We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated completely” 2 of 5 stars
Review of DeStijl Gariep Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gariep Dam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DeStijl Gariep Hotel
Save
You added DeStijl Gariep Hotel to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Aasvoel Street | PO Box 20, Gariep Dam 9922, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gariep Dam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overrated completely”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Reception staff with booking incompetent, had to phone days later to confirm booking and ask for paperwork. Rooms unsuitable for small children with high floor to celing windows and no bath and very slippery floors. Waiter cannot write nor knows menu and got bill completely wrong ... twice. No towels for pool as they run out after a couple of guests. Battles to retrieve paperwork re payments. All in all not my best experience. Menu is also totally iverpriced for what you get in comparison to orher 4 star establishments.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    18
    9
    3
See reviews for
27
30
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Second time I stayed overnight at this hotel. Had two rooms for my family of five - more than enough space as all rooms have twin Queen size beds - had a fantastic view over the Gariep Dam. Dinner is served from 18h00 and although not a big menu the food is great. Will recommend this hotel to anyone and have so before.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant serves the best meal and service is excellent. Though the rooms needs more improvements they have spectecular view of the Gariep dam. Very peaceful and tranquil. Would come back at any time.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

On our way back from the Eastern Cape we once again stayed over here, although it was a quiet
night we watched the rugby tests in the lounge and our meal and wine was good value , Still a great place to stay over and the view is to die for

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gariep Dam, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Wow..the views,the room (de hoop suite) the facilities ..spectacular! And suitable to land a Heli

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Modern Room with balcony and spectacular views over the Gariep Dam. We were very tired after being in the car all day and decided to order room service. We were able to order anything on the restaurant menu and the restaurant manager and waiter brought it to our room. Attention to detail was obvious. Asked if we could order breakfast in bed - no problem. Very friendly and so was the lady at reception. The next morning we decided to go to the restaurant and the ambiance was beautiful. The lady waiter was not very friendly and after I told her so, she changed her attitude. Breakfast is not a set price, but paid for each item ordered individually which came to be ridicously highly priced for breakfast. Having said that, we will definitly return just for the view!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed overnight in the apartment on the way from CT - JHB. Perfect accommodation and wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of the pool and explore the area more. Awesome views of lake and stars at night from the balcony. Few hiccups with room reservation (tried to book apartment on web but wasn't an option so did it via confirmed email - but instead a room was booked for us on arrival - luckily one was available and sorted out no problem.) I also requested a cot with initial reservation but this wasn't on initial form at check-in but again was sorted quickly. Had room service which was excellent as was the lovely breakfast from the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to DeStijl Gariep Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeStijl Gariep Hotel

Address: 2 Aasvoel Street | PO Box 20, Gariep Dam 9922, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Free State > Gariep Dam
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gariep Dam
Hotel Class:4 star — DeStijl Gariep Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DeStijl Gariep Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.