We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just when we thought we could only find fresh elephant poo, we were surrounded by elephants” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addo Elephant National Park

Addo Elephant National Park
Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
+27 (0) 42 233 8600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$567*
and up
5-Day Garden Route Adventure Tour: Addo National...
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Singapore
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just when we thought we could only find fresh elephant poo, we were surrounded by elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We can drive through and not have to take the game reserve vehicle. At the entrance, a signage warned that dung beetles have the right of way (which was awesome!), we were also greeted with signs of 'beware of lions, exit vehicle at own risk' in some spots but we are not to leave out vehicle in most places. Warthogs galore, kudus, red hartebeest. Very soon, we got tired to seeing the zebras as well. The elephants were right next to our car. Also spotted franklin, vervet monkeys, buffaloes, meerkats. An amazing day trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    479
    196
    34
    10
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Get your dose of elephants here.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I'm really not sure how many times we have visited Addo over the last fifteen years but this last trip was absolutely amazing. Each visit we are pleasantly surprised how many more animals there are, apart from the ellies. However, one afternoon we had the most wonderful experience at Hapoor waterhole. It was if someone had put a notice around the park that there was a meeting at Hapoor at 2.00 pm - the elephants came from every direction! There were the elderly bulls, the bachelor herds and the matriarchs, mothers and babies. In the space of about 30/45 minutes we must have seen between 250/300 elephants variously drinking and splashing in the muddy water. A wonderful close up experience, never to be forgotten.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Elephants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We took a guided game drive, could have gone in our own vehicle, but would have missed quite a lot. The park was quite busy near the gate and the concession area, much less crowded in the interior.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Elephants galore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

If you want to have an experience up close with an elephant this is the place to go. What an amazing experience. You can take as long as you like and at one time our car was surrounded by a herd of around 20 elephants. It was awesome.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Efficiency not the name of this game!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I have visited the Alexandria State Forest on numerous occasions; at times to complete the two-day hiking trail and on other occasions to spend a night or two in the lovely huts in the forest. The trail is demanding, yet passes through a wonderful variety of biomes and is well worth the effort. For a relaxed day or two, the huts in the forest are magnificent.

Bookings are made through the Matyolweni offices of Addo National Park.

Without fail, for the last four visits I have had issues with the booking and/or conservation fees on arrival at the Alexandria Forest section. It seems that they have no authority to make any decisions for themselves, are not linked to the SANParks website, and have to phone Matyolweni for advice/decision making/queries and so on. Each time the outcome has not been favourable; in fact, were the area not so beautiful, I would definitely not return.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addo Elephant National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.