We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvelous Sanctuary! Visit and Support Their Cause!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Addo Raptor and Reptile Centre

Addo Raptor and Reptile Centre
Main Road, Addo Elephant National Park 6078 , South Africa
+27 (0) 82 332 3499
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Marvelous Sanctuary! Visit and Support Their Cause!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Anyone who decides to dedicate themselves to the well-being of mistreated animals deserves an award. This sanctuary is great and there are plenty of interesting and friendly animals ranging from snakes, birds, Rooikats, monkeys,...and beyond. The owners are well informed and passionate about their critters. We even got to see their latest additions, a new family of african porcupines! the baby is only 2 weeks old and adorable! I highly recommend the sactuary as its not expensive but don't hesitate to give them a little more. Its for a good cause.
On the plus side, the little restaurant/ deli next to their place is great !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinated”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Angie enthused enthusiam and love for the animals, birds and reptiles which she and her husband take care of on a shoestring when others reject them or they are injured. Their aim is to place them back into the wild when possible. Meanwhile she tries to teach visitors to appreciate and love them. Snakes become 'scarves', lizards crawl over your hands and meerkats are cuddled. This is a hands on experience, very reasonably priced and definitely one to repeat.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A MEMORABLE AND INFORMATIVE EXPERIENCE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is a must to visit when in the Addo area. What I thought would be a reptile and raptor centre was actually a home to numerous animals..... all rescued and loved by Angie... who is like a female Doctor Do-little She actually talks to her animals and they talk back!..... Black-backed jackals, caracals, vervet monkeys, meerkats, mongoose, porcupine.. Angie tells you all about their behaviour, their natural habitat, how they are threatened, and then how she and her husband rescued them. They all love her and literally perk up when they see her coming up to their cages. I found her to be extremely knowledgeable and learned a lot of new facts about these animals. Being a national tour guide, I have been fortunate enough to visit many animal rescue centres and projects throughout South Africa, but found this place to be streets ahead of them all. My German tourists who accompanied me were also quite flabbergasted by the extent of her knowledge. We spent 3 hours there! Please go and visit this place. It is worth so much more than the R60 entrance fee and is a cause worth supporting.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Angie needs support!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had an outstanding tour by Angie of her facilities for all animals who need tender loving care.
We paid R50 per person for a tour she can easily charge R100 per person. We were both blown apart by her sincerity and belief in all things animal. Angie is truly an angel sent to earth to look after animals.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elizabeth
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Fascinating Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Incredible reptile experince and tour ,very informative and educational Would recommend this if in the area

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addo Raptor and Reptile Centre also viewed

Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
Addo Elephant National Park, Greater Addo
 

Been to Addo Raptor and Reptile Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Addo Raptor and Reptile Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.