We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here for years!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gondolier Motel

Save Saved
You added Gondolier Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gondolier Motel
5701 Ocean Ave., On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
Denville
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Been coming here for years!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Mary Ellen
I am relaxed just thinking about the Gondolier and Wildwood Crest. I've been going there for years with family members to go fishing and I also go solo a few days a year. There are various room sizes and amenities to choose from, but ALL are clean. Most have a pool view or direct ocean view, but even if you are roadside, there is a fabulous sun deck overlooking the ocean. The owners are wonderful! The hotel is walking distance to the beginning of the new and improved boardwalk and is steps away from a great bike rental place. The ocean pier is also steps away. Balconies are off most rooms. Free coffee and cookies are available every morning. The heated pool is very large and is clean. There is plenty of lounge or table seating around the pool and on the sundeck. Even the plants are beautiful! When you stay, be sure to go to Sunset Beach in Cape May Point for the flag lowering ceremony and for the best sunset you will ever see. Also, be sure to catch the sunrise from your room balcony or from the sundeck! I've been there during quiet times as well as busy theme weekends, but I've always had a great experience!

Room Tip: If you want to save on eating out, some rooms have a full kitchen. Sometimes we have even cooked th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    27
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
58
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Orange, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Found this hotel in July of this year when I could not book the Imperial 500 where I usually stay because it was sold out and stayed twice this year. No it is not a luxury hotel not many are in Wildwood crest. But it is clean, has a nice pool, quiet and comfortable room and is right on the beach. The owners are very nice and are on site and also own other hotels on the block. They have a nice hospitality room with free coffee and cookies every morning. They also had a very nice party for their guests on Sunday with free food wine and beer that was fantastic. As far as location to the boardwalk we walked to the begging of the boarwalk which is only a few clocks and took the tram which picks you up right their. The rates are also good compared to others that are on the beach. My kids are already asking when they can go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Hopatcong, New Jersey, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Gondolier Motel. The owners are very friendly and accomadating. The room was very clean as was the rest of the motel including pool area. The air conditioning was great and we had no complaints. It was quiet and right on the beach and within a few blocks of the boardwalk. They provided coffee, cookies and biscotti in the morning. Also on Sunday they provided a buffet out by the pool and had a great entertainer. We accidentally booked this place but were glad we did and we will be back next year. Great place for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Right in the heart of Wildwood Crest. Very clean motel. Nice pool and great welcome party. Owners were awesome and so friendly and welcoming. We would definitely stay with them again. Only drawback is the distance from the boardwalk is about a mile.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Made a quick visit to the beach and stayed at the Gondolier. Price was right. Owner was super nice at check-in. Room was ready at 3pm. Stayed in 2 room kitchenette - Sleeps 6. Room was super clean. Not a speck of dirt or sand on the floor. Bathroom was clean and they provided plenty of towels. Air conditioning was perfect and could be adjusted to your liking. Not a ton of noise being right by the pool which was nice. Pool was clean, they also provided water faucet to rinse sand off after beach. Location was directly across from beach access and a block from the boardwalk entrance. Free coffee, biscotti and cookies in the morning. Perfect location, great price.We will definitely be return visitors. (And we are super picky about where we stay).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well this will be my last review of the Gondolier because it's still super, it's still so clean everywhere on their site, it's owners and workers are still so nice etc. We will go there next year again for the fourth year and I'm sure it will be the same good place to go. This year again we saw many people who where there the few past years.It sure means something.and this something is that they just love the place. Only thing I would wish is that they would have larger parking lot. But like many other resort parking cannot be enlarge .With all those monster vehicules nothing really can be done I image. Anyway, by all means, we again, do not hesite to recommend this place you will be close to everything (sea , boardwalk, supermaket etc..) Have fun

Room Tip: Get a room with full effeciency you will be able to have your meals without going outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My extended family has vacationed in Wildwood Crest every summer for the last dozen years, and we always stayed in the same motel. This year we switched it up and tried the Gondolier, and were very happy with our stay. The owners are extremely attentive and friendly. The vibe is very relaxed. One amenity that sets them apart-- they serve free coffee and cookies every morning until 11 am in a common room, which is furnished with tables and a TV. Also, they are just a few blocks from the Boardwalk and a few steps from the beach. The price for the rooms was reasonable-- these are not luxury rooms, but they are functional and very very clean. Very nice pool area with music piped in. Even the guests were friendly at this hotel. I recommend it as great for families. The only downside is the parking. The owners don't seem to have a handle on who and how many cars are in their spots. We came back too late one night, and all parking was taken. It was a bit of an inconvenience as we waited for the owners to respond. It worked out in the end-- they gave us a parking meter pass which allowed us to park on the street. To sum up-- we were quite happy with this motel, and will be back next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gondolier Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gondolier Motel

Address: 5701 Ocean Ave., On the Beach at Lavender Road, Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 Family Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the beach and just 3 short blocks to the Boardwalk. Bike rentals, a park, basketball courts and restaurants are only steps away. The Gondolier features one, two and three room suites and kitchens. Perfect for a family vacation. Spring and fall packages are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Gondolier Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gondolier Motel Wildwood Crest
Gondolier Hotel Wildwood Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gondolier Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.