We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast and Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill

Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill
9701 Atlantic Avenue, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
+1 609-224-1124
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Coastal Blue is an upscale-casual eatery. The seaside chic restaurant offers tastemakers a unique dining experience featuring culinary delights with a local flair only the south Jersey shore can claim. Our thoughtfully crafted breakfast, lunch and dinner menus often rely on locally sourced products for creations using shrimp, scallops, Angus beef, summer fruits and greens. Our Signature Lobster Roll has a touch of lime to brighten up the coastal classic. The juicy Angus Stackburger, loaded with the freshest produce, is fast becoming a Diamond Beach Favorite. And, new in 2014, our Fish Tacos have a touch of heat and freshness you can taste! Whether feasting inside the airy dining room or enjoying a refreshing cocktail at our outdoor bar, Coastal Blue offers a sweet finish few restaurants can match: a view of stunning Diamond Beach.
Clifton Park, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Breakfast and Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I highly recommend the Belgium Waffles for breakfast! The salmon was good for dinner as well as the steak. Get the drink called "painkiller." Pick an outside table and you will feel like you are in the Caribbean!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    20
    8
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is actually in Diamond Beach (Wildwood Crest), NJ. NOT Beach Haven.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is actually in Diamond Beach (Wildwood Crest), NJ. NOT Beach Haven,

My wife and I went for breakfast on 7/20/2014. We wanted to sit outside for the ocean view, but they were having some issues getting tables bussed. We then opted to sit inside, which was nicely decorated. Seating us inside also took some time, as the hostess didn't seem quite sure of where we should be seated. Once we got settled at a table, the server brought us our coffee quite quickly, however it was some time before she reappeared to take our drink and food order. During this time, the hostess stopped by our table several times to see if we had been taken care of. The coffee was good, as was my wife's Mimosa, and my Bloody Mary (glass rimmed with Old Bay). I ordered the western omelet, and my wife ordered the Tuscan omelet. The food came out a bit later, and was nothing special. Everything needed salt. Both dishes were supposed to have mozzarella cheese, and we were both expecting an omelet oozing melted cheese. What we got were a few tiny mozzarella crumbles folded into the omelet at just prior to plating. When all was said and done, We spent a bit more than $50 for breakfast. I don't mind spending this kind of money for breakfast now and then, however the lack of service, and mediocre food far out weigh the great view (if you can get a seat outside), and the decor.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love the Vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Great food and fun place. We had the Lobster Mac & Cheese and it was amazing! We sat outside with our kids. The staff was very helpful!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Should be a treasure but is a trainwreck right now.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location, beautifully done inside with liquor license. Went for lunch at 11:20 on Saturday. Sat for about ten minutes in an uncrowded restaurant as no one came to greet us or take drink orders. We grabbed a busboy and asked him to find our waitress. He took our drink orders and disappeared into the kitchen. Came out a few minutes later with our iced teas (that the straw was already unwrapped and inside the glass) and said "sorry, cant find waitress" and walked away. We grabbed a girl walking by: Sue. She was our waitress and was very apologetic for the wait. She seemed sincere and having been waitresses we let it slide. We ordered an appetizer and two lunch entrees. She went into kitchen and came back at 11:38 to tell us tha she was told they will not serve lunch until noon. We ate breakfast so we ended up leaving. Circumstance prevented us from going to a different spot and we added two more to our party and at 12:10 decided to go back because the menu sounded good and now we had Sue in our pocket, the service would have to improve. We walke din, and Sue immediately perked up, showed us to a table and took our orders. Drinks came out promptly. There was one table in the place already eating and another table walked in after us which had been seated. The appetizer came out- it was crab nachos and it was tasty. Big enough for two to share. We sat and waited for about fifteen more minutes for: 2 caesar salads, fish tacos and grilled wings. The grilled wings were important because I asked multiple times if they were battered in any way then grilled. I was assured they were grilled. The large table that came in after us started to have their cheeseburgers brought out to them. While we are still waiting and there are two tables in the place! Finally, fish tacos come out- they are nothing special at all. Then comes the first Caesar salad. It is made like a wedge salad, which was not indicated on the menu- it looks like someone hacked a head of romaine in two, put a big shaving of parmesean cheese on it, and a cup of dressing on the side. It was not pretty and kind of more work for the person consuming it. Then, comes the grilled wings- All nice and crispy because they are FRIED. It is important to mention that there are NO FRIED WINGS on the menu. Now we are just livid and having experience in the restaurant industry ask for a manager- Surely they will want our feedback! After a few more minutes a man walks up to the table to introduce himself as the manager- Josh? Jason? I dont remember. He seems nice enough, and gives us his story of how they had a full staff and a partner with another restauranteur but on Memorial day weekend they walked out with no explanation and took twenty people with them. They are struggling with turnover etc. It's a shame but I have to wonder what went so wrong with a beautifully decorated restaurant with outside seating and a liquor license in Diamond beach? The place could be a gold mine- You have hotel and condo traffic galor, but if you can't get a decent breakfast or dinner, why would you come in to pay $25 and up for dinner? (you wouldnt) He took our feedback and apologized and comped our entire lunch ($80 with two glasses of wine) He mentioned he had to comp some breakfasts this morning as well .He asked that we give it another shot. I am going to give it another week to try and get it together and I may try lunch again- while the caesar salad was odd in presentation, the food overall once, done correctly was decent. I will not try dinner until I know the kinks are worked out. I so wanted to love it here and bring all our neighbors- we have a summer home here and we like nothing more than doing happy hours on the beach. This would have been perfect. So get it together Coastal blue- we want to see you thrive!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not to be Missed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Having an opportunity to sample Chef Al Paris' creative and delicious cooking, while sitting outside with an ocean view and live music was a wonderful treat with an island feel. The mussels were some of the best , as was the lobster roll. The innovative crab cake was outstanding. . It is new and while there were some minor glitches, Bobby, the Manager, did a great job in making the experience enjoyable. It immediately became a favorite.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill also viewed

Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
 
Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
Wildwood Crest, Jersey Shore
 

Been to Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coastal Blue Oceanside Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.