We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Clean Rooms, Reasonable Rates, Comfy Bed, and Cold AC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ala Kai Motel

Ala Kai Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ala Kai Motel to your Saves list
Ala Kai Motel
8301 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
reading, pa
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Great staff, Clean Rooms, Reasonable Rates, Comfy Bed, and Cold AC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I needed a room on very short notice. I was given their best room at the basic room rate which impressed me. I felt like family when we checked in. Yes, the room is a bit old fashioned but it was clean, the AC was ice cold and our bedroom was quiet even though we were right at the pool. Loved the full size fridge and the great water pressure for our showers. Loved being on the beachblock and the beach around there was not crowded. Priced very reasonably for a great location. We had a very good experience here for sure.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    11
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
5
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Ala Kai after storms knocked out our power in Linwood. The staff was super friendly and the rooms were clean and spacious. The location was quiet as the Ala Kai is located far from the hustle and bustle of the boardwalk area. We would definitely recommend the Ala Kai to anyone going to Wildwood/Wildwood Crest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

I used to spend one week every summer as a kid at the ALA KAI Motel. That was 20 + years ago...
Now that I have 2 kids of my own, I also take them to Wildwood Crest every summer and would not stay anywhere else ! We love the location, the rates are reasonable, the place is well kept and the staff is very knowledgeable about the places to eat and the fun stuff to do while visiting the Island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Love staying at this motel. Rooms are clean, staff very helpful & friendly. Been coming to the ala kai for about ten years. I bring my grandchildren, also spend weekend there with my friends. The beach is right there. Pool and pool area is safe and clean. Just a wonderful family place. Will be there in July with family coming in from Atlanta. Jay, Joann and the staff do a great job. See you soon.

Room Tip: second floor large deck
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved our recent vacation to Wildwood Crest. The Ala Kai was the perfect hotel for our family. It was very quiet, the staff was very accommodating and the location could not have been more perfect. We will definitely be back next year.

Room Tip: Not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I went with my family and loved the experience. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Staff was more than accomodating and the location was great. Have tried other hotels in the area and compared to the experience at the Ala Kai we will only stay at the Ala Kai in the future.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

As far as the old school du-op motels go, this is a gem. v It is not fancy, it is not modern, but it is clean, then family that runs it is so nice, and you can't beat the price. On the beach block and a nice pool, makes it great for families of little ones. We will definitly return!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ala Kai Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ala Kai Motel

Address: 8301 Atlantic Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ala Kai Motel is a family-oriented motel located in the heart of Wildwood Crest on the beach block. Close to Beach, Boardwalk Trolly Stop, Restaurants and all area attractions. Rooms available with efficiencies and private bedrooms. Daily maid service for your convenience. Heated pool, Bar-B-Q facilities, and tropical decor. Friendly staff to help you plan and enjoy your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ala Kai Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ala Kai Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.