We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments to your Saves list
On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 40 Jeffreys Bay B&B and Inns
Cape Town
1 review
“Unbelievable!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

I recently spent 3 nights at On The Beach Guesthouse and was blown away! The suite was spectacular, the view breathtaking and the experience as a whole... magical... Every morning we were greeted with a beautiful breakfast served with big smiles in the dinning area overlooking the magnificent ocean and one of the worlds number one surf spots in the world, Supertubes. everyday spent at the guesthouse was like 10 days in the real world! We left feeling refreshed and relaxed... the way you should after a holiday!

Thank you to everyone at On The Beach for a wonderful experience and you will no doubt be seeing me again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Hi AndrewB, thank you for your wonderful review, we are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us so much, you were super guests and we loved every second of you being here!
We do hope that we will have the pleasure of hosting you again at On the Beach Guesthouse in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    26
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
64
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Nice guest house, great location overlooking the beach, but fairly overpriced compared to other South African accommodation. The guest house also claims to be within walking distance of the town centre and it really is not (and we like a walk)!!! Our room was nicely decorated and appointed, however the shower flooded the bathroom and made the tiled floor quite dangerous. It was hard to work out why as there was a glass partition.

There is not much to do in J-Bay unless the weather is good and you want to try a bit of surfing or body boarding so we were glad it was only a stop-over. Would recommend ‘The Mexican’ restaurant in town – great food, reasonable price and lovely staff. You will have to drive though.

Highlight – breakfast. Definitely the best breakfast we had in our 3 weeks in South Africa! It was so nice to have a a la carte menu for breakfast rather than a buffet. Go for the French toasts with maple syrup, bacon and roasted bananas.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 26, 2011
Thank you for your review and for staying at On the Beach Guesthouse, we apreciate your feedback.

Town centre is only a 900m walk from the guesthouse and a stunning walk along the beach or the main road, also there are other restaurants, shops and supermarkets within close walking range of less than 500m from the guesthouse.

Thank you for informing us of the problem you had with the shower, we have rectified this problem, and apologize for your inconvenience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in Jeffrey's Bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

On the Beach is a comfortable and relaxed spot with wonderful, warm people. The guesthouse has incredibly scenic and aesthetically amazing room and property replete with a manicured garden onto the beach.

The location is great - just out of the hustle and bustle but within walking distance from the main beach and attractions. There is secure parking on site (the only area without a view!).
This is a fantastic option in Jeffreys Bay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are absolutely beautiful, the ground floor units have private patios onto the beach (u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, Front Office Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for once again a wonderful review on Tripadvisor, it was a great pleasure to welcome you back in Jeffrey's Bay at On the Beach Guesthouse. We were so excited to have you stay in our newly renovated Penthouse Suite and look forward to welcoming you back again in the new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Yes it is what it says "On The Beach" with lovely views, when you get the room with a view ! We booked through our travel agent and were showed to a room which had a large wall only a metre or so outside the sliding door. This made the room very dark and dreary and we asked for a different room. We were upgraded to a room with beautiful views (not a very large room) at an added charge, which we thought was a bit harsh. The breakfast was very nice and the staff were lovely. Wi-fi not great though ! Cork, Ireland

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Thank you for staying at On the Beach Guesthouse, it was our pleasure to host you!

It is unfortunate that your Travel Agent had booked you a Standard Room with no ocean views, as this was not what you had expected. Fortunately we were able to upgrade you with a 10% discounted rate to the last available Superior Ocean Room with breathtaking ocean views for the full duration of your stay.

We hope to welcome you in Jeffrey's Bay again soon and we trust that you will be sure to book one of our beautiful Superior Ocean Rooms in the future.

Kind Regards,

The On the Beach Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in November, which is in the pre-season, so the beaches were empty. The room was really nice and the service was great.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matilda13, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 5, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, we apreciate your feedback and really enjoyed hosting you during your stay with us and we hope to have you back in Jeffrey's Bay again soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermanus, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

On the Beach Guesthouse boasted with a slogan when we made our reservation... " a place where luxury and relaxation have found the perfect home..." Whith this said this boutique hotel exceeded all our expectation and no photo could do this absolutely perfect place any justice!!!

Our stay at On the Beach was perfect to the point, the staff, the owners, management, the rooms are to die for, the view is magnificent and with all this said I am speechless. Thank you for making our stay at On the Beach Guesthouse such an amazing experience, we will be back and we will recomend this to every person we meet. For those of you who cant decide what hotel to book... THIS IS THE ONE!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for your review, we had a great time hosting you on your very romantic getaway and wish you all the luck for a wonderful future together! We hope that we will see you again soon for a even more romantic honeymoon... !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

The On the Beach Guesthouse is the most lovely bed and breakfast hotel on the Garden Route. We had a room with view straight on to the beach which is about 20 m away and so nice to look at and to hear the wind and the waves while your in bed. The room was awesome, so nice and clean, very individually furnished and with everything we needed. We also got a safety key: when you re having a problem with something or someone, you press the key and someone will come right away to look after you, though it was a safe area and we didn t really feel unsafe.
Breakfast was great and also in a room with stunning views. All in all we really really liked it, though we have to say that Jeffreys Bay is not a really nice place apart from the beaches which are great.

Room Tip: Definitly ask for the rooms that face the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OntheBeachJbay, General Manager at On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Thank you for a wonderful review, are are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us!!! We had a very pleasant experience hosting you and look forward to welcoming you at On the Beach Guesthouse again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments

Address: 32 Waterkant Street | Wavecrest, Jeffreys Bay 6330, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the Beach Guesthouse provides a luxurious atmosphere in which to relax and rejuvenate. Located only 50 minutes away from the Port Elizabeth International Airport on the sun-drenched shores of the beautiful Eastern Cape, On the Beach Guesthouse’s sculpted gardens, winding down to the beach, provide an oasis of space and tranquility in the heart of South Africa’s world famous surfing paradise. The accommodation features 6 Superior Ocean Suites and 2 Classic Standard rooms in the guesthouse that invites you to immerse yourself in the comfort of one of the world's most vibrant cultures. The Superior Ocean Suites are also designed with comfort and elegance in mind with understated decor and bathrooms boasting contemporary amenities. Most Suites have direct beach access and breathtaking ocean views. Superior Ocean Suites are equipped with air conditioning or under-floor heating, flat-screen LCD TV with DSTV, hairdryer, electronic safe, hospitality tray as well as Internet access. The 2 perfectly appointed apartments are ideal for families who want to spend their vacation right on the beach with spectacular views, the recently renovated apartments with two spacious bedrooms, separate dining and living room, replete with amenities, including a LCD TV, and a fully equipped kitchen. Exclusive with its own private entrance, the whole family will love the breezy lounge overlooking the Magna Tubes and Secrets surf breaks. Revelling in the splendour of its location, the upstairs lounges, bar, dining area and balcony is a celebration of the magnificent backdrop of the Indian Ocean which makes for a picture perfect setting. The soothing sound of the rolling waves soon becomes a constant reminder of exactly where one has come to unwind and rejuvenate. Watch dolphins and surfers share the same waves and experience luxury in harmony with nature. Enjoy a traditional South African braai on the beach or in our beautifully manicured indigenous gardens. Allow us to share our warm hospitality and world class service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage On the Beach Guesthouse, B&B, Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.