We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“REALLY NICE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort
Save Saved
You added The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort to your Saves list
6101 Ocean Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Hershey, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I am an avid beach goer, and after having gone through the horrible experience at the El Coronado in July, I was very pleasantly surprised at the Crusader. The staff at check-in was delightful, the room was immaculate (and nicely air conditioned!), the beds were extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our 4-day stay and will definitely return. Only one mishap and that was the elevator broke the night before we were checking out, but the front desk had two of their maintenance people show up at our third floor room to carry our luggage downstairs for us. Outstanding customer service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    16
    3
    4
    8
See reviews for
66
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Westwood, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Great family vacation at The Crusader! It was very clean and the staff is so friendly. The room was a great size and it is a great location! If I had any negative it is that there is not enough lounge chairs around the pool and people put their towels on the chairs to save the few there are and then never come to the pool! But overall we had a wonderful time and will return for sure!!!!

Room Tip: The 4s rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Lawn, New Jersey
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

I have been coming to the Crusader for many years and cannot believe this is not rated at the top. I dont even know where to start explaining why this motel is the most awesome choice in the town. There is not a negative thing to say. The place is extremely clean, well maintained, the people are friendly and helpful, the coffee shop and take out window are great and convenient. There is a gift shop in the lobby. They have a bathroom to use or change in on the lower level if you want to use to stay and go to the beach after you check out. The self controlled central air conditioning means you do not have a noisey unit buzzing while you are trying to sleep. It is never noisey morning or night. They have ping pong and shuffle board. The pool is always immaculate. The owner and the front desk staff are unbelievablely nice, pleasant and helpful. The rooms are perfect size, always clean, beds and pillows really comfortable, 2 tv's that are modern and work great. The lobby is full of fliers, newspapers, coupon books full of fun activites of things to do around town, restaruant menus to look at and more. Not one negative here, HIGHLY recommend this place!!!! (have been coming to the wildwoods since a kid, have stayed in others)

Room Tip: We like the efficiency rooms, large refrigerators, plates, glasses utensils all there. Ours faced th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan S, General Manager at The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you, and all of our other guests, for your kind review(s). It is most important for all of us here to make everyone who stays with us feel like they are guests in our home, not just staying at another beach resort. Many of you are like family.

On behalf of the owners and all of the staff I thank you and look forward to seeing you all in 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

We check in early to our room and was very happy about that. Everyone at the front desk I talked to was very nice & friendly. We stayed in the 4W. Livingroom with sleeper sofa, table n chairs, small flat screen, small fridge wish was bigger, bathroom was clean an decent, bedroom with queen fluffy bed, small flat screen and loved the whirlpool. Very clean,neat & well kept. Wasn't expecting to be waken up by room service early ever morning but I told them I did my own cleaning so they didn't have to do much. Pool was clean, you knew it had chlorine but wasn't over powering. Wasn't to thrilled about the other guest moving my belongings to satisfy themselves or that the children had taken over the pool all day an it closed early. The restaurant downstairs was ok not great but ok. Loved that the beach was across the street an 5 blocks to beginning of boardwalk. Not many stores in walking distance so we had to drive but not a problem. Was sad they didn't except pets but overall we loved it. Next time we bring the whole family !!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jersey city
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

A bit late on this review, our unexpected stay to Crusader from 7/19-21 was unbelievable, on our way back from Ocean City, MD, we took the ferry, an awesome ride, we decided to stay in Wildwood for 2 nights, drove around, checked for availability, and ended up at Crusader, The staff showed us two rooms, one was on the street side and the other ocean front suite, we took the oceanfront, the bedroom was separate with 2 full size beds, and the couch had a pull out bed, got our bags, unpacked a little and hit the pool, it was great, there was a lifeguard, very helpful, answer a few questions. In the evening, we walked to the boardwalk as we were only about 6 blocks away, the most amazing boardwalk in the world that I know, highly recommend for all ages. The room was SO CLEAN, the sheets, bathroom, bedroom, everything, all was of high standards, the workers were all friendly, very helpful. On Friday, it was raining, damp, cloudy and windy, however we still took a walk the beach, came back and hit the pool for a few minutes. Saturday was same weather so we left early. We would definitely stay at this hotel every year from now on.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendall Park, NJ
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Spent 3 nights in July and would definitely return again. Owner was very accomodating in renting our family three rooms close to each other for a short family getaway (2 grandparents, 4 parents and 5 kids). Rooms were just right, not fancy but everything you would need, including coffee filters and plenty of outside seating! Was great to have a bedroom separated from the living area. Pool was clean and warm, friendly staff always straightening up around the pool and hotel itself, daily housekeeping, ocean front property, great recc for dining, beaches were great,no problems with parking and wonderful diner type restaurant attached.

Room Tip: There are rooms that have 2 double beds or 1 queen size bed, each with sleeper sofas
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walden, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I have always stayed at the Crusader Resort (or Flour de leis right behind) but LOVE the Crusade above all! Beautiful view of ocean from first floor pool area, restaurant for bfast/lunch/dinner right downstairs (soooo convenient!).. I grew up coming to the Crusader with my parents and after 5 years me and my boyfriend took our first vacation to the Crusader in Wildwood and stayed in a clean, organized, comfortable suite, plenty room for 4-5ppl. So happy with the re-designed & updated rooms, already booked again for the upcoming year. I even left two very important hand made knit blankets that I brought and they kindy held on to them & shipped them to my home address, very courteous employees :) Must stay if visiting Wildwood Crest, NJ!

Room Tip: The Suite is spacious for a couple willing to splurge ( veryy good price for room size & set-up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort

Address: 6101 Ocean Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
#16 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort is located directly on the beach in beautiful Wildwood Crest, New Jersey. Here you will find the cleanest, whitest expanse of sandy beaches on the entire East Coast. There is surfing and water sports nearby and we boost the best amusement boardwalk on the coast. Our 40+ year reputation is a benchmark in cleanliness and hospitality. Please come and enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel Wildwood Crest
Crusader Oceanfront Family Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crusader Oceanfront Family Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.