km away.
Tip for lunch: Yum Yum Deli at the edge of the town. Little Tuscany in Tzaneen.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sir / Madam

We apologise for your disappointment in our restaurant. We were battling with staff at that time, but can assure you that we are getting lots of reports lately with our restaurant and food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairview Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel & Village

Address: Old Gravelotte Rd, P.O.Box 329 | Manorvlei Farm ext 8, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa (Formerly Fairview River Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel & Village 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel and Village is situated only 1,2 km from Tzaneen Town CBD, on 26 ha of farmland , on the R71, on route to the world renown Kruger National Park’s main gate, and 98 km east of Polokwane. Fairview Hotel boasts various types of accommodation, hotel style units, suites and self catering chalets. Fairview Hotel is four star graded and the Village has 10 beautifully appointed suites which are five star graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. These 40 units are tastefully decorated in an Afro-colonial style. All rooms are supplied with all necessary amenities in bathrooms as well as a coffee and tea tray. DSTV is in all rooms and wireless internet can be accessed free of charge in public areas. Fairview offers conference facilities for up to 800 delegates, and five different venues make it possible for delegates to break away to various areas. Taylor made packages can be put together for delegates to suit their specific needs. Fairview also specializes in dream weddings, where prospective couples can be assisted in every way, from the ceremony in the stylish chapel, to an unforgettable reception in the stately Limpopo ballroom, and a complimentary night for the bride and groom in the Five Star Village at Fairview. Fairview also offers an a'la carte restaurant, tapas and wine bar, a par three golf course on the property, and for nature lovers, a stroll along the three kilometre river frontage- which will certainly make them come back for more… Fairview Hotel & Village is proud to announce the opening of their brand new Zen Spa and Rasul, where guests can relax and enjoy a wide variety of five star treatments . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairview Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.