We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bandanas Mexican Grille

Bandanas Mexican Grille
5607 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
+1 609-522-5735
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Celebrating 29 years in 2014, Bandanas is a family run, seasonal restaurant in Wildwood Crest. At Bandanas we make all of our marinades, sauces and salsas from scratch daily, and use only the freshest fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices in our homestyle, preservative-free preparations. We seek out high quality meats and aged natural cheeses and buy local produce and fish. Emphasis is on a lighter, healthier approach to cooking and our menu items are prepared to order. Although we have no liquor license, you may 'bring your own" or try one of our non-alcoholic beers or margaritas to complement your dining. Relax and Enjoy! Be sure to leave room for dessert because the Fried Banana Split and Warm, Homemade Brownie Sundae are not to be missed. If you're really stuffed after Indulging in way too much delicious Bandanas Chips and Salsa, pick up a homemade Waffle Cone with your favorite flavor ice cream (2013's hit was Salted Caramel Pretzel), on your way out. Opening for the 2014 season on Friday, May 16. Call for pre season hours. Beginning in mid June we will be open daily for lunch, dinner and dessert. Be sure to check out our Build Your Own Burrito Bar available in season daily til 3 pm. Adios for now!
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Been to Bandanas many times over the years and have been pleased every time, and my latest visit this past week was no exception. The food and service are always great and the atmosphere ties it all together, it's often crowded but worth the wait. For dessert, or if you're just in the mood for some, they offer many different flavors of ice cream and sundaes as well. Truly a notch above anything in the surrounding area , can't wait to return next season!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    65
    17
    16
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wildwood, New Jersey
1 review
“Take out is awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Bandana's is a great time! Food is cooked to perfection and service is wonderful! The food is definitely worth the wait! I have gotten take out throughout the whole summer and not once have I been let down! Even when Bandana's is packed, the staff greets you with a smile and the food is served hot!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levittown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Bandanas is a MUST every year! Can't wait until next year! Delicious and different flavors of ice cream.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandanas, Public Relations Manager at Bandanas Mexican Grille, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
We're so glad you enjoyed Bandanas and look forward to seeing you next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Bandanas is crowded for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The crowds outside of Bandanas on any summer night are a great testimony to the meals being served inside! This is one Wildwood Crest restaurant that’s worth the wait. From the house-made chips and salsa to the authentic Mexican entrees, everything is fresh and delicious (and relatively inexpensive). I had the Chicken Carnitas (their take on fajitas) and ate every bite. They seem to handle large groups well and are kid-friendly. And there’s an ice cream parlor on the premises, too! Bandanas is one of the best in the Crest!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manahawkin, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awsome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our family has been vacationing in the Wildwoods for at least 2 weeks each year for over 50 years and for some unknown reason we have just never stopped in @ Bandanas.. Have driven by it hundreds of times, but always just assumed it was an ice cream place. Anywho on our vacation on the week of 8-18-13 we stopped in for dinner. (family of four /two adults and two teenagers) we were seated in booth in a dining room in the rear of the restaurant... I must say the service was quick and the menu choices and specials were explained thoroughly.. Chips and salsa arrived quickly and the salsa was excellent Chips arrived warm and were obviously were made in house.. The food itself was excellent and the portions while not huge were adequate.. Prices were fair and food quality was terrific. There is no doubt we will return many times in the future keep up the good work!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bandanas, Public Relations Manager at Bandanas Mexican Grille, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
We are so glad that you decided to stop in! Yes, you are correct. Our salsa and chips are both freshly made in house! We look forward to your return in the future and thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bandanas Mexican Grille also viewed

Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Bandanas Mexican Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bandanas Mexican Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.