We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give them a visit ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes to your Saves list
Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes
31 Flame Crescent | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Give them a visit ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Really a wonderful place everything is state of the art. Breakfast a la carte and very nice hosts. With two minute way to a beautiful beach. We regret that we only stayed one night, best accommodation on our garden route til now

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
51
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best week of my life ,staying at Shaloha guesthouse,right on super tubes.watch the waves peel past you at breakfast,
The owners are super cool ,and the accommodation is 5 star ,what a treat to stay
here,can't wait to go back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at the Shaloha Guesthouse in Jeffreys Bay during August 2013 and really enjoyed my stay. The property itself is magnificent in design, scale and location (right on front line at supertubes) and has been decorated in good taste.
Our hosts Ross and Zandra were a treat - helpful and friendly without being obtrusive, and the kitchen/cleaning staff were also very pleasant.
The rooms were great - nice size, comfy beds, nice bathrooms etc.
Probably the highlight was the tasty breakfasts (choice of 5 cooked) served on the front patio each morning to eat at leisure while watching the waves roll by.
I can whole-heartedly recommend this place to anyone visiting Jeffrey's Bay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on first floor on sea side of house, the views are amazing and there is a separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Shaloha in May 2013 and it has just been a dream from the start till the end. The house is fantastically located, overlooking the bay, just off Supertubes. From the large deck upstairs you can spend hours, watching some amazing surfers flying over beautiful waves, could never get bored. The house is huge and very tastefully decorated, very well equipped, with a large kitchen and a second small one, and 2 lounges at your disposal. But Shaloha is not just that, it really has a saoul. Zandra and Ross welcomed us so warmly, so kindly, they are so enthousiastic aboutJBay, and about surf, it was just great to stay by them. Zandra gave us many useful hints for restaurants, shops, things to do in the area, always made sure we were all fine, and Ross really helped the surfers among us to enjoy this legendary spot. When Ross is not surfing the waves, he is painting them pretty well too. In our room was a fantastic XXLseater, deep and as comfortable as a nest, highly appreciated by the non-surfers to relax in. Our kids (2 teens, 1 kid) were warmly welcomed and pampered as well. The breakfast is to dye for, lot of choice, very fresh, outstanding decadent hot breakfast options, Nicky's omelette, pancakes, cakes, fresh fruit salad, kindness and smile will never be forgotten. We really felt home, welcomed by family or, even better, by very good old friends... All of us were so sad to leave, and since then, dream to come back one day.
Thanks a mill to Zandra, Ross, and their team, Bravo Shaloha !

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful stay for 9nts in May...location was ideal, surf was really fun and uncrowded, and especially hats off to Ross and Zandra and their staff who provided all kinds of tips to where to eat dinner, game parks, you name it! We felt like part of their family by the end of the trip! I can't wait to return and surf Supertubes again with Ross. We stayed in the Milkwood room, which had a balcony overlooking the Supertubes takeoff zone, so for you surfers, this is the ideal spot to stay. And your wife or significant other will feel at home in the luxury digs. Shaloha provides possibly the best value for your $$ you can possibly find for a vacation, due to the strength of the dollar vs. the Rand. Just an ideal setup!!!

Room Tip: pick either the Milkwood or Oceanic rooms, which are on the upper floors with ocean view, and you wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
122 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three nights in the Ocean Milkwood suite at a cost of Z1600 per night. The room itself is absolutely stunning with doors which open out onto a balcony with sun loungers and panoramic views of the ocean. The furniture and linens are of a high standard and there is a free standing bath in the room as well as a separate ensuite shower and toilet. The hosts Zandra and Ross were very helpful when we saw them and offered great suggestions for our time in JBay and beyond. The beach is a very short walk and there are also shops and a nice restaurant in safe walking distance.
For us there were just a few things which prevented this place from being 5* excellent. Firstly, breakfast whilst plentiful was not of the best standard - I ordered poached eggs which were hugely overcooked to the point of being inedible and the fresh options on offer were rather limited. With so many of the delis and cafes in JBay offering good healthy options, it's a shame Shaloha couldn't do the same. Secondly the housekeeping ladies kept wanting to service our room directly after breakfast which is when we were getting ready to go out - on the first day we also had to call them back twice as the minibar had not been replenished, towels had not been replaced and tea and coffee had not been replenished. What would definitely help is if Ross and/or Zandra were about at breakfast time just to help with any issues like this. Finally, the wifi is painfully slow even though we were the only guests staying.
Overall, this is still a great place to stay but it could be amazing with just a little more attention to detail.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We recently spent 1 night with Ross and Zandra at the Shaloha Guesthouse on our way down the Garden Route. The house is in a magical location right on the beach, you literally walk down 10 metres to the beach where you can collect shells, surf, relax and go for a wonderful walk!
The view from our room on the lower level was great and you can lie in bed and see the water!
The customer service was excellent, lovely people who are are sharing their passion for Jeffreys Bay with their guests!
Ross an Zandra recommended Kitchen Windows restaurant where we had an excellent meal, together with In Food, great coffee !
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and only regret was that we could not stay longer to enjoy Shaloha and Jeffreys Bay more!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes

Address: 31 Flame Crescent | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tranquil, private and spacious, this immaculate boutique guesthouse is designed to inspire. Throw in unparalleled views of Supertubes and the bay of Jeffrey’s from newly designed luxury suites and you get what we like to call “paradise”. We are situated on a prime location at Supertubes, where the Billabong Pro international surfing contest is held annually.Shaloha offers 5 luxury en-suite rooms with unbeatable views of Supertubes and the breathtaking Jeffreys Bay coastline. A delectable breakfast is served each morning over-looking the Indian ocean.Just a stone’s throw from the water’s edge, gaze upon schools of dolphins or even catch a glimpse of the infamous Southern Right Whale. Take a walk on the pristine, shell strewn beach or soak in a free standing bath while watching the surfers fly down the line. Come and replenish your soul with the spirit of ‘aloha’ in Jeffreys Bay. As your hosts we strive to understand and cater for all your needs so that your stay with us will be an unforgettable one. “ALOHA” ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shaloha Guesthouse on Supertubes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.