We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addo Elephant National Park

Addo Elephant National Park
Addo Elephant National Park, South Africa
+27 (0) 42 233 8600
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$567*
and up
5-Day Garden Route Adventure Tour: Addo National...
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Karlshamn, Sweden
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We did a self drive in the park and saw many kinds of animals: elephant, zebra, suricate, jackal, kudu, eland and so on, even though it was very, very hot. You pay a day entrance fee and can leave and enter the park how many times you want that day. There is a small gas station when you enter, if you are in desperate need of gas.

It's easy to drive, just follow the map and keep a low speed. Stop and take a look at the board on your way in so you can see where animals were spotted recently. We had a small Hyundai rental car and it worked just fine, no need at all for a bigger or more powerful car.

This was one of the highlights of our South Africa trip. A memory for life, no doubt.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    475
    194
    33
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lots of Elephants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went on a sunset game drive at Addo, wow we saw so many Elephants, and very close too. You can take self drive's through the park aswell, which we will definitely do next time we there. We saw so many things, including lions. We had a pic nic at the water hole where 3 or 4 zebra's were just looking at these crazy bunch of people, but they didn't do anything. Would love to spend the night there. Their restaurant and food was awesome aswell. Very good experience!!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didim, Turkey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Mind blowing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights in a "Rondeval" which, overlooking a waterhole, was absolutely perfect. Did two drives in our hire car (it's awesome sitting in a little Nisan with a huge bull elephant about ten feet away) a night drive and a sundowner drive. In one and 1/2 days we saw: lions, kudu, warthogs, zebra, elephants, mongoose, black backed jackal, eland, bison and many species of birds. We left the park with two hours of video and oner 100 still photographs. Plus, of course, memories to last a lifetime. If you want wildlife (animals truly in the wild) then forget the game lodges and go to Addo.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotignola, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lucky with more than 100 elephants in few hours!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We were really lucky visiting the Addo Park: we had the chance to see more than 100 elephants in few hours, all bathing in few water ponds very close one to the other! The amount of elephants was impressive, allowing us to see them in several attitudes and behaviours! We could see also few male kudus showing their important and bearing carriage! The guide was explaining us a lot about the animals we could see in a very detailed and interesting way!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Elephants for Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

An enjoyable time in the Park once again. We never tire of seeing these majestic beasts especially when interacting with other animals in the Park. Also seen on this trip were a wonderful herd of buffalo, kudu, zebra, jackal, lynx, variety of smaller antelope, lion and warthog.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Elephant National Park also viewed

 
Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Elephant National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addo Elephant National Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.