We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Getaway at the Granada” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Granada Ocean Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Granada Ocean Resort to your Saves list
Granada Ocean Resort
8801 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
New Jersey
1 review
“Girls Getaway at the Granada”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

After a busy and hectic spring, I organized a group trip for 8 friends to get away for the weekend and have some fun. We ended up making plans a few weeks before out trip and were lucky enough to find two rooms at the Granada.

When we arrived, we were greeted by the Deb at the front desk. Deb was great!! We had a minor problem with the window in our room and she was able to help us before we unpacked the car. She was also able to direct us to the local stores and help us select a restaurant to choose for dinner.

Our rooms were side by side which was excellent. Rooms were good size and comfortable. Loved the courtyard area. Lots of chairs and tables to sit at. The grills were also a big plus and were readily available to everyone.

The beach was a short walk away and the pool was very refreshing.

Overall, it was a great stay for a great price.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    36
    13
    10
    30
See reviews for
82
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palmyra, PA
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here solely based on TripAdvisor rating -- went down the list and this was one of only two places that would accommodate a one-night stay (thanks!). Rate was reasonable compared to rest and to have enough beds for 5. We're Ocean City MD people but came back to Wildwood Crest (only our third time here) for a really short stay for beach time for 5: mother, us, & our 2 kids -- used to OC MD's hotels (not motels) and we were very leary of what we would find. For the same price, you can get much better in OC MD. The Granada Ocean Resort passed the "no bed bug test" (the biggest point to us!). Room was clean except sand under the cushions on the sofa bed. No soap in bathroom, not enough towels/wash cloths; no pillows for sofa bed -- had to ask. Desk staff friendly and accommodating, but not very professional. AC in bedroom but none in living room where the sofa bed was -- had to have it on high to try to cool for those on the sofa bed. AC extremely loud/annoying; bathroom tiny but ok; beds short/small but comfortable; door between bedroom and living area; kitchen/refrigerator clean. Located in southern area of the Crest -- right on the beach. Tiny parking spaces (typical for location); tiny pool overlooking ocean; hot tub. Okay place -- not what we're used to and not what we'd want for a longer stay, but overall OK. Nothing really bad that stands out either good or bad. Wildwood Crest has a nicer beach (bigger and no drop off) than OC MD, but OC MD excels when it comes to accommodations, restaurants, things to do. The drive to OC MD much easier, too. Cape May is a plus -- we really enjoy Sunset Beach, the Lighthouse area, and the Cape May Zoo!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2009

The Granada is a great place to stay. It is right on the beach. Me and my family have been going to the Granada for more then 25 years. We love how you could just sit out at night and talk. The service their is great. All of the faculty are kind people and understanding people. The Granada has a hot tub and a pool which is gorgeous. The view is unforgettably beautiful. Please take out advice and go to this amazing vacation spot!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

I stayed at The Granada at Wildwood this summer with 3 friends. I have never had better service from any other hotel. Management is nothing but helpful with anything from extra towels to where to grab dinner. Incredible view from every room. Right on the beach. If you're looking for a wonderful, friendly, laid back, INCREDIBLE vacation hotel, definitely 100% absolutely pick The Granada!

And all the other reviews that say management was horrible, they are wrong.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Great place to stay with young children! Steps from the beach so there is not a lot of dragging of the toys/accessories we take on the beach with us. Fruit truck comes by daily so the kids always had fresh fruit. Left a London Broil marinating in the fridge in the room while at the beach for the day - when we got back I bathed the kids while my husband grilled on the hotels bbq and we had a delicious dinner with fresh veggies and steak! Close enough to the amusements to feel the excitement but far enough that the kids don't push too much! Debbie was THE BEST with customer service and we can't wait to go back this year!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

The service was courteous, prompt & friendly.
Room clean. Updating the rooms, paint & new rugs.
Is right on the beach, they have a pool, parking.
Like least-the bathrooms are a little too small- the best is the location of being on the beach & view of ocean.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

I made a reservation for July 9-12 in May 2009 and I was told to send in $200 and the balance would be $140. I was quite happy with the good deal and I sent in my deposit which was cashed. 2.5 weeks after I made the reservation, I received a call from Debbie who runs the office and she said that there was a rate mistake. Instead of being charged $99 per night as confirmed by Debbie, the new rate would be $166 a night and that was supposed to be a special deal for me. Needless to say, I was very upset and I asked her to check with the owner because we had a verbal contract and they cashed my check where the balance due amount was noted in the memo section of the check. Debbie called back and she stated that the only thing they can do is to refund the deposit. I am extremely disappointed in their refusal to honor our verbal contract and I am urging anyone who reads this to stay away from the Granada because their management cannot be trusted! For your peace of mind, beware of the Granada!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Granada Ocean Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Granada Ocean Resort

Address: 8801 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Granada Ocean Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Granada Ocean Hotel Wildwood Crest
Granada Ocean Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granada Ocean Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.