We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oceanview Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Oceanview Motel to your Saves list
Oceanview Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   7201 Ocean Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Flemington, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Enjoyable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We decided to go last minute and saw this motel online, but was not sure because the reviews were mixed. So I called and spoke with Pat who was very nice over phone and gave a lower rate than online. I booked it and Barb let us check-in a little early. The room had 2 double beds in front room and 2 in a separate room which the kids loved. Had table with chairs, fridge, tv, but no coffee maker or microwave. The bathroom was small, older style tiles but very clean. Beds were clean and comfortable. Right outside the room was a nice mini golf, no charge, big clean pool with kids pool, game room and a grill area that has 4 grills you can use to bbq. Ice machine was convenient and clean. Plenty off free parking. Location awesome right on beach and boardwalk a few blocks away.
Craig the manager has been there a long time, is very personable and generous. He helped me with an issue that made my stay memorable. Also the handicapped rooms are great. Newly renovated - new tile floors, furniture, full kitchen, roll in shower, flat screen tv.
I have a Bachelor degree in Hotel/Restaurant management and as far as motel's go, this is a great one. If you are looking for the Ritz Carlton, this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for a clean, comfortable motel on the beach, you found it!

Room Tip: Some rooms have kitchen's, our room had a fridge. Remember this is a motel style so people do h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    31
    26
    26
    78
See reviews for
88
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
dev33
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We have stayed at this motel 3-4 times in the last 6 years, always in the oceanfront room which offers a king sized bed. The motel is in a great location, literally on the beach and the room has a balcony. There is a bike rental shop and a playground next door. There is also a path that leads to the boardwalk which is within walking distance.

Unfortunately the balconies are not private and most times people are smoking on the balconies which blows right at you but the view is great, especially at night. The pool is fairly large and clean but always packed. There are BBQ grills to use, a small mini golf course, a small arcade room and multiple vending machines. There is a small elevator which is nice when you are on the 3rd floor and overpack! Parking is tough, the spaces are very tight, unless you own a motorcycle or a mini!!! Wifi is offered but only in the main office.

I only give this motel 3 stars because of the rooms.......very very outdated. The air-conditioning does not work well and last visit, it looked like it was about to fall out onto the balcony. It is placed in a hole in the wall above the door to the balcony so you get water dripped on you when you go out the door and it is not sealed so you can see outside around the unit. The bed is ok, no major complaints there. There is a slight musty, mildewy smell in the rooms, nothing that I was too grossed out over. Otherwise the rooms are clean. The bathrooms are tiny and really need upgrading. The water pressure and temp were fine. Towels are the typical white, scratchy ones but were clean. The small fridge is a great addition and worked well. I think 2012 was our last year here. Not worth the price even though the location is perfect.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are worth the extra $. Great view and nice ocean breeze!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clay, New York, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Oceanview is a very family friendly place to stay where the staff is always smiling and welcoming. Every year for over 10 years now I have brought down a large group of teenagers for a field trip (some of which have never seen the ocean) and each and every year I have not been disappointed. the location is perfect, the rate is very reasonable and the rooms work very well for us. It is not meant to be a high end hotel; it is meant for the average family that will be tracking sand and playing in the pool. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to have a good time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is great, right on the beach, nice clean pool, bbq grills to use, easy access to the boardwalk. Sounds great, but once we stepped into the room, we noticed this musty, mildew smell. The rooms was very much out dated, poor water pressure, the beds were was too hard my liking, and the sofa bed, well we were afraid to sit on it, looked like something from a junk yard. So, if you don't spend a lot of time in the room, and don't mind sleeping on the floor, then this is the hotel for you. I'll pass next time, and spend a little more for a bed I can sleep on!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very disappointing. We had stayed here several times many years ago when our children were small and I don't think there has been any updating of anything since that time. We had an efficiency on the 2nd floor. Living room/kitchen - 2 walls were damaged. It appears that there must have been a leak from the floor above; wallpaper/paint was buckled and had not been repaired. Tiles were broken in the kitchen area, the rug was frayed in several places. Never been in a place where "fully equipped kitchen area" consisted of 1 spoon, a few knives and forks and 2 plates. The full refrigerator was appreciated. Bathroom - tiles rusted, no place to put toiletries, no shelves in bathtub for shampoo/conditioner, water pressure OK but changes from hot to cool every 15 seconds or so. Towels were thin and small. When I was brushing my teeth, some black stuff (no idea was it was) fell from somewhere and hit the floor. I looked under the sink and it was rusted, peeling and falling apart. No tissues. Bedroom - for a non-smoking room, it was interesting that the bedspread (very old) had 2 burn holes in it. The linens smelled like bleach so badly they actually burned my eyes. Mattresses were terrible. Location of the motel is great, location of our room was atrocious. It faced the barbecue pit where people gathered - lots of noise and yelling from the ground floor to people on the upper floors. On Saturday, a group took over the only picnic table and stayed there all day. It was noisy at night as well with a beer drinking, loud group having a gathering outside. Lastly, there was no housekeeping. Beds were made only; no vacuuming or cleaning of any kind. We had used one of the washcloths to clean up a small juice spill (left washcloth on the bathroom floor). Staff just put it back on the shelf and did not replace it. It was disappointing to find that a place where so many good memories had been has gone so far downhill.

Room Tip: I have no idea which rooms are acceptable but don't book a room near the barbecue grills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I think it's important to send a note of gratiitude to Greg and the staff at the Ocean View Motel. This is the second year in a row that my wife and I have spent at this hotel. You can't ask for a better rate and a better location in the entire south jersey area. The room gives you an opportunity to see the ocean the second you awake. The heated pool is very relaxing especially for early October. The staff do a great job of tending to our needs and Greg was awsome in telling us all the cool places and activities in the area. We can't wait to get back again next year. Thanks for the the very hospitable accomdations. Suze & John Hanes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed at the OceanView motel for one night for the Wildwood car show. All of the places I usally stay were booked or would not book for one night. The Oceanview is in a great location and just steps from the beach, and has a nice pool. But the rooms are very dated and have some of the worst mattresses you will very find. The first room we were given had a bed frame issue, so they "upgraded " us to another room which had 4 beds, non of which were any good. If your looking for a cheap room in a great location and dont mind crappy beds, I guess it may work for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oceanview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanview Motel

Address: 7201 Ocean Ave., Wildwood Crest, NJ 08260
Location: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Wildwood Crest
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 74 Hotels in Wildwood Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Oceanview Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Oceanview Motel, our accommodations are comfortable offering one bedroom motel rooms and suites that can sleep up to seven. All suites include individually controlled air conditioning and heat, a refrigerator, phone, and TV. Our motel is stocked with a video arcade, gift shop, laundry services, wi-fi, BBQ hut, and a beachfront grill. A family friendly motel, Oceanview Motel also has a supervised children's program featuring water balloon contests, egg toss, pie eating contest, swim races, miniature golf, and arts & crafts. Enjoy family bingo with prizes, beauty parades, and hula hoops. Other activities nearby include bike rentals and a bike path directly to Wildwood piers, golf, tennis, sailing, surf casting, and deep sea fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oceanview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanview Motel Wildwood Crest
Oceanview Hotel Wildwood Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oceanview Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.