We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montusi Mountain Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Montusi Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Montusi Mountain Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Essex
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

What a treat this was. It was a bit further that we wanted to drive on our first day in South Africa but it was well worth the effort. The lodges are scattered around a pristine site with a gorgeous view from almost every angle. The lodge had a bedroom lounge area and outside shaded seating area giving ample space.
A 3 night stay would mean you could ignore your car and just take walks around - a longer stay and you could explore more of the surrounding area. Bad weather would affect your stay but there was a tv in the your lodge and there were games in the lounge in the main building. Bad weather affects everywhere though so this shouldnt put anyone off visting this area which was truly lovely.
The food was wonderful.
The family owners make themselves available and are on site at all times and this enhanced the whole experience to make it one of the best places we have ever stayed

Room Tip: all lodges are be equally lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    36
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
110
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Lovley family apartment with large rooms, bathrooms etc. Unfortunately was raining for the one day we stayed otherwise would have enjoyed the local walks. Food good but kids didn't cope well with the typical SA fare. Very quiet so a day or two would be max time if have kids.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

On our way to this lodge we drove a whole day in heavy rainfall. When we arrived in this lodge and were greeted with a glass of port wine we were assigned and accompanied to our lodge.
After entering we were surprised by the cosy and spacey place ! Small kitchenette on the side, a sitting room with open fire place, a bedroom and a large bathroom with underfloor heating !!!
Since the rest of the day our programme was cancelled because of the heavy weather, we took the opportunity to use the hotel computer to transfer our pictures from the camera memory card tot our usb key and, since the room service prices are, for once, very acceptable, we ordered a bottle of vonkelwyn to our room that we enjoyed in front of our fireplace.
In the evening we were invited to the diner which was superb in taste and service !
The other morning, when we were awake and opened the curtains we had an amazing view on the amphitheater of the Drakensbergen.
This lodge is perfectly located to visit the beautiful Drakensbergen area and the complete staff did the most to make our stay very enjoyable. Wish we could have stayed longer to experience one of their suggested hiking excursions in this area. Thank you Montusi lodge for your hospitality !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

I was very excited to have booked a weekend away at Montusi, but was marginally disappointed when I left. I would reccommend couples wanting a quiet romantic getaway in the mountains...but not the place to take a baby. The leaflet in the rooms states that "most resorts do not accommodate children but here at Montusi we compromise", we had to eat in the dinning hall at certain times (which I totally understand), but as the place is so tranquil I felt uncomfortable every time our baby muttered...and found that I didn't totally relax.
That said, still a lovely place for a weekend of romance, very clean, gorgeous views, lovely big pool, great food and if you are wanting to put up your feet and relax, its the perfect place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The location of Montusi is breathtaking, we sincerely hope to return with friends to share the experience with them. We had a wonderful four night stay to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary and our thanks to all the staff for making this special for us.
The suite was very comfortable, bar, lounges and restaurant all very welcoming especially the log fires at breakfast and dinner. Afternoon tea and cake taken looking at the view, horseriding and walks with the guides all very special.

Montusi is obviously a very much loved establishment and it shows, it is comfortable and relaxing - go and enjoy this wonderful place.

Room Tip: Cannot fail to have a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Most of the comments are true if you read the other reviews. This is a remote place where you can sit out on your personal terrace, relax, sup a drink, watch and listen to the sunbirds in the bushes and watch the mountains (Amphitheatre) change colour. The family who own the property are normally on hand, extremely friendly (as are the staff) and it's a pleasure to chat with them at the bar before going into dinner.
I would say the food is good but not outstanding (we have had better in South Africa and Namibia) but maybe us Londoners are spoiled with Michelin star restaurants and it's a bit unfair to compare standards of food and presentation to a big city.
I would thoroughly recommend this lodge to anyone who loves nature, guided walks (free), relaxation and lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: number 14 is a lovely room with uninterrupted viw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
113 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

I can not fault Montusi- we thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days here. We had a one-bedroomed thatched bungalow which was extremely comfortable. The bedroom had huge windows so you could lie in bed and enjoy the amazing views over the Amphitheatre, which could also be enjoyed from our patio, and the lounge. That had a gas log fire, which was welcome for the chilly evenings. I appreciated the coffee and tea making area, with sink, and the jug of fresh milk left in the fridge.The bathroom was well appointed, with a large bath and excellent separate shower, and our hire car even had its own carport
The food was delicious, with a huge choice at breakfast, and beautifully presented evening meals.There was an excellent inexpensive wine menu too. Coffee and cakes in the lounge at 4pm were an added bonus, as were the free guided walks
You really need a car to get here- but it is worth the effort. Set in lovely countryside the views from all the rooms over the Amphitheatre were magical. We hope to be able to return

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montusi Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montusi Mountain Lodge

Address: Off D119 | Northern Drakensberg, uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park 3350, South Africa
Location: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in uKhahlamba-Drakensberg Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montusi Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montusi is a four-star, family-run lodge in the Northern Drakensberg World Heritage Site offering Space, Comfort and Peace in uncluttered, unpretentious luxury. Each free-standing suite enjoys stunning views of the Amphitheatre Mountain. Suites have one or two bedrooms, all en-suite with bath and walk-in shower, and lounge with patio, fireplace, fridge and tea/coffee facility.Imaginative gourmet cuisine makes for sumptuous dining.Activities: hiking, fishing, tennis, swimming, horse-riding, birding, mountain-bike and 4x4 trails (bring your wheels), relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Montusi Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montusi Mountain Hotel Ukhahlamba-Drakensberg Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montusi Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.