We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“baboons aproblem” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Thendele Hutted camp

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thendele Hutted camp
Save
You added Thendele Hutted camp to your Saves list
Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“baboons aproblem”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

what a great place , but please get rid of the baboons
why does everybody keep doors closed and sit inside \\
you can braai and sit outside for fear of baboons

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
30
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had a lovely stay at Thendele. The view from the chalets are fantastic and you really feel close to nature. There are no restaurants within walking distance but a small shop with the essentials. Watch out for baboons!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vryheid
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

The chalets are basic but well equipped with comfortable beds, a tv, lounge and a kitchen with everything you could want. The views from the upper camp are incredible. The staff are very friendly and helpful as I have found to be the standard at KZN Parks places. The hike up the gorge although long is a must do for its fantastic views. Lovely little swings and slide for toddlers. Great place to sit around the braai with friends, family and a bottle of wine enjoying the view.

Room Tip: The chalets at the Upper Camp have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We visit Thendele once a year. It is our favourite place to stay whilst in the Drakensberg.
The chalets are simple, parksboard accommodation, but they are clean and comfortable.
The views from the chalets are just breathtaking - in my opinion, there is no better place to be. It is situated right in the centre of the Amphitheatre and is the only holiday accommodation in the area. Although the kitchen is not equipped with the most fancy cutlery / crockery etc., it is enough to cook a simple meal, and i would highly recommend using the outside barbeque area whilst enjoying the views.
Each chalet has a super fireplace, which warms up the chalets perfectly, and makes this the perfect spot for a winter romantic getaway.
The Tugela Gorge walk, which you can do from the upper camp, is a gorgeous walk which is "out and back". If you do the whole walk, it will take you a good 5 hours, but it is very easy to turn around and go back at any point should you not be up to it.

Room Tip: The Upper Camp has better view than the Lower Camp, however both are gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011 via mobile

Spent two nights in upper camp. Cottage had everything one could want. Take your food and drink supplies up and have a great time! When you get home, watch "Zulu".

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Healesville, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

We visited the Drakensberg to get over the jet lag at the start of our trip and stayed at Thendele for three days. The chalets ("huts" does not do them justice) are very well equiped, comfortable and very aesthetic but more to the point they are right in the National Park in amongst the hills and mountains with fabulous views and great access to all the hiking trails. We had some very cold nights but you can buy firewood at the camp store so were toasty warm. A South African friend had recommended them to us and she was right.

Room Tip: The upper chalets have slightly better views (and cost a little more) although I'm not sure that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was probably the most expensive and most luxurious accommodation we have stayed in during our first holiday in South Africa. The chalet itself is spacey and has all the amenities one could wish for. The lounge/kitchen has a fire place and the French windows provided a beautiful view on the mountain range. When sitting outside we had a magnificent view of the Amphitheatre and birds would come close by in hope of a share of our food. (Please do not feed any wild animals.) The rest of the chalet consisted of a bathroom with a shower and a bath and a bedroom. We have been worried that it could be cold as it was winter and the huts relatively high up. However, an electric heater and lots of blankets kept us cosy and warm even in the bedroom. I think the price of the cottage is justified for a holiday stay in this privileged location but the weather can change and when Thendele is in the clouds one cannot enjoy the beautiful views.

Room Tip: It is probably best to get a chalet in the upper camp. Arguably, the views are better from there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thendele Hutted camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thendele Hutted camp

Address: Royal Natal National Park, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Number of rooms: 132
Also Known As:
Thendele Hutted Camp Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thendele Hutted camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.