We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"A Gem by the Water"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bel-Air Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bel-Air Motel
5510 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
Carbondale, PA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"A Gem by the Water"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

When you go to Bel Air, you always feel very relax and comfortables. We enjoy staying at Bel-Air every year (Two times this year) for past 8 years. We will always stay there, Steve and Sandy make you feel like you are part of family. The room is always very clean and Sandy will go out of her way to make you feel comfortable and the extra mile to meet your needs. The New York Times wrote the Bel Air Motel is "A Gem by the Water" We already reserved our room for 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    57
    6
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
43
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Norriton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a weekend here based on the trip advisor reviews. It's an older place but well kept up and clean for the most part. For the price, you shouldn't expect flat screen tv's or a modern look but for a nice location at a good price, it's okay. The other guests are very friendly for the most part creating a nice atmosphere.

Among the negatives are parking. The spots in the lot are super narrow and surely result in door dings. Also, you can't have more than one car and if you do, you will have to street park it blocks away. Though otherwise the place was clean looking, it appeared that there were mouse droppings on the top of the fridge and there was a smell of rotting right near it. I also witnessed a very scraggly looking cat run across the street with something wriggling in its mouth (a bird?) and run right into a room behind the office. This wasn't anything in the proprietors control but having a scraggly looking cat bring dead things into the building didn't exactly give me the 'warm and fuzzies' either. They advertise free wifi but my devices didn't pick anything up that didn't require a login. I didn't ask at the desk as it was late but this info should be provided if you advertise free wifi.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsauken, N.J.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

What can I say...This summer was our 40th year at the Bel Air. Our children stay here, my in laws stay here and our FRIENDS stay here. It's like coming home. Steve and his employee's welcome you by name and go out of their way to make you feel like your special. Especially Sandy,,she keeps the place running and clean. The rooms are always neat and the bathrooms spotless. There's free WIFI and the tradition continues with free hot dogs on Saturday during the Irish weekend. Our rooms are already reserved for 2013 and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the beach and pool area....I don't know...never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Always fun because we see the same people year after year. Steve and Sandy are great, attend to any need you may have. Location is great and something about the Crest, it hardly ever rains. Really! Great rooms, great pool, love the Tiki Hut. We usually go 3 times a year, but sometimes that's not enough. You can practically walk where ever you want to go. The beach is only a half of a block away, as is the boardwalk. Can't wait until Spring!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The best place in Wildwood, Here forever with the Bel-Air family, We love the family appeal and great service where they all know you by name. Kids have grown-up coming here they love it, Same great people year after year, The place is spotless very well taken care of and the room are spacious and warm. WE LOVE IT! Brett, Pam, Alise, Andrew, and Carson Newman

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family has been going to the Bel Air for about 20 years now and we have never had a bad stay. Steve and his staff are just terrific. The motel is spotless and very well maintained and also very convienent to the boardwalk and all the restaurants we patronize. As of 2 years ago we go there 3 times a year and always leave witht he feeling that we can't wait to return. We don't even consider any other hotel in Wildwood.

Room Tip: great view from second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsport, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Another stay at the Bel Air and I can only say on thing ,"WONDERFUL!" Great motel, terrific owner, gracious & efficient staff. great rooms,great pool. And another week of great weather.
We have stayed at the bel Air now for 4 or 5 years. We always look forward to coming to the Fall Wildwood Classic Car Show in September and staying at the Bel Air. We have met and become friends with several other families and it's always nice to see them each year.
The ocean is warm and the weather great . Not too crowded, until Saturday comes, then the boardwalk is packed with spectators viewing all the classic cars that line the boardwalk.
Many of the people that stay at the Bel Air have stayed there for a LOT more years then we have. And we understand why they continue to come back.
Come to wildwood and see what the Bel Air offers !!

Room Tip: Don't know of a bad room . Depends on what you want. Poolside or second floor with better view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bel-Air Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bel-Air Motel

Address: 5510 Ocean Ave, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bel-Air Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bel-Air Motel to your Saves list