We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments to your Saves list
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 41 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The suite was spacious, comfortable and spotless, the bed and linen excellent.
Staff were attentive and helpful.
Hope we have the opportunity to visit again in the future!
Excellent guest house, would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    31
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
78
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Klagenfurt
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Luxurious and spacious apartment, three minutes to next beautiful beach. Altought it is not directly at the beach one has a very good seaview. You need a car, it takes five minutes to Hermanus Center.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanderbijlpark
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We enjoyed our stay especially Tshepo. He is an excellent host and was always there when we needed him - thank you Tshepo. The breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed it very much - and thank you for giving us the room in april as we could not have our holiday in december due to a breaking.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston Upon Thames
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We're a family of four that stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment here. It's location is 3 minutes out of town (which is a plus in my opinion) right on the glorious beach. Unfortunately we had a side sea view apartment (full sea views were booked up) but it was clean comfortable and fitted to a high standard with high quality bed, linens and furnishings.

Apart from the spectacular setting right on the beach, what really made this place stand out was the communal lounge on the first floor, with deep comfy sofas and floor to ceiling windows with incredible views and a outdoor verandah. An impressively stocked honesty bar, board games and books made spending lots of time here very easy and created the perfect holiday vibe.

Final mention to the main guy who was on hand to deal with arrival, departure and everything in between, nothing was too much trouble.
Would stay here for sure again if we return to JBay.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Please take note that the shower does not work correctly... we could not balance the cold & hot water to a suitable temp... they need to take a shower themselves to experience the problem - and the water drainage is also very slow..

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed one night on a two week Cape road trip

Booked the penthouse suite and well worth the extra money. Beautiful big room, tastefully furnished with spectacular 180 degree ocean views.

The lounge / breakfast room share the same vista and we enjoyed a very tasty well cooked breakfast.

Manager Tshepo was very welcoming and helpful at all times.

Only downside was patchy wifi but we found this an issue in most guesthouses on our trip and is I suspect a supplier issue.

Overall this was our favourite guesthouse on our trip and would highly recommend it. If the Penthouse suite is available, treat yourself....you won't regret it!!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

We stayed here over a wedding weekend at rather short notice! We stayed in the Penthouse room which was amazing, big comfy bed, huge bath, double shower and vanity, amazing panoramic ocean views!
We loved the fact that it felt like a home away from home, and you don't have that B&B feeling where you feel like you are staying in someones house which we loved!
Breakfast was lovely, hotel is nice and small so not too many people around ! We'll definitely be back when next in J - Bay!

Room Tip: Top floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments

Address: 32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Beach Guesthouse provides a luxurious atmosphere in which to relax and rejuvenate. Located only 50 minutes away from the Port Elizabeth International Airport on the sun-drenched shores of the beautiful Eastern Cape, On the Beach Guesthouse’s sculpted gardens, winding down to the beach, provide an oasis of space and tranquility in the heart of South Africa’s world famous surfing paradise. The accommodation features 6 Superior Ocean Suites and 2 Classic Standard rooms in the guesthouse that invites you to immerse yourself in the comfort of one of the world's most vibrant cultures. The Superior Ocean Suites are also designed with comfort and elegance in mind with understated decor and bathrooms boasting contemporary amenities. Most Suites have direct beach access and breathtaking ocean views. Superior Ocean Suites are equipped with air conditioning or under-floor heating, flat-screen LCD TV with DSTV, hairdryer, electronic safe, hospitality tray as well as Internet access. The 2 perfectly appointed apartments are ideal for families who want to spend their vacation right on the beach with spectacular views, the recently renovated apartments with two spacious bedrooms, separate dining and living room, replete with amenities, including a LCD TV, and a fully equipped kitchen. Exclusive with its own private entrance, the whole family will love the breezy lounge overlooking the Magna Tubes and Secrets surf breaks. Revelling in the splendour of its location, the upstairs lounges, bar, dining area and balcony is a celebration of the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean which makes for a picture perfect setting. The soothing sound of the rolling waves soon becomes a constant reminder of exactly where one has come to unwind and rejuvenate. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature. Enjoy a traditional South African braai on the beach or in our beautifully manicured indigenous gardens. Allow us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.