We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience everytime we go!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wildwood Crest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn
Atlantic to Ocean Ave. at Cardinal Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great experience everytime we go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011 via mobile

We have been staying at the Clipper for years and loved every minute of it!great place great people! Love it!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    10
    4
    24
See reviews for
30
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuyvesant, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

The Yankee Clipper is what it is! It is older but it is also clean the housekeeping staff changed all the bedding including the bed spread every day.They run great package deals and it is cheap! If you want a reasonable clean family oriented motel this place is for you.I you want a super soft mattress and and a brand new decor Stay in a resort!!!!. My husband and I have stayed at the Clipper twice now and never once saw a bed bug! infact we had moved our double beds together and the carpet under the bed was clean and there was no dust. All in all it is a good deal for a motel close to the beach that also has a pool and mini golf

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

geat hotel, reasonable, clean, family hotel, can see beach, 1/2 black away. Have stayed at other places and am very happy here. This is my first choice to stay in Wildwood.
Recommended to friends and they loved it too.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

this was my family's 1st visit to wildwood & i loved the yankee clipper it was clean,staff was courteous,the other visitors were friendly it was like we all knew each other for years,price of stay for fri,sat,&sun was awesome,short walk 2the boardwalk. yea the decor was old but if your at wildwood your not staying in the room your purpose is to have a fun filled time & for the rate of stay to have a gd time u cannot go wrong staying here.everywhere else you will have spent a lot more & bonus it has a fridge,oven,microwave,so u can prepare your own meals for breakfast & lunch for the children instead of always eating out. we had sooo much fun we r going again in 2011 & staying at the yankee clipper

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
modena,ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2010

we stayed at the yankee clipper my family and sister,s,and i have to say we made the reservations 2 wks prior to leaving and didnt read the reviews until after and could,nt get our money back so we decided to make the best of it.so we decided to bring our own blankets pillows sheets and towels. i have to say it was clean but the furniture was very old.{ but your not there to hang out in the room}.there are alot of signs that say no but with good reason.we were able to hang out on the deck at night and nothing was said.you can see the ocean and it is steps away.i would recommend this hotel if your low on cash and want a cheap family get away as they are the cheapest.i would'nt stay there for a romantic get away .if your handicapped make sure you ask for ground floor as there is 3 flights of stairsand no elavator.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2010

I don't even know where to start....The lobby looks like they are closing up shop with sheets draped over everything. The bathrooms have holes in the door and do not lock. The bed was hard as a rock . If you like waterfalls you might have one on your pillow if you leave the air conditioner on all day. The socket in the bedroom was hanging out of the wall. (Fire hazard!!!) If someone is drying their hair in another room your lights blink on and off in the shower. The toaster cord was so hot you couldn't unplug it. The pot (for spaghetti etc..) only had one handle. The decor let me see...looks like something the brady bunch would have stayed in. (furniture, wood paneling, pictures) The remote control is attached to the bed so good luck changing the channel. Pool closes at 6 p.m...can't get Ice after 9:00 p.m. Game room has been closed for over 4 years. If you want to use the grill you have to ask the owners for the knob...then you are only allowed 15 minutes on the grill wether your meal is cooked or not...so everything is RARE!! Oh and then don't even try to eat by the tables outside....SIGNS are POSTED NO EATING ON OUTSIDE TABLES!!!! ALONG WITH THE OTHER HUNDRED NO SIGNS. Towels are the size of a washcloth and will literally rip the skin off your body. DON"T use if you have a bad sunburn. I wouldn't recommend staying here....unless you like having a prison warden watching over you.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

The hotels I usually frequent with my family were booked for the last weekend in June, 2010. My daughters searched around and found the Yankee Clipper which had a room left. I shouldn't have bothered! The office was in absolute disarray when I checked in which I thought was odd since it is the first impression. The room was very old. We had to turn on the air conditioner upon arrival (the room was sweltering) and it took several hours before it cooled down (only one unit to cool two rooms). The lighting was very dim in all rooms and the bedroom lamp had a broken/loose socket). The real turnoff for us was the bathroom. The toilet did not flush well and the shower had mold on the tile grout and on the shower curtain. Upon checkout I only mentioned the mold and was told that no one had ever complained about that before, the room had been checked three times and the woman at the counter told me (after pulling out a bottle on Tylex and putting it down in front of me), that they go through cartons of Tylex each season. After reading other reviews, I see a commonality of denial and rudeness. Think twice, just not worth it!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YankeeClipperMotel, Owner at Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
I don't know where the mattress pictures came from, but they are not from the Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn. We have always used hotel quality, solid color (not striped) mattresses. They are also changed regulary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn

Address: Atlantic to Ocean Ave. at Cardinal Rd., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 74 hotels in Wildwood Crest
Also Known As:
Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Hotel Wildwood Crest
Yankee Clipper Motel
Yankee Clipper Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Yankee Clipper Resort Motor Inn to your Saves list