We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Fairview Hotel & Village

Save Saved
You added Fairview Hotel & Village to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairview Hotel & Village
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Gravelotte Rd, P.O.Box 329 | Manorvlei Farm ext 8, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa (Formerly Fairview River Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tzaneen
Polokwane, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“What a joke.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Worst 5* expierence of my life,the aircon didnt work,the fridge was empty,you couldnt watch all the channels on the DSTV,there was a spotlight just outside our window making it impossible to sleep,the employees woke me at 05:00am with their screaming,not to mention the useless waiter that forgot our orders. I will never go back to this Hotel again,I am so disapointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sir / Madam , we apologise for your unsatisfactory stay , seeing that you are from our neighbouring town, we would anytime be willing to offer you a free nights accommodation to see if we can change your views about our establishment ! Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
1
10
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Top Contributor
197 reviews 197 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

The reviews of this hotel range from excellent to terrible but I told myself own experience counts and I was not disappointed. The 4* rooms are sufficiently spacious, the walk-in shower is great, the rooms are equipped with big TV screen and ceiling fan, for cold nights there is an open fireplace in the anteroom. Trees and bushes are everywhere, this ambiance contributes to having a relaxed time at this hotel. There is a 13 hole golf course directly adjacent to the hotel grounds. Meals at the restaurant tasted very good, and the breakfast offers enough for everybody. The bad side was that due to a thunderstorm 2 days before our arrival we stayed without internet for 3 days. The staff is friendly and helpful except when I asked for a wine opener, there was none in the bar, at the reception they couldn't help either, I wonder how they do open wine bottles which are closed by a cork. One of my colleagues complained about mosquitos but it was his own fault as he left the windows open after sunset. All in all I had a great time. One recommendation to the hotel: I would prefer the rooms without the carpets on top of the tiles, it might be colder in winter time but it is certainly cleaner.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011 via mobile

This was not a great stay - cold shower as the geyser tripped and I saw at least 3 cockroaches in what was suppose to be 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sir

We apologise for the inconvenience from the geyser that tripped, we could always arranged for you to be moved to another unit. Did you report the problem when you realise the water was cold ? and the cockroaches - we have a serious pest control plan in place, but unfortunately these guys always have a way to outsmart us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polokwane
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Marinda and Team
A room is a room is a room, a bed is a bed is a bed. What makes an establishment stand out from the rest is the service they give!!
Thank you very much for an amazing experience. Booking into your establishment was quick and easy for friendly and helpful staff (thanks Wynand). We were personally escorted by the manager on duty (again Wynand) to our rooms. We were introduced to Mike, that were on duty, at the amazing 5 star wing of the hotel. Mike was like the invisible man. He was there when ever you needed him without being in your face the whole time.
We experienced royal treatment in the restaurant (Thanks Jay). We loved your menu especially the fact that you indicated which wine would accompany a specific dish. The music in the background was smoothing. We loved the fact that you knew and understood the menu and could make suggestions.
Thank you for an outstanding experience.
Fred & Irma (and the rest of the team).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

My daughter and I were walk-in clients on the evening of the 26th of April. I was offered two options the “five star” accommodation and the “4-star” accommodation, both at outrageous prices (R1950 for the five-star). We paid R950 for one night for the supposed four-star. I was there was no walk-in rate. The woman at the front desk looked bored to tears, unable to smile, and was altogether unprofessional and unpleasant.

We were taken to a small, horrible room towards the top of the property (by a very kind and lovely man, Mike perhaps?). There were holes in the walls, disgusting and filthy wing back chairs with torn upholstery, neon lights, a shocking bathroom with apparent geyser and plumbing – the worst room I’ve seen in 19 years in South Africa. Being in the industry, I have seen hundreds of rooms.

After having indicated that we refused to stay in this room, we were moved to another larger room below the reception area. Just slightly better, but certainly not four star, and definitely not clean either. As it was late by this point (+/- 21h00) and we had been driving for hours, we had very little choice but to remain.

This property is truly disgraceful and a total rip-off.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tzaneen, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2011

Magnificent location next to a gentle river with nature at its most beautiful, we enjoyed a completely satisfying luxurious stay with genuine 5 Star quality in every aspect from the hugely impressive rooms to the absolutely devine restaurant. Valentine's Day could not have been any more special for my partner and me. The Village at Fairview is a serious must-stay location to any experienced traveller. 2 Thumbs up at everyone for making our stay as complete as it was!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Our room was dusty, old, stinky and very dark; a blade of the ceiling fan was broken, tap was also broken, during nights we had some bugs visits.
Absolutely not worthy its cost.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinda T, Public Relations Manager at Fairview Hotel & Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Sir

We can only apologise to this review , if you could just lodge the complain when you booked in , we could have tried to see if we could upgrade you to a better unit which would have been more acceptable for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairview Hotel & Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairview Hotel & Village

Address: Old Gravelotte Rd, P.O.Box 329 | Manorvlei Farm ext 8, Tzaneen 0850, South Africa (Formerly Fairview River Lodge)
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Tzaneen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 hotels in Tzaneen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairview Hotel & Village 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairview Hotel and Village is situated only 1,2 km from Tzaneen Town CBD, on 26 ha of farmland , on the R71, on route to the world renown Kruger National Park’s main gate, and 98 km east of Polokwane. Fairview Hotel boasts various types of accommodation, hotel style units, suites and self catering chalets. Fairview Hotel is four star graded and the Village has 10 beautifully appointed suites which are five star graded by the Tourism Grading Council of South Africa. These 40 units are tastefully decorated in an Afro-colonial style. All rooms are supplied with all necessary amenities in bathrooms as well as a coffee and tea tray. DSTV is in all rooms and wireless internet can be accessed free of charge in public areas. Fairview offers conference facilities for up to 800 delegates, and five different venues make it possible for delegates to break away to various areas. Taylor made packages can be put together for delegates to suit their specific needs. Fairview also specializes in dream weddings, where prospective couples can be assisted in every way, from the ceremony in the stylish chapel, to an unforgettable reception in the stately Limpopo ballroom, and a complimentary night for the bride and groom in the Five Star Village at Fairview. Fairview also offers an a'la carte restaurant, tapas and wine bar, a par three golf course on the property, and for nature lovers, a stroll along the three kilometre river frontage- which will certainly make them come back for more… Fairview Hotel & Village is proud to announce the opening of their brand new Zen Spa and Rasul, where guests can relax and enjoy a wide variety of five star treatments . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Fairview Hotel & Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairview Hotel & Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.