We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ubuntu Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ubuntu Backpackers to your Saves list
Ubuntu Backpackers
8 Cherry Street, Jeffreys Bay 6880, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Home Away From Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent one night in this amazing place. The owner Derryn is amazing, they show you a tour around the places and there are many things that can be done under that one roof. They serve breakfast in the morning and some nights they cook a meal (that we missed out on unfortunately) If you are a surfer its ideal as it is so close to the beach so you can check out the waves before you go out. There are books to read as well as a dvd's and a projector to watch them off. It is so cosy and there are hammocks to lay on outside. There is a bar with ciders and beers, which we loved. I am definitely coming back and I recommend it to everyone i know.

Room Tip: Since there were two of us, we chose to stay in a double room with a double bed. The bed was comfort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
19
22
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Really cool surf hostel located 5 minutes from the surf. The people running the house are extremely friendly and laid back. The house has a great outdoor area with a gazebo and swing on the porch. The house is multi story, there is a great chill out room on the top floor with a pool table and tele playing surf videos. The house has a kitchen were you can cook up your own food and surf board rental. Amazing place to hang out, lots of fun people, really cool vibe. I could live at that place!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stay here every time we come to south Africa. Even plan to come just because of Ubuntu! The staff are amazing, will cater to every need you have and will sort anything out for you be it the best places to go, things to do, or people to meet. The house is spotless and amazingly decorated. This is the only place I feel at home and the only hostel I dread leaving. Everyone is too nice! Party or chill, you have it all here. Couldnt recommend it more, the best in SA. :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is a really special place run by really special people. When you arrive, you meet a bunch of hostel staff. Within hours, you have a bunch of great new friends. Everyone that works there is so friendly and every single one of them makes it their full on responsibility to ensure you have a good time while you're there. And they really take this responsibility to heart. If you want to party hard, then you party hard. Or if you want a more relaxed vibe and a good nights sleep, then they make that work too. I think they'd be genuinely upset if you weren't fully happy with your stay. They really are Legends.

Room Tip: If you're a couple, get yourself in the Supers Double. But generally, if you let the guys know w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

This welcoming back packers offers clean accommodation and the choice of a small party or peach and quiet by offering separate entertainment areas to suit your requirements.

Excellent location wise for beach shops and walks.

Lovely staff!

Room Tip: The double rooms are obviously better than dorms but dorms have secure lock up cupboards to use
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Wow, I have stayed at Ubuntu many times on my trips via Jefferys Bay and love it :)

The rooms are spotless, the service impeccable and the location couldn't be better, just minutes walk from one of the best surf breaks in the world.
Daryn and his staff are supa friendly and enthusiastic to please, their helpful manner and positive approach to hospitality is truly welcoming.
I look forward to every stay at Ubuntu and never leave feeling less than stoked.
These guys rock...

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

I had never stayed in a backpackers before but have to say I really enjoyed the experience. The room was spotless and the facilities excellent. The atmosphere throughout is exciting. You may arrive as strangers but will leave as friends. Darren the owner and all the staff are fantastic and ensure that you fit in and meet everyone. The braais are awesome with views of the sea from the braai deck and the service is great. Apparantly the surf at Supertubes is good too.
Try and be there on a Sunday morning to enjoy Toby's fresh bread.

Room Tip: Downstairs double room was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ubuntu Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ubuntu Backpackers

Address: 8 Cherry Street, Jeffreys Bay 6880, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Jeffreys Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Jeffreys Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ubuntu Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubuntu Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.