We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JBay uber-view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Perfection Jeffreys Bay

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jeffreys Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
African Perfection Jeffreys Bay
Save
You added African Perfection Jeffreys Bay to your Saves list
20 Pepper Street | "Supertubes", Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Book your spot!
Ranked #1 of 41 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“JBay uber-view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

It may just be me...but I do not get the attraction of JBay (but then again...I don't surf), BUT: African Perfection is a great and very affordable accommodation option literally on the beach.

Ocean front rooms have spectacular wrap around panoramic ocean views with easy access to the beach. This bad boy is THE primo super tubes location.

Rooms are spacious, comfortable and well appointed. The lodge is nice, warm restaurant and great staff.

We booked for two nights and would have stayed...but (I'm gonna say this) I just thought JBay itself is a dump! It's just not a scenic, 'nice' place...we checked out early and moved on. (nothing to do with the accom)

BUT that said, for those who do surf or otherwise want to visit the town, African Perfection is a top choice.

Room Tip: MUST get an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    26
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
101
18
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Stayed for 1 night in a beachfront room and it really is literally overlooking Supertubes. Watched surfers right from the bed!! Perfectly clean, perfectly furnished, perfect service, perfect food and perfect setting- what more can I say!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasane, Botswana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

To experience a great holiday whatever one has planned for, the main essentials required is a good location, a comfortable, clean bed, great food, value for money and great hosts. African Perfection superceded all expectations. Host, Manageress Sally Waterworth made sure no need was neglected making sure that the hospitality offered and the room provided for the nights stay was of African PERFECTION standards.
Rooms fulfilled every whim and want and what more can be said than to be on the waters' edge right at Super-Tubes, the surf spot of note. It really is most comfortable and value for money. Rooms are eloquently appointed and most comfortable. As per location, a quiet cul de sac with waves lapping at your door. Jefereys Bay as a town has everything on offer, from great restuarants to malls and even a respectable gym. It feels safe and always a good place for a function. African Perfection --- great place with great hosts. Try it --- no regrets!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We stayed in J Bay for just one night, but still enjoyed the cozy and spacious room and the brilliant view. We got upgraded to 1st floor with a balcony overlooking the ocean. In the morning we saw dolphins jumping in the waves. We were very upset to leave J Bay and will definitely come back some day.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

We spend three nights in the greatest B&B we ever visited. The room was amazing with a beautiful view over the beach and the sea ( we could see dolphins swimming in the sea, while we were lying in bed). The room was very big, clean, nice, the bathroom was absolutely great and the staff so friendly and helpful. If you ever visit Jeffrey's Bay: you should really stay at African Perfection!!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Gilles les bains
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

Perfect location
Perfect Service
This hotel is just brilliant, many thanks to Jacky for her help. I did try both (hotel & Cattering house) I was verry happy with both of them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, Staffs, Uk
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

What a view - We only stayed for one night as we used Jeffreys Bay as a stop off, but we could have looked at the view for ever.

We were given a room in the Self catering section, and could have had the run of the whole place, with a huge modern kitchen, large comfortable lounge with massive flat screen TV, DVD's etc... but nothing could compete with sitting on the balcony watching the supertubes. This builing would be fantastic for a whole family to take over for a holiday!

The bed was huge and very comfortable, the massive window had curtains and a blackout blind, there was a fridge, large cupboards chairs and big powerful shower in the small bathroom. The only thing we didn't like was the louvre doors into the bathroom, apart from that it was perfect and very spacious.

If you are a surfer there's an shower in the 'wet room', where you can store boards and there are frames for 'waxing' your board.

Breakfast was the worst we had the whole trip, but it was good value to stay here and I loved being able to get onto the beach so quickly and easily, where there were fabulous shells washed up onto the shore line.

We are not surfers, but watching them made you wish you could!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Perfection Jeffreys Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Perfection Jeffreys Bay

Address: 20 Pepper Street | "Supertubes", Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For views second to none, guests from all over the world choose to stay at African Perfection. African Perfection 1 is purely Bed & Breakfast. This classically styled guesthouse offers eight en-suite rooms, individually decorated with a distinct and celebrated African sentiment. Breakfast that guests can't stop talking about at our restaurant is included daily from 7:30 - 11am. Whilst a delicious full breakfast is included at our restaurant, the self-catering facilities at African Perfection 2 combines luxury beach accommodation and the comforts of home. A shared modern kitchen, comfortable lounge, indigenous garden and braai-facilities all make this house well suited for long stay guests. All suites are serviced daily by our friendly staff and laundry services are offered. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Perfection Jeffreys Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.